We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I have eaten in Southport - lively atmosphere and friendly staff”
Review of Trattoria 51

Trattoria 51
Ranked #10 of 367 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $69
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located directly opposite Southport Theatre and Convention Centre. Trattoria 51 brings a true taste of Italy to the North West with a beautiful bar and terrace that is perfect for relaxing with a bite to eat and a drink, especially in the summer. The Restaurant offers a wonderful combination of both modern and classic Italian dishes in a family-friendly, yet intimate and fun environment. Our dishes are rustic, simple and delicious using the finest and freshest ingredients that everyone can enjoy - and you'll find incredible value too.Look out for our fresh specials every day. Fish and Grill nights every Thursday, Friday and Saturday are perfect for the serious gourmet.Buon Appetito!
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were staying locally and 51 was recommended by the guest house owner. It was good advice and the meal was very enjoyable - i can really recommend the sea bass and tomato rissotto for main course and the Italian breads for starter with olive oil and balsamic vinegar made a nice start to the meal. We were looked after very well by the staff with just the right balance of attentiveness and discreet service which made for a relaxed atmosphere. We were the last out of the restaurant on the night when we ate there and again there was really no pressure to leave. We will be back - hopefully in the not too distant future. Good value, good staff, good food - and I'm quite fussy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scousergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attilio S, Owner at Trattoria 51, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for taking you time to review as good value, good staff and good food and really happy to receive this review from someone quite fussy!!!!. This also will give a great satisfaction to the person recommended you to come and enjoyed a wonderful evening here at Trattoria 51.

Toni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Trattoria 51
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 809 of 859 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Dined here as a group and were well satisfied. The starters just kept coming and coming!

The food was of excellent quality.

The only minor gripe was that the service was a bit slow to start with - we had to wait quite a while to be asked what we wanted to drink.

Once that was sorted it was a great night. Highly recommended.

1  Thank barrowboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attilio S, Owner at Trattoria 51, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for you, from you and the whole group.
I am glad you appreciated not only that the way we prepare our food but also the way we serve it. Works very well for large group, be able to share which we find is a wonderful ritual that everyone enjoy and like you said it was plentiful. Hope to have you back soon.

Toni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my partner fancied an Italian an as it was just over the road from the hotel. We had the two fish specials a linguine with enough mussels to sink a ship and steamed Seabass. Both were beautiful and a reasonable price. The house red was a smooth quaffable drink and the service was fantastic. Definitely would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Loubyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attilio S, Owner at Trattoria 51, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank You for your warm feedback and glad that you had a good time, that it was at good value for money. And the fact that we are just opposite the Ramada it is very convenient and a plus to your vacation in Southport.

Toni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a fantastic meal at 51 on Sat night.
I had mussels and chips and my friend had the linguine with king prawns, mussels and squid followed by the lemon posset
Both meals were perfectly cooked, and very tasty.
There was a very vibrant and pleasant atmosphere and the staff are excellent.
Definitely would recommend this as a place to get a very reasonably priced meal that tastes great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attilio S, Manager at Trattoria 51, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Hi Jane R,

Thank you for your telling the world about the experience you had here at Trattoria 51. Our speciality always been the fish and seafood. As you notice we always have as special on our board.

Please do come back for more and more.

Toni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Booked for a double birthday celebration. Stayed at The Ramada Plaza so easy to find as right across the road. Very good first impressions. Friendly staff who made you feel very welcome. Had drinks in the bar first while waiting for table to be ready. Nicely decorated and very clean.
Ordered the food along with a second drink. This is where the only disappointment came. 2 portions of ribs were ordered and arrived cold in the middle. Quickly taken away and fresh brought back but again not piping hot. Couldnt fault the other 2 starters, especially the Calamari.
Mains were very good. My Beef Stroganoff was excellent and plenty of it. Cocktails to finish, asked for a Southern Comfort cocktail and got a Jack Daniels one but went down the same.
All together, apart from the Ribs, impressed with the food, service and value and wouldnt think twice about going again when in Southport.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MICKnEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attilio S, Owner at Trattoria 51, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for the feedback. Overall you had a pleasant experience with us. Even if you experienced a couple of bumps on the way, we did our best to put it right and you really appreciated our effort and willingness to make your evening special. I'm looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Toni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria 51 also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Trattoria 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing