We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I suppose you get what you pay for!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I suppose you get what you pay for!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Pontins last week, kids were excited as I showed them the online film etc and they thought it looked good, how wrong were we, we arrived got our key, walked into the shabby apartment to be met with no TV, no fridge, rubbish left from obviously the people before, have a look around, I have two sons and there was one bed for them to share, go to the bathroom and it was stinking of urine, all over the toilet seat, hair in the bath and god knows what it was in the sink.
We get another key for another apartment (if thats what you call it) more like a prison cell, first night was ok as we were all tired from travelling from Dundee so went for a drive, had tea and went back to sleep. Next day we went out as I wasnt comfortable with my kids making friends with some of the kids running around as to be honest they were foul mouthed and up to no good. Gets home that night, goes to bed only to be woken up by what sounded like a gang fight, look out and there was two guys clearly drunk swinging punches at each other for well over 2 hours, women screaming (one pregnant and drunk). This could happen anywhere but what got me was it took and hour for security to come and then hear them say is that all you are fighting about, laughing then walking away, for the numpties to start again. We only paid £99 but come on all we wanted was a clean apartment and not some TITS fighting coz they cant handle there drink, wont ever be going back even though at the end of the day we had a great holiday but that because we never stayed at Pontins to have a holiday just for somewhere to lay our heads.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lejatomjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    610
    679
    436
    1,845
See reviews for
2,581
239
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked cheap week-end break - bed settee was broken had maintenance out 12.30 at night to repair - food queue huge 30-40 minute wait at breakfast and evening meal ,tables not cleared and floor covered in peoples left over food. Couple in chalet behind us fighting 1am kids screaming with fear don't know who was hitting who had to get security who told them to shut up and get off site next morning. Had to have grand-daughter in my bed as was too traumatised to sleep. Won't be going there again.

Room Tip: don't book cheap deal and certainly self cater
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked our stay at Pontins because we were visiting family in Southport and thought it would keep the kids entertained...not our best plan to date! It was beyond basic with useless staff and tired looking facilities.
First they couldn't find our booking, then they over charged us for Electricity AND charged us for bedding we already had included in our booking, then they were so rude to my mum that I had to go and speak to them and show them our booking form AGAIN to get them to correct the problems!
At breakfast we noticed there were activities in the hall for children and our 3 ran in to join in excitedly...we were greeted warmly at first and then asked 'have you booked this?' when we explained that we hadn't be informed you could book anything for the children, we were told rudely to leave and the children had their colouring paper snatched from them! We would have happily paid there and then for this activity and there were lots of spare places so why they needed to be so cruel and unhelpful i have no idea?! This just sums up the feel of our entire stay to be honest.
My advice...DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a week here with our daughter & grandson. The club chalet that we hired was reasonably clean & well stocked. Sheets are bought separately & are pre-packed, so you know they are clean & fresh. A tip is to buy the sheets online before you go at a cost of £5 per single bed (you can take them home at the end of the stay). If you wait until you get to the camp they will cost £10 each set.
We had a two bedroom chalet & there was plenty of room for our party of four people. There were 2 toilet rolls in the bathroom on arrival. They are the very cheap variety, so we bought our own. You need to take your own towels. We took some older ones & left them behind at the end of the week.
We were half board. The food is okay, reasonable choice & fairly well cooked. Breakfasts were good. Don't go expecting cordon bleu cooking & you wont be disappointed. You get what you pay for.
Entertainments were okay. A decent sized swimming pool, crazy golf & a skate park among others. The climbing tower was not operating, which was a disappointment, but there's plenty other things to keep the young ones amused.
There is some evening entertainment, bingo & shows. We didn't bother so I can't comment on them.
Southport is a short bus ride away along the seafront. The bus goes from right outside the camp & is a regular service,
Ignore the moaners, this is exactly what you would expect from a holiday camp. It's not posh, but not as bad as some people make out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chucklebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We read the reviews last night and expected the worst, the shalley was very clean and presentable, smelt very nice, just been cleaned, beds are reasonably comfortable, the accommodation was fine but everything else on sight, arcade, food, amusements, shop is very expensive, liked everything so far, the swimming pool seems very clean, would come again from what I've seen so far.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Once tried and never again, booked the best room possible and that was a joke, it was dirty on arrival, stained quilts and pillows, grimey floor, sand everywhere, blocked toilet, poo in toilet, pubic hair in bath, long hair in sink, bacon bits in kitchen sink, dirty cutlery and crockery. Children running wild of all ages until past one o'clock in the morning, drunk and in charge parents staying out all hours on site. 1960s style block of concrete maisonettes with steep steps and rusty railings. No air con in the entertainment rooms that were overcrowded and sweaty, great spot for child snatchers as anyone can buy a day pass and no one checks your passes into club rooms as night, no chairs or tables free unless you get there really really early. Oh I forgot you are on a water meter and it takes 30 mins to warm up, but apart from being given a key at reception you are told nothing else or shown anything else. Dirty changing rooms at tatty old swimming pool, near drowning took place whilst we were there, over crowded with wild children going nuts doing bombs and acting rough near small children. Best bit was our escape to the lovely town of southport town and the beach you can drive onto next to Pontins, however tide is hardly ever in. Thinking of going to Pontins....I imagine prison would be a close match!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dwatson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just read the reviews of Southport Pontins. We went there a few years ago and I am dissapointed to see there is no change regarding the cleanliness of the apartments. Our chalet was appalling and I did complain. Thinking back now I wish we had asked to change chalet as soon as we got there but judging by other peoples comments, it may have not made any difference. I really dont understand why this has not yet been rectified. Considering we are not allowed in the chalets until 4pm (supposedly because of preparation and the cleaning of them) what on earth is being done during this to prepare the chalets? I dont know how they are getting away with it. Such a shame really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirleydNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,835 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
3.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 24 in Southport
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Property: Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing