We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vincent Southport”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Vincent Southport”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really nice boutique style hotel, efficient friendly staff & well specified rooms. Restaurant looks out onto busy Lord Street, nice venue & food pretty good overall (breakfast excellent). 2 mins walk to sea front & plenty of quality restaurants within easy walking distance, nice hotel bar too with fascinating photographs adourning the walls all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in many different aspects. From the little extras in the room, such as the Nespresso machine, and of course our huge award winning beds! To our popular V-Cafe and Sushi Bar, and also the trendy McGee bar which is the place to been on Saturday and Friday night.

Southport is a lovely place to visit, with our promenade and quaint shops and cafes dotted around, it can be a refreshing retreat.

We hope that you are able to visit us again soon, and we shall look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    306
    108
    52
    50
See reviews for
160
582
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a Southport girl going back to my home town and staying in the old cinema was quite an experience! The hotel is decorated in a very tasteful style and consideration has been given to the lighting throughout the building. The staff were very welcoming and smartly presented. The room itself was very large and well furnished with the exception of the bedside tables which were so tiny, with a drop away edge, they might as well have done away with them altogether. Having a cup of tea in bed is a lovely part of a holiday and there was no where to safely put the cup, this may sound petty but the carpet next to the bed had several large stains where other people had obviously come a cropper and for a hotel of this standard these little details are not usually overlooked. The bathroom was super and I really enjoyed the view onto Lord Street. We had a snack in the bar and the food was excellent. The only other real problem was parking which is non existent unless you are willing to pay a very high price for vallet parking.
I would recommend this hotel to those looking for a bit of style and elegance, but take the bus to get there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your visit to the VINCENT on Trip Advisor, it is great that we were able to give you a blast from the past by being the site of the old cinema!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our decor and style throughout the hotel, and that it shows that we care about our appearance. I am very sorry that you found that the side tables in the room were a bit small, however the carpet stains were due to a fault in the dye, and we have now replaced all carpets in the hotel! Which we are very excited and please about our guests seeing and feeling between their toes!
Aside from this I am very happy that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay, from the en suite bathroom, to the nibbles McGee bar.
Unfortunately because of our fabulous location on central Lord Street, it does mean that there is very limited parking. We therefore offer valet parking in our own private and secure compound, and the service of the car being parked and retrieved for you.
I hope that this would not deter you from visiting us again, and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Vincent for family wedding just before Christmas, brilliant weekend lovely venue for wedding also fantastic staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Have recommended the Vincent to lots of people since Christmas! Would stay there again best hotel bed I have ever slept in! Food was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 97Shelagh_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review of the VINCENT, and also thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your weekend here at the VINCENT and are pleased that our staff helped make your stay as comfortable as possible, and that the wedding day was special for the bride and groom.
We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon, our comfy beds are waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Finger on eyebrow.. Left Hand on Hip.. Sister Sue! We Looove...

Great Staff - Fabulous Food - Love the Location - Its Fun

What a welcome. away from the London hub the Executive team went to Southport for a christmas night away to switch off and enjoy. Northern Hospitality, Why Southport because we had heard about The VINCENT...offering Great Food and being a Fun relaxing hotel.

Great Super chic Bedrooms - Trendy not stuffy.
Friendly and attentive staff
Pre dinner Food and Brunch in V cafe was Yummy, Andi the Manager is fabulous!
Cocktails in the Tony McGee Bar after Warehouse so much Fun!

Warehouse Restaurant for dinner - Yummy, great food and lovely atmosphere. Only 3 minute walk from the hotel.. Music is so much fun too, we even had a secret little dance after our meal and enjoyed more drinks upstairs staff are great.

We could have stayed for two nights.... Thankyou to all!

Room Tip: Penthouse is gorge and huge but it was fully booked if your looking to treat yourself or for a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukesStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for talking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!

We are very glad you chose Southport as your Christmas getaway for your team, and hope that we have started up a tradition for your executive team each festive period!

We are very happy that you took full advantage of your time away from London, to enjoy the V-Cafe, the McGee bar and even our sister restaurant the Warehouse, all of which offer fantastic service, great value for money and all the food and drinks are super tasty with a fabulous atmosphere!

We hope to welcome you and your team back up north soon for some more ‘northern hospitality’, and hopefully next time it will be for the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

12 of us stayed over at the Vincent on NYE. We had an evening meal in the fabulous restaurant then we were entertained in the bar upstairs. lovely hotel, very helpful staff. we all said we would not hesitate to stay at the Vincent again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor, it is great to see how much you enjoyed New Years Eve here with us at the VINCENT!

The V-Cafe was very popular that evening for our set menu full of delicious food, and the function upstairs had a fantastic band getting the party started. With a DJ keeping the atmosphere electric until the early hours, it was a great night had by all!

We hope that you are able to join us again for next New Years Eve, and for some days and nights in between in the Cafe and the Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just been to Southport for the Xmas sales and decided an afternoon tea treat was needed. No better to place to go. As always made to feel so welcome where nothing is too much trouble. Superb! Fantastic service, great food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southport13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the V-Cafe, our Afternoon Tea’s are very popular, either to relax with a cup of tea, or celebrate with a glass of bubbly!
They can be the perfect shopping pick me up during the winter sales, as you clearly know!
We hope to welcome you back soon for another treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Vincent on Boxing Day after visiting family . The Hotel asks for high prices when you consider it is outside of a main City , however , no problems with this , if the quality of the hotel is up to scratch . Unfortunately, the Vincent is certainly not up to scratch .

The room we had (514) , has really stained carpets and marks down the walls . The area around the sink in the bathroom is 'tired '. The noise from the air con (which was off) kept us awake on and off during the night . Also when leaving our room in the morning to check out , we do not expect to see dirty towels lined up in the corridor and dirty sheets piled up outside the lift doors .

All of the above was reported to the receptionist when we paid the bill . It was explained that the they knew about the carpets being dirty ! and that the General Manager would e-mail us to apologise about the poor quality overnight stay (surprise , surprise , we are still waiting !!!).

The Hotel looks like it has once been of good quality ,but it is now a bit tired and standards have slipped . It is advertised in one of the 'books' in the bedroom as being one of the top Hotels to stay in in the UK and maybe it was a few years ago . On the evidence of our stay , it certainly would not make it in to the book now .

For what it is worth , find somewhere else to stay !

On a positive note , the staff were good , although the receptionist has obviously not passed our complaint on to the 'General Manager '.

Room Tip: Not sure about this but if you have to stay here, don't stay in 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WakefieldMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the delay in contacting you and thank you for your review on tripAdvisor.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the hotel.

Due to a fault in the dye of the carpet we have experienced patching and discolouration in some of our carpets – whilst Sarah on reception may have implied she knew about the dirty carpets its sounds like she may not have explained herself as fully as she might have done. We know about the discolouration of the carpets, but they are certainly not dirty. Every single carpet on the hotel is being replaced over a two week period starting 13th January 2013 and we are excited about this sprinkle of love and are sure our guests will be delighted once completed.

Sorry you were disappointed with the dirty linen build up on the corridors as we were turning the hotel around for the next occupants. I have reiterated this to our Housekeeping team to ensure none of our future guests are disappointed,. Sarah who checked you out also had the situation immediately remedied on Boxing day as she explained to the housekeeping team how angry you had become about the linen in the corridors.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing