We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pontins Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pontins Fun”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Pontins Southport. Our party consisted of 7 people, 3 adults and 4 children aged from 9 to 11. We were allocated the Classic apartments. The apartments were very clean and the heating had been left on to ensure that the rooms were warm on arrival. This was a last minute booking and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. You are not paying for a 5 star hotel but a short fun break. The children enjoyed the freedom and safety of the park. and we all enjoyed the entertainment on an evening. It was difficult to get the kid's to leave and go to bed!. We tried breakfast and it was hot and home cooked.. The staff in the restaurant were helpful and could not do enough for us; even though they were all very busy. A special mention to Franklin who looked after us all so well. The bar staff were busy but again always willing to help. The General Manager Mark Teare was always around the site mingling with customers and ensuring that everyone was okay and assisted us with a minor issue very promptly and professionally. Overall it was a cheap break and we would go back again. The kids did not want to leave. Our holiday was about the kids; so happy customers.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for posting your review of Pontins and we are glad you had a good time on holiday here.
We have certainly made many improvements since the birth of the New Pontins in February 2011 and we are very pleased that our guests are having a good time here. Throughout the year we will be very busy and during the 6 weeks school holidays we expect to accommodate over 100,000 guests on Park and the vast majority will enjoy their time with us. We would encourage all guests to tell us about their stay at Southport, especially positive comments as it is important to receive constructive criticism but we would also like reviews from those guests that enjoyed their holiday.
We feel that we have spent a lot of time and money on improving all aspects of the Park, whether that be Accommodation, facilities, activities or the grounds and we have many more exciting plans for the immediate and long term future.
We thank you again for your review and look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    624
    694
    453
    1,913
See reviews for
2,674
252
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just back from WK end in Southport pontins.never again whot a dump, fridge door dropped of it was held up by a wall plug.shower whot a joke OK if u where a stick insect, double bed if u can call it that was filthy .floor was black.we had 2 rooms both where discusting,Staff well think they where another planet complained several times never took any details,in the end I had to stand there until she did.Lack of facilities, great games room ,this was closed because it was check n day whot a joke.Food was OK if u didn't mind standing for over an hour .No swimming pool that was closed was not informed at time of booking,Nothing nice about it a all ,kids very disappointed,,the activitys
Where very costly ,that's when they where on . Next time we want a break we will set up tent it will b warmer and cleaner .SAVE YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we take your points on board. We do realise that our type of holiday is not for everyone and we do apologise if you did not enjoy yourself here.
We have invested heavily in all aspects of the Park and this is set to continue in the future and we have exciting plans for the rest of the year and the start of next season.
It is important we receive constructive criticism of our holidays and we thank you for passing on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Read the reviews, bad, give the benefit of the doubt, omg what a hole, dirty, dirty dirty, stayed two day's then cudnt take any more, got a full refund, the manager was unhelpful n just said u can leave as I can't resolve these problems, they shudnt even b allowing people in there, but all I can say, the kids enjoyed the characters, that's it, dirty, musty, mould growing, bed damp, water cold in room, they didn't care, never Eva will we go back there again, dirty and a health hazard,

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vickyvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing all rooms and it is not acceptable when you encounter cleaning and maintenance issues in your accommodation. We are sorry for these problems and will look at ways to ensure these issues do not happen again.
We have lots of entertainment and activities on Park and we are sorry if they were not to your liking. Our world famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabarets.
We take note of your other issues and we are looking at making more improvements in the very near future and we hope to have a Park that has the best facilities in the area. We welcome up to 3000 guests each night and we hope to provide enough variety and activities to please everyone and we are sorry that you where not satisfied.
However we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just got back after spending a weekend at this prison camp! Jeremy Kyle should relocate his studio here, he would have a field day!! I know that this is a budget holiday camp but there is no excuse for the filth and lack of facilities. We upgraded to a club apartment which meant the price included the cost of the electricity. The apartment itself was basic but generally fairly clean. The floor could have done with a wash! The kitchen was clean and had new pans and oven trays. Unfortunately there was only 1 socket in the kitchen which made it very tricky when cooking. The cooker could not be used at the same time as the hot water. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. The duvets and pillows were very poor quality. One of the legs on the sofa bed kept falling off. I informed reception of this problem, was told someone would come straight away but we did not see anyone all weekend! The apartment was lovely and warm. It was very disappointing that the pool was closed and we had not been informed prior to arrival. The communal areas were filthy. The arcade carpet was disgusting and the floor around the bar area was very sticky. There was very little for the children to do there unless you were prepared to pay through the nose e.g £2 for a go on the trampoline, £4 to play in the games zone and then the arcade which was 50p or £1 a go. We went down to the entertainment on the first night which was packed with children running wild and very drunk parents. The table behind us was sent flying by a drunk dad who fell off his chair, knocking the table over, which was full of drinks, and then landing on top of his daughter who he then blamed for the whole incident! Drinks are only served in plastic cups. A member of bar staff informed my husband that they cannot give out glasses as there are lots of fights. He then went on to say that the previous night a man had to be removed from the bar because he was fighting and was on steroids!! The language from many of the guests was disgraceful. We escaped for the afternoon on Sunday and drove to Southport which was lovely.
I have stayed at holiday parks in the past and as a child and had a great time but Pontins Southport is in a league of its own!!! If you are looking for a break in depressing surroundings, are prepared to spend a fortune on activities for your children and are not particular about the type of people you are surrounded by (It is like being on holiday with the residents of Benefits Street!!!) then go to Pontins, Southport. The place needs knocking down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LB1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and grounds and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
We offer great value for money holidays and guest figures and re-bookers are continually increasing and we have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Where do i begin....... stayed for two nights 2 adults and four children ranged 4mths to 8 years.we got a group on deal. Thought i was getting a value break, even upgraded... would hate to see what the budget room was like.

We arrived just after 4 for check in took about 15mins to park up left everyone in car went to check in no queue very suprised till am told go to main hall the queue was out the door took over half an hour to check in. Got keys found chalet to find room hadnt been cleaned someone walked by and said would get cleaner. They came did a quick tidy ( we still had to do it) made beds before we went out to our shock on lifting bed to fit two cots in mattress was covered in sick. Complained no one came. Slept on very uncomfy sofa in living room. On bath time we lost all hot water (wasted electric) due to bath tap not working went to complain noting even tthough they put it down as an emergancy. Curtains dont close enough so people can see in not good with just women and kids. Files or bugs of some kind in kitchen draws. On way home picked up spoons from take out before buying cutlery for the next day. Soap in bathroom was unsquezeable leaving one bruised hand.

I enjoyed my dance around the kitchen not... thanks to the damp and condensation due to cold and radiators. On and in the bathroom. Not good with those who have difficulty with walking like my mother.


Evening entertainment was alright but we only saw the first night as got seats. you really have to either stay all day or get there really early. Which would explain drunk people wild kids and bad manners. I am not a snob really but it was not my type of scene.

Cost lots to do anything there for very short times. Arcade machines not working, wild children left to own devices whislt parents get drunk.

We spent our time away from pontins.

On check out. A box was put out i asked member of staff who i complain to she gave me a number. Never even quired why. On coming home i went on website that says you have to write. Well ill write, ring and email. I want what money i paid out back in my pocket and not a holiday there again.

Its such a shame as a family we were so looking forward to our little break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rivershann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on Park each week and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned today from a 2 night groupon offer with the husband and 3 kids ages 4 to 10. I read some reviews in advance and I entered the park with trepidation. We were checked into a club apartment at 2pm (highest grade). It was absolutely spotless and scrupulously clean with everything either new or almost new and the apartment was double glazed and stayed nice and warm. The children were delighted with the entertainment and enjoyed watching acrobatics, wrestling and a comedy magic duo which they cried laughing at. We had a fabulous time and although the plastic glasses, ladies loos, the stairs leading to the upper floor apartments and carpet in the arcade were far from great I cannot knock the place. The bluecoats were fab with kids. Free bouncy castle, toys and face painting while you wait for check in was a great and thoughtful touch. Breakfast ( free on one day with club upgrade) was very nice. Pontins are left with the legacy of old style, two storey rows of apartments which can look old fashioned and are a bit of a magnet for carrying noise but our apartment shows they were really trying their best and we appreciated their efforts.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJohnBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at Pontins Southport and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and Staff on Park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We have invested heavily in all Apartments on Park and have replaced all floors, beds, curtains, bed settees and furniture over the last 18 months and we feel that our accommodation is of a good standard.
We still offer great value for money and provide great entertainments and activities for all the family but this has been expanded this year with more improvements planned very soon, watch this space.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and have expanded our catering operation to include a self service half board service which is proving extremely popular. With all you can eat breakfast for only £4.95 and 3 course dinners for only £7.00 you can’t go wrong coming to Pontin’s.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My friend and I, together with her 5 year old daughter, had booked a long weekend [Fri 14th - Mon 17th Feb 2014] at Southport Pontins for a change of scenery and a bit of a break for us all. What a disappointment we had. It was a very blustery weekend and our first complaint was that the window didn't shut properly in our flat so there was a cold draught blowing in. We complained three times but nothing at all was done. The electricity meter absolutely gobbled up the money - we spent just under £10 over the 3 nights despite being out as much as possible. The floor was freezing cold, it was just covered with lino - not a single rug or anything to help make it feel cosier and the 5 year old soon had filthy socks from it.
On the second evening I was doing some cooking, picked up the small sharp kitchen knife and the blade just fell off - this could have been very dangerous. They did give us a new one about 4 hours later to be fair but that's hardly the point [excuse the pun]
We were looking forward to swimming but the pool was closed for refurbishment and just about every other activity had to be paid for which made it quite an expensive holiday overall.
On the first evening we decided to treat ourselves to a take away from the chippy - the portions were miniscule! You get more chips in a McDonald's happy meal and the size of my friend's batter [allegedly there was a bit of fish hiding somewhere] for £3 was not much bigger than a fish finger.
The so-called double sofa bed would just about cope with 2 midgets, but the hard ridge running down the middle where the hinged part was meant a good night's sleep was very difficult and the paper thin walls allowed us a full blow by blow version of the arguments going on next door.
If you are thinking of coming here - take my advice and think again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhamster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing all rooms and it is not acceptable when you encounter cleaning and maintenance issues in your accommodation. We are sorry for these problems and will look at ways to ensure these issues do not happen again.
We have lots of entertainment and activities on Park and we are sorry if they were not to your liking. Our world famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabarets.
We take note of your other issues and we are looking at making more improvements in the very near future and we hope to have a Park that has the best facilities in the area. We welcome up to 3000 guests each night and we hope to provide enough variety and activities to please everyone and we are sorry that you where not satisfied.
However we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,941 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
4.2 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing