We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty but fun with friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dirty but fun with friends.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The place was filthy, the glasses had lip marks on them before we had even had a drink, the floors were gritty and the tv/units dusty. It looked as though the windows had never been cleaned and nor the door which was also broken and chipping away. I do have to point out that the bathroom and bedding was all clean!

'The Queen Victoria' pub was awful, the wooden floor was really sticky and made you shudder looking at it, some ancient fans hang on the ceiling which are covered in dust, I hated queuing up for food too, was really embarrassing.
Most of the indoor/outdoor arcade machines didn't work which was a shame.
They have a serious issue with mobile phone signal at this park too, don't expect to get any, I had to check my messages from outside of the park gates!
The blue coats balanced it out though, they were excellent and kept a smile on even if the room was full of thuggish looking families BUT apart from one man in the Nisa shop all the staff are miserable as hell and when you ask them a question look at you like rubbish, they need some serious customer service training. Me and my friends did have fun though so if you can see past the grime then you should be fine :-/

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
We are sorry that the accommodation was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on refurbishment it is disappointing if standards of cleanliness let us down.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    606
    677
    430
    1,824
See reviews for
2,547
237
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Well its one of those reviews .... realistic. We have been on many of the "Sun £9.50" holidays, we have had many varying standards but generally all ok to brilliant. There had to be one exception and this was the one !!!
The check-in - 4 desks , divided by surnames- unfortunately only two staff - doesn't quite work .
Found the room...sorry "Chalet" - couldn't turn the lights on as we couldn't find where the meter was to put in the card to credit the meter. How are you meant to do this in the dark - it should be possible to give a few minutes credit to get yourself sorted. Then again , once the lights are on you can see what youre letting yourself in for.
On the positive side - the room and bedroom were acceptably clean..... and that was it. The bed settee was a vinyl 70,s castback which you stuck to after 5 minutes. Oh, sorry, you have to be warm to sweat - the rooms were freezing. We turned the two heaters on and the following morning we were starting to warm up.Unfortunately by this time we had used up £10 of credit. The rest of the furniture was 70,s utilitarian , plastic chairs to go with the pedestal table. Wardrobes with no doors. Do Pontins think people steal wardrobe doors ? There was exactly 4 of everything in the kitchen cupboards , pity none of it matched. If you wanted to use the microwave you had to move it across the kitchen and dump the kettle. Why ? There is only one socket.
Due to the cold rooms , the windows had mould on them from the heating up and down, lovely, addition to the holiday ! The bathroom - not bad - functional, never had a shower where you had to press a button every 10 seconds to keep it going - unique to Pontins ? The bath was only 3/4 size, but no worries.
Well, that's the room. What about the site ? Well , it was an eye opener, a lesson in people watching across many differing types of society. Basically most people were pretty loud and in your face. No underlying fear of hassle, just loud , very loud. We didn't stay in the bar too long , but I guess plastic glasses in the bar sums it up.
The facilities - amusements, etc were all pretty well worn and in need of updating/repairing but mmm, its not happening.
All in all, if you enjoy the "Sun 9.50" holidays go to a different caravan park and avoid Pontins. We left a day early - it just wasn't relaxing. Don't go if you want a chilled out relaxing time. You will feel like you are in a Soviet Prison Camp from the cold war, always looking over your shoulder, basic accommodation and guards on the gate !!

Room Tip: Any bed and breakfast down the road in Sothport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank karpatWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we take your points on board. We do realize that our type of holiday is not for everyone and we do apologize if you did not enjoy yourself here.
We have invested heavily in all aspects of the Park and this is set to continue in the future and we have exciting plans for the rest of the year and the start of next season.
It is important we receive constructive criticism of our holidays and we thank you for passing on your comments.

we here at pontins appreciate your concerns regarding certain aspects of your stay here at pontins southport and will be sure to rectify any underlying issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First impressions count and unfortunately our first impression was that it was like the site had been shut for 20 years and then just suddenly re-opened for the weekend!! We didnt pay that much BUT you expect the room to be in a decent condition that is healthy!! We have been around the world and this is the worst room conditions! Front door dirty. Windows dirty. Curtains not the right length. Wardrobe with no doors. Excessive Mould every where. Dirt everywhere. Old style heaters. Only 3 plug sockets in a 2 bed place. Sticky doors and sticky floors. Shower in bad conditon. Oven with burger inside (clearly the rooms arent checked). Pillows and duvet cheap and over used so thin and frayed. We are normally full of praise in reviews but we just didnt feel clean here. It was musky too, our clothes started to smell of musk :-(
The arcade had a fair selection but quite a few were broken!
Also I think there should be two barriers for entry and exit!
The only good thing was the staff, they are brilliant!! Keep the staff and re furb the rest!!! xx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandy2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport and for providing us with your feedback of your holiday.
It is important to us that our guests let us know what we are doing right and where improvements can be made and we will certainly look at your comments and make changes as necessary. We are having another busy year as a group and Southport is particularly busy and we have increased facilities again this year and have a very exciting project involving a brand new restaurant and retail outlets in the pipeline for this year.
We continue to welcome thousands of people each week and are confident that the overwhelming majority of our guests find our Park clean and welcoming with great prices and facilities. We are situated in a lovely area of the country within walking distance of a great beach and close to many local attractions.
Hopefully we might see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

After previously staying at another pontins and being disappointed we thought we would try this one. The rooms we slightly cleaner. We had club accommodation -very uncomfortable sleeping. Venues closed due to leaks. Poor entertainment for kids. Staff tried there best given there facilities. Very run down. We booked for a week but left on the third day at 6.30am after spending most of the night awake with drunken adults waking the kids up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambuschopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
We are sorry that the accommodation was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on refurbishment it is disappointing if standards of cleanliness let us down.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

went 28th oct-1st nov, kids hols.. got through sun holidays, upgraded to club apartment,, it worked out 70 extra for mon-fri, as free passes and supplements per unit was free , so worked out at 70.. apartment, after reading reviews was expecting it dirty,, no was spotless! we had a 1 bed apartment club,, 2 adults 2 kids , pull out settee/bed in front room , if you dont mind sharing ..wardrobe in bedroom one in lounge area, plenty room for clothes.. free electric with club too. put the heater on once,,, had the door open many days as it was really warm ,, how, i dont know for this time of year!! plenty for young ones to do during day/night.. 2 main rooms at night , one starts with bingo at 7 (lots of unhappy kids in the queue at 6, saving parents from queuing!!!) we walked straight in and got seat at 7 tho.. lunar bar had entertainment straight off at 7 so they didnt have to put up with bingo... we went in the queen vic for one before entertainment,, wine was £7.95 a bottle,, not one to complain but it was very tired looking, chairs mismatched, tables filthy , asked to get table wiped and another couple asked for theirs doing , "may as well bloody stay up here" was the responce from the woman in charge (id say be happy to have a job!) very busy place , everyone took there own wine in at night to entertainment and no one seem to bother? teen room with all gadgets was good! not cheap if you have a few kids tho,,, overall i enjoyed it and would go again,,, if you book with a sun paper holiday, upgrade to club, it was an extra £125 but free passes and suppliments on standard was 55 pound so really was only like i said around 70 pound extra. plus free electric , another fiver off, free bottle of wine 8.00, free paper each day and free brecky worth 19 pound on last day!!! and you cant check in at 2 as the 4 check inn is bedlam!!! remember tho when you see the queue tho its usually for the 4 o clock check inn, walk past the queue and ther youll find a designated desk for 2 o clock check inn!! and i met lots of lovely people too!

Room Tip: go club if u get to upgrade ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at Pontins Southport and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and Staff on Park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We have invested heavily in all Apartments on Park and have replaced all floors, beds, curtains, bed settees and furniture over the last 18 months and we feel that our accommodation is of a good standard.
We still offer great value for money and provide great entertainments and activities for all the family but this has been expanded this year with more improvements planned very soon, watch this space.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and have expanded our catering operation to include a self service half board service which is proving extremely popular. With all you can eat breakfast for only £4.95 and 3 course dinners for only £7.00 you can’t go wrong coming to Pontin’s.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were there for morrow road show, me, my mumzie, my daddy, brandon and airron, my brothers the
Good:
-entertainment
-service at the bar
-the arcade was very fun
-the capacity was huge
-the activitys that's was Going on was entertaining for during the day
-wardrobe good size... had enough hangers for my clothes
-the room was clean
- for having the heaters on the the whole weekend we were there, electric wasn't much.

Now sadly for the bad :(
Bad:
-heaters didn't work properlyvonly the one In the bathroom work okay
-it was very cold....

(It annoys me that people complain though, its like your own personal flat, treat it like a home its not a proper hotel.... If you dont like it go somewhere else but I am HAPPY to return this weekend)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenadie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your time here.
We are pleased that you had a good holiday. The new Pontins was born in February 2011 and since then we have made many improvements. We have invested heavily in refurbishing and refurnishing all apartments and feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices.
We provide fantastic entertainment from our world famous bluecoats and this is complemented by many fabulous visiting cabarets.
We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. We have also opened a state of the art computer game zone which is proving very popular this year and provides hi-tech gaming at reasonable prices.
Our food and drink is good value and we offer an excellent choice for half board. Prices in the restaurant range from £4.95 for our eat all you want breakfast through to £7 for a 3 course set dinner. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar and we are glad that these prices contributed to you having a great time here.
Once again thanks for your review, it is easy to write a negative review and it is most welcome when a guest takes the time to write a positive review. We entertain over 20,000 guests a week during busy periods and the overwhelming majority have a good holiday with no issues and we would encourage anyone who has had a fantastic Pontins holiday to take some time to write a review.
Once again thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our trip was organised by a friend for the Halloween weekend. After reading some of the reviews about Pontins Southport we nearly didn't go! Some reviewers urged other visitors to take their own cutlery, pots, plates, blankets, kettles, toasters and everything else that they could cram into the car as facilities supplied were allegedly of a very poor standard! Utter tosh! Granted the facilities are not five star but what you get for the price is good, clean basic accommodation with all you could need for a pleasant stay. Southport centre with all the eating, drinking and entertainment you could possibly need is only a short drive down the coast road anyway.
Everything in our Chalet worked fine with lashings of hot water on tap, electric cooker, kettle, utensils, pans and room heaters that kept the apartment cosy on the rain lashed weekend we were there. Most if not all of the negative comments I have read refer to dirty or untidy rooms which I feel the blame for that must surely be directed at the previous tenants! After our brilliant stay we cleaned the place up and left it as we had found it. Only half an hours work to make the rooms welcoming for the next people, if everyone did that most of the 'unclean' comments would be unnecessary. Brilliant weekend with live bands both nights, fantastic Halloween costumes, friendly party goers and staff. No neighbours from hell as all was quiet and peaceful by the time the party finished shortly after 1.30am. The only thing wrong with it was that our stay was not long enough! Take a chill-pill, enjoy what is on offer. Nothing is ever perfect in life but that cup is always half FULL! Remember to clean up before you leave!
OJ Stockport.

Room Tip: Centre and upper rooms in the complex seem to be the best bet, but be warned that you have to walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing and refurnishing our accommodation and we are very pleased with the work so far and we plan more improvements in the near future.
We offer good value family holidays and we feel that our entertainments and facilities offer great choice and variety and we have extended our activities greatly this year.
We offer great value food and drink on Park and offer a Nisa shop that is well stocked and is reasonably priced.
Once again thanks very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
3.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing