We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, very comfy very large beds”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent, very comfy very large beds”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The one thing you want when you go to a hotel and that is a comfortable bed! These are Emperor size and excellent!
The only down side to the hotel is that there is no parking and they charge £15 per night for valet parking. If you want free parking go to the Ramada - but the beds are small!
The rooms were a good size and nicely decorated, with free wi-fi. However, like many modern hotels, the lighting can be a bit dim, even if you have all the lights on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review of the Vincent!

Our comfy beds are part of the reason that we are so popular with our guests, and they’re so big you could sleep sideways if you wanted!

The valet parking which the Vincent offers may not be free, however our porters will take your car to our secure compound and then bring it back for you whenever you wish to go out. It is a great little luxury to not have to go and fetch your car when the weather is being typically English!

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    302
    107
    51
    49
See reviews for
156
573
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just got back from a short break in Southport.

Second visit to the Vincent, excellent service. Room good size, plenty of space for shopping bags!
One of the best nights sleep in a hotel. Friendly, helpful staff.

Breakfast was great, plenty of choice. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There is a spa but did not use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbuss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your short and sweet review of the Vincent!

Southport has some great little boutiques for when you need a good shopping trip! We’re very glad the Vincent could accommodate your new purchases.

We will look forward to greeting you again when you return to Southport, and would definitely recommend a trip to the spa to unwind after a hard days shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Southport like many "seaside" towns lost its way over recent years where accommodation in general was left to decay and by consequence forced to operate in the bargain market with all the negatives that that produces.

So on arrival at the Vincent we were so pleased to see the town in general has bucked the trend and it’s a genuinely nice safe place to be and the Vincent it appears is the benchmark for other hotels to aspire to.

OK - we were attending a function and we just wanted an overnight and how lucky we were to find the Vincent as others in our group reported nightmares from other town centre hotels.

The Vincent offers a superb central location, valet parking, modern clean and well maintained rooms and public spaces.

The beds are enormous and bedding,towels and room equipment high quality.

The staff, and that’s front of house, porterage and room service were exceptional, they were knowledgable, professional, polite and happy - all a sign of competent management!

We only enjoyed one meal -breakfast.

This was buffet style with both continental and English and was more than adequate...and a special mention to the two young ladies who virtually singlehandedly ran the breakfast room.

They get “exceptional plus one” and whatever they are paid they deserve double because they are worth it, a great asset to the Vincent and one the management would be wise to protect!

So all in all a great stay at a sensible price.

No negatives from us.

The Vincent is an asset to Southport and other establishments should learn from them to be able to move forward and improve!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for such an outstanding review of the Vincent!

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that we are leading the way for other Southport hotels! Your comments make the staff here very proud and all the hard work is worth it when the guests are happy and recognise how great the staff here are at their jobs.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vincent on your next trip to Southport, and would recommend you make time to enjoy some more meals in the two AA Rosette awarded V-Café, and also unwind in the V-Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a surprise birthday stay what a fantastic experience
The hotel was recommended to my daughter by one of your staff members
What better reccomendation can you get than that and I can fully agree the hotel and everything about it was fantastic.
As a special touch they put chocolates in the room wishing me a happy birthday, the room was beautiful we were in one of the studio rooms on the 4th floor with views across lord street.
The bed was huge and comfy and we had a great nights sleep, completed by a fantastic breakfast.

Had a beautiful evening meal at the warehouse would reccomend it to anyone
Thank you looking forward to being able to stay again who knows its my husbands birthday in January .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smid2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of the Vincent. We are very happy that we were able to add extra pleasure to your special day, and you felt well taken care of whilst staying at -V-

We hope that you had a fantastic birthday otherwise, and that you do choose to return to us for your husband’s birthday treat! We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fantastic location in the heart of Southport, our room was lovely and spaceous, clean with all that was needed, clean stylish bathroom with mist free mirror and a great 'rainforest shower'.

All the staff were friendly, especially on reception and in the restaurant which was fantastic with great food at reasonable prices.

Only drawback was some early traffic noise in the morning but it was a handy wakeup call anyway, and £15 a day for parking is a bit pricey, but the car is parked for you an is kept safe in a compound.

All in all a lovely stay and will be back some time soon all being well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OsianRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on your stay at the Vincent. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Vincent, and how friendly and well mannered the staff were during your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back into the Vincent for another stay, or the V-Café for some fantastic food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had a great stay at this hotel and will definately stay here again.the restaurant on site does a wide variety of dishes from afternoon tea to sushi.
the hotel bar at night was full of life and served nice cocktails at reasonable prices.
valet parking was provided for an additional charge

p.s.was dissappointed that the hotel bar fronting the hotel did not serve pints but only halves!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stagmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thankyou very much for taking the time to post a review about your visit. We are very glad that you enjoyed the variety that the V-Cafe menu has to offer, and that the hotel was lively and buzzing, creating a great atmosphere for your visit to the bar.
I hope that you will join us again soon for some of the Christmas festivites in the Vincent restaurant and bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having stayed at the vincent about a dozen times,we are never bored with this wonderful hotel,stylish rooms,great decor. the staff are fantastic from the bar to the hotel and the great restaurant teh staff make these breaks so very special,cant wait till are next stay in november.
Dave +Teresa Brady

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager98_11, Guest Relations Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the Vincent. It is fantastic to hear from guests who love returning to the Vincent because it leaves such a good impression every time. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing