We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Vincent for family wedding just before Christmas, brilliant weekend lovely venue for wedding also fantastic staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Have recommended the Vincent to lots of people since Christmas! Would stay there again best hotel bed I have ever slept in! Food was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 97Shelagh_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review of the VINCENT, and also thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your weekend here at the VINCENT and are pleased that our staff helped make your stay as comfortable as possible, and that the wedding day was special for the bride and groom.
We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon, our comfy beds are waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    288
    98
    50
    44
See reviews for
148
549
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Finger on eyebrow.. Left Hand on Hip.. Sister Sue! We Looove...

Great Staff - Fabulous Food - Love the Location - Its Fun

What a welcome. away from the London hub the Executive team went to Southport for a christmas night away to switch off and enjoy. Northern Hospitality, Why Southport because we had heard about The VINCENT...offering Great Food and being a Fun relaxing hotel.

Great Super chic Bedrooms - Trendy not stuffy.
Friendly and attentive staff
Pre dinner Food and Brunch in V cafe was Yummy, Andi the Manager is fabulous!
Cocktails in the Tony McGee Bar after Warehouse so much Fun!

Warehouse Restaurant for dinner - Yummy, great food and lovely atmosphere. Only 3 minute walk from the hotel.. Music is so much fun too, we even had a secret little dance after our meal and enjoyed more drinks upstairs staff are great.

We could have stayed for two nights.... Thankyou to all!

Room Tip: Penthouse is gorge and huge but it was fully booked if your looking to treat yourself or for a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukesStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for talking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor!

We are very glad you chose Southport as your Christmas getaway for your team, and hope that we have started up a tradition for your executive team each festive period!

We are very happy that you took full advantage of your time away from London, to enjoy the V-Cafe, the McGee bar and even our sister restaurant the Warehouse, all of which offer fantastic service, great value for money and all the food and drinks are super tasty with a fabulous atmosphere!

We hope to welcome you and your team back up north soon for some more ‘northern hospitality’, and hopefully next time it will be for the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

12 of us stayed over at the Vincent on NYE. We had an evening meal in the fabulous restaurant then we were entertained in the bar upstairs. lovely hotel, very helpful staff. we all said we would not hesitate to stay at the Vincent again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the VINCENT on Trip Advisor, it is great to see how much you enjoyed New Years Eve here with us at the VINCENT!

The V-Cafe was very popular that evening for our set menu full of delicious food, and the function upstairs had a fantastic band getting the party started. With a DJ keeping the atmosphere electric until the early hours, it was a great night had by all!

We hope that you are able to join us again for next New Years Eve, and for some days and nights in between in the Cafe and the Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just been to Southport for the Xmas sales and decided an afternoon tea treat was needed. No better to place to go. As always made to feel so welcome where nothing is too much trouble. Superb! Fantastic service, great food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southport13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the V-Cafe, our Afternoon Tea’s are very popular, either to relax with a cup of tea, or celebrate with a glass of bubbly!
They can be the perfect shopping pick me up during the winter sales, as you clearly know!
We hope to welcome you back soon for another treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Vincent on Boxing Day after visiting family . The Hotel asks for high prices when you consider it is outside of a main City , however , no problems with this , if the quality of the hotel is up to scratch . Unfortunately, the Vincent is certainly not up to scratch .

The room we had (514) , has really stained carpets and marks down the walls . The area around the sink in the bathroom is 'tired '. The noise from the air con (which was off) kept us awake on and off during the night . Also when leaving our room in the morning to check out , we do not expect to see dirty towels lined up in the corridor and dirty sheets piled up outside the lift doors .

All of the above was reported to the receptionist when we paid the bill . It was explained that the they knew about the carpets being dirty ! and that the General Manager would e-mail us to apologise about the poor quality overnight stay (surprise , surprise , we are still waiting !!!).

The Hotel looks like it has once been of good quality ,but it is now a bit tired and standards have slipped . It is advertised in one of the 'books' in the bedroom as being one of the top Hotels to stay in in the UK and maybe it was a few years ago . On the evidence of our stay , it certainly would not make it in to the book now .

For what it is worth , find somewhere else to stay !

On a positive note , the staff were good , although the receptionist has obviously not passed our complaint on to the 'General Manager '.

Room Tip: Not sure about this but if you have to stay here, don't stay in 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WakefieldMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the delay in contacting you and thank you for your review on tripAdvisor.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the hotel.

Due to a fault in the dye of the carpet we have experienced patching and discolouration in some of our carpets – whilst Sarah on reception may have implied she knew about the dirty carpets its sounds like she may not have explained herself as fully as she might have done. We know about the discolouration of the carpets, but they are certainly not dirty. Every single carpet on the hotel is being replaced over a two week period starting 13th January 2013 and we are excited about this sprinkle of love and are sure our guests will be delighted once completed.

Sorry you were disappointed with the dirty linen build up on the corridors as we were turning the hotel around for the next occupants. I have reiterated this to our Housekeeping team to ensure none of our future guests are disappointed,. Sarah who checked you out also had the situation immediately remedied on Boxing day as she explained to the housekeeping team how angry you had become about the linen in the corridors.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came here for our Christmas lunch!! It was absotely fantastic! The staff were friendly and would do anything to help! The food was amazing, just what we wanted for our Christmas lunch as well as the atmosphere which was lovely! I would recommend to anybody staying here a especially dining as the good is not something to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVincentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the V-Cafe, we are extremely happy that you had a lovely time here at the VINCENT for you Christmas lunch, and that the food and atmosphere were fabulous and festive!
We will look forward to welcoming you back to the VINCENT for either an overnight stay, an evening in the McGee bar, or another meal in our award winning V-Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Sayed here on saturday the 8th of December and was look really excited because i had seen his hotel many times and always wanted to stay. We checked in late on staurday (after 6pm) and realised there was no parking at the hotel and a valet charge of £15 could be made for them to find parking for you. ADVICE if you stay on a saturday night you can park on the road outside the hotel after 6pm until 11am (check out time) on the sunday for free. I feel the hotel should advise you of this but they did not. On check in the reception was really loud but there was Xmas parties on so kind of expected this. We booked a studio room so I was expecting this to be something different to what i would usually stay in but i was a little disappointed to find the only thing that impressed me was the size of the bed..... they have a nice idea of a sliding wall which covers the window instead of curtains... I tryied to slide this accross but it was damaged and i found myself struggling to hold this up without getting hurt. i went down to reception to inform them, they sent up the gentleman who was also greeting guests on the main hotel door. not to mysuprise he couldnt repair this but did drag it accross the window and asked if this was ok....???? I then went back to reception and asked them to move my room which they did (the receptionist was very helpful)... to a room with really bad stains on the carpet, an empty mini bar (it did have one bottle of warm still water), no soap, and no other aminaties that our other room had including a TV remote control that someone had to take from another room. By this time i had spent more than one hour trying to get this rectified and just wanted to try and enjoy what was left of our night. apart from this we had an excelent meal in a resturant called Bistro Bar Med just across from the hotel.we then went back to our hotel room and tried to sleep but the large bow they had but accros the front of the hotel for xmas decoration just flapped on the hotel window all night!!!! on my return home i did send an email to the Vincent Hotel to try and inform them of the issues we had while staying in there hotel but I got no reply from anyone.

Room Tip: A different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing