We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked popular apartments mon -fri.
We queued around 45 mins for our keys which wasn't to bad.
When arriving at our apartment the windows and doors were filthy! When we opened the door a horrible damp smell just hit us It was dirty inside as well as out all the fittings were very very basic. We also paid for a cot and were not provided with one.
I went back to reception to complain there was a large line of guests there all complaining about the dirty and basic apartments.
We were upgraded and moved to another apartment.
Again windows and front door filthy but was a slight improvement on the other apartment (no smell). As we were settling in the children were running around and we noticed their feet and socks were black!! We took a wipe to the floor and omg!! I don't think the floors had ever been mopped!! We spent as little time as possible in the apartment.
The facilities weren't to bad for the children but a lot of stuff out of order.
When you go on their website apartments look new and really nice TRUST me they r nothing like it hostels are better!! Leaving the site on day trips made our holiday!! Oh and we also tried the food Big mistake! I felt sorry for the half board guests. Lo

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelgaP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,284 - 3,290 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nearly finished our Monday to Monday at Pontins, yes it's basic but I didn't pay for a 5 star hotel so you can't expect a 5 star resort, very good for Kids, wee brother seems to love it and there's loads to do for kids! Bluecoats are extremely friendly and helpful, lovely people and all staff are lovely and nothing is a trouble time them! Lots of activities to do during the day and the night time entertainment is very good for being a holiday park! Free WiFi that the teenagers in the group find fabulous and it keeps them quiet! All in all, a decent experience! I hope this helps people thinking about coming- will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms start very basic but you get what you pay for, you don't spend much time in the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeyah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well I read all the reviews on here before we went and I was horified so took all our own bedding loads of bleach and cleaning stuff, its not the cleanest of parks but its no where near what these other people are saying for what you pay what on earth do you expect??? Loads of free things for the kids to do amusements, pool (never used the pool my son hates swimming) bouncy castles,big play park, live entertainment which we all enjoyed even had an act that was on britains got talent which my 7 year old was amazed at! Also trampolines and go carts you pay for these as you do in all holiday parks! We went to the queen vic for diner and lunch and it is only £4 per adult buffet, food was fine I loved the huge salad bar and kids were only £2.50 great prices to eat also an onsite chip shop and store and the store wasn't stocked that great but had everything we needed also had a toy £1 section which was even better if your on a budget this is a budget holiday ad it was a lot better than I expected most people were constanty moaning and complaining but they did stay for the 4 nights so it couldnt have been that bad most people want more for there money I paid £99 for mon-fri for a family of 4 £25 per night what on earth do people want the ritz???? So to sum it we as a family had a great time staff work with what they've got and do a good job and take a lot of stick which is a shame very affordable fun holiday and the beach is a 5 mins walk and its a stunning beach to go to very very clean please go and enjoy your holiday at pontins its what you make it :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 28th June to 1st July (unfortunatly it was over the period when the polish footballers were there but I,ll come to that)..... Anyway,we checked in,receptionists were a tad miserable upon check in but I guess when people are on at you all day every day it must be hard to keep a smile on your face! We found our room and upon opening the door I was pleasantly surprised! Wooden style floors, chalet overall was tidy and had what u need for a base! tv channels were limited but we barely had it on anyway as we spent most of the time out of the chalet! My one bit of advice would be take some food and drink supplies with you if your eating in as there's just one not so nice fish n chip shop with queues of about 30 mins and an expensive Nisa shop wich is ok,for basics but nothing available really food wise! And also loo rolls, washing up liquid & dishcloth to give it a wipe down :).....We had a really good time as we booked it as a little break away from the norm, the only disruption to us was the polish footballers whome I beleive 180 in total were causing havoc on the camp! We were kept awake all night Saturday as they continued in to Sunday morning drinking,chanting,setting off flares & fireworks before being escorted off the premises by police and police dogs!.....apart from this good time had by all, great for a cheap n cheerful getaway and lots o do for kids! Also as there were no kids in our group the £2.30 pints went down a treat ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived early evening and had packed up and gone by 9am the next morning. What a dump, it should come with a health warning!!!!! I can't believe that the powers that be think this place is acceptable for human habitation, it needs to be closed down. I can't put in words how filthy the rooms are you couldn't see through the windows the bedding had brown marks all over them the shower cut out after 2/3 minutes. I'm pretty liberal but just walking from our room to the reception, I lost count of the swear words my son had to listen to and the wonderful sight of people spitting on the pavements, I thought that was bad enough but on the way back I heard the cry's of a women, who obviously hadn't done as she was told. If you are thinking about going here, I would seriously reconsider, it should be demolished!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

spent 3 nights at southport pontins and would never go back. queues were massive to get keys thrown at you and a map to tell you where you were staying which was wrong said upper floor so carried pushchair and all bags upstairs only to be told it was wrong room , arrived at room and absolutely filthy ,dirty windows damp curtains and ants infestation, heating didnt work and lights in bedroom kept flicking on and off, bedding is ridiculous toilet paper thin and badly made. we decided to eat at the onsite restaurant THE VIC and ended up with sickness and diarrhoea. The shop was badly stocked shelves always empty and for 10 minutes on the trampoline was 2 pound.Entertainment was so bad it made you laugh. Basically it made me think of the roughest council estate on a hot day parents get trollied of there faces leaving the kids to run aimlessly round a run down dirty campus . would NEVER go back

Room Tip: bring your own bedding and eat your own food, take plenty of vitamins to boost your immune system be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I thought I'd walked on to the Shameless film set.Club Class means nothing. Our chalet stank awful and was filthy. I had to clean and sanitize everywhere before I would let my grandchildren set foot into the room. The bed settee was unstable (slept on the floor) and the microwave was precariously fixed to the wall at shoulder level, located right where people passed each other in the kitchenette, just waiting for someone to crack their head on. Throughout the night into the early hours (3am) people were very noisy, swearing, arguing, shouting and clearly drunk. At one point someone banged hard several times on our window, which frightened my grandchildren witless. The decision was quickly made to leave the very next morning ... we hadn't even been there for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,172 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
739 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
428 reviews
3.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
3.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $51 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing