We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zorros Roadshow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Aprox 600 of us went for Zorros Roadshow for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. Having read the reviews on here I went with my own sheets and a plastic cover for the bed and cleaning equipment. Need not have bothered as chalet 277 (basic chalet) was clean as was bedding. Electric was expensive £20 for 3 nights but 3 heaters were on full most of the time. Theres seems plenty to do around the place especially for little ones.
Now for some of the bad points. Captain Cod needs to be shut down, the food was disgusting. The staff look dirty and their uniforms looked like they hadnt been washed in weeks and need training in public relations.
The Victoria pub, Food was ok but on sat night no cups or milk for cuppas, same on Sunday morning. The chefs looked scruffy and grubby, clean and ironed uniforms doesnt take alot of effort and especially when they are bringing out food it should be priority.
The Chalets although they were clean the windows and exteriors were disgustingly dirty. If the cleaners havent got time to clean windows and doors then employ a window cleaner full time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Pontins. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the Park and also take note of your negative feedback.
The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and we have seen massive improvements across the board and this will continue both short and long term. We offer great value holidays that the vast majority of our guests really enjoy which is shown by the really busy year we have had and the high proportion of returning guests.
We are continually improving all aspects of the Park from accommodation to food and better and new activities to keep everyone entertained and are confident that we really do offer something for everyone.
Please keep a look out for improvements through our website and look out for special offers and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,446 - 3,452 of 4,209 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Staying for a long weekend at Pontins toghether with a group of boys from Norway (footballteam). We were happy up front with the cost of the stay and the pictures available.
The stay was for us a disaster. It was dirty everywhere, the cleaning was reduced to a minimum. It hadnt been a janitor around for years, a lot of the interior was hanging aroing, tabels unstable etc. The meals was ok. Pontins are a typically weekend stay for people to enjoys a lot of drinks and having their children running around without supervision. We came with a group of really nice guys, but first a drunk grown up english gorilla wanted to beat up one of our lads and later the same day a group of english boys tried to wind our guys up for a fight. The place is guarded with security at nights, and its for no reason!! A crappy place and not a nice group of visitors and troublemakers. Stay off!

Room Tip: If you really need to stay there, make sure your flat is newly redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TouristTrondV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
Your comments have been directed to our housekeeping team for action so this does not happen again.
We offer great value for money holidays and have been at full capacity over the summer months and have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I really dont know where to start. Pontins apparently provide three types of apartment with "Club" being the best you can get. I stayed in a "Club" apartment so please remember this when reading this review. The entrance door to the apartment was almost impossible to get into because the lock was damaged. Once locked from the inside you could not get out of that door at all. To get out we had to pass a 9 year old child through the bedroom window, hand her the key and guide her on how to open the door !!! Surely this is not compliant with health and safety or fire regulations and this sort of thing surely has to be checked by Pontins staff on a regular basis.

The apartment itself was filthy. The bathroom floor was so dirty that i had to get on my hands and knees and give it a really good clean so at least after a shower (which is another story) we had a clean floor to stand on. The toilet was filthy and stained. All of the taps and the drainage from the bath were surrounded by black mildew and mould. They had not been cleaned for months. Pontins seriously need to change their cleaning staff - in fact they should employ a professional cleaning company to go into every apartment and thoroughly clean and sterilise everything so it is suitable for human habitation !

The shower was hilarious in an ironic way - the nozzle that was stuck to the wall could not be moved and therefore you had to pushed up against the wall to get under it. If you were clever enough to master this you were then completely stumped at the next bit .... to get the water out you had to keep your hand on a button on the wall which left you one hand to wash, shampoo etc etc. Ive never been to prison but im sure that prisoners must enjoy better facilities than this.

The heating in the room was terrible and the only bonus was the fact that we had paid for "premium" accommodation and therefore our electricity was supplied free. If we had had to buy electricity on a card we would have spent a fortune just trying to take the chill from the room.

Kettle dirty, didnt look in the oven (!) and there was not one bit of crockery or cutlery that matched.

The whole site is also constantly waterlogged with puddles the side of pools everywhere and it was not because it had been raining badly over the last week or so.

In a nutshell the whole site is completely run down and that includes the public amenities. The toilets were quite disgusting. I never found a hand drier that worked the whole time i was there.

The best thing for Pontins in Southport would be demolition. Do not waste your money going there, get yourself a tent in the middle of a field and you will have a better time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - we had club class which is the "best" and it was disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MissH666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We have sold thousands of rooms this year and entertained over 100,000 guests on Park and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here nov 2012 for 3 nights for an event organised by Ibiza holiday entertainment team, if I was booking this as our family break is be highly didappointed, rooms aren't clean , have damp all over and curtains don't meet in middle as well as not been hung properly ! You must put your own electric on in the room which approx was £15 for weekend ! The shower is like a one in a swimming pool constantly having to be pressed , water was warm but not hot, cleaners actually walked out on 2nd night of our stay and toilets have graffiti all over , southport itself is lovely and therefore the location of Pontins is ideal but personallynud rather pay more , the beds are uncomfortable and in apartment 295 window in bedroom is broken ! Overall very disappointing .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mchlstbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your review of Pontins Southport and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishing all rooms and it is not acceptable when you encounter cleaning and maintenance issues in your accommodation. We are sorry for these problems and will look at ways to ensure these issues do not happen again.
We have lots of entertainment and activities on Park and we are sorry if they were not to your liking. Our world famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabarets.
We take note of your other issues and we are looking at making more improvements in the very near future and we hope to have a Park that has the best facilities in the area. We welcome up to 3000 guests each night and we hope to provide enough variety and activities to please everyone and we are sorry that you where not satisfied.
However we thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived on 29th October with my younger brother. We done a Sun holiday hoping that with this cheaper option we would be able to save our money for days out. But having read so many negative reviews I became concerned so decided to upgrade to club accommodation paying an extra £140.
Check in was very easy having upgraded. Sadly I wish I hadn't wasted my money upgrading. The floor was sticky with hair, dust and food crumbs. The bedrooms were the same and had a thick layer of grime on the window frames and windows. My brother folded the sofa bed down only to find hair and food and god knows what else in the fold in the middle.
The runners on the sliding doors were black with grime and dirt and the doors were filthy covered in hand prints and even face marks.
The cooker looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for weeks with hair and dried on food down the front and the inside was filthy too.
We promptly left as I was to disgusted to stay. I spoke to the customer care manager and duty manager who did their best to get us to stay but I just couldn't do it.
I was told that I would receive a phone call to rearrange my holiday but nearly 3 weeks later I've heard nothing.
I shall be writing (including photos) to Pontins asking for my money back. I will also be writing to the sun to show them the state of the place they are sending people to!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whealrodnneysno1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your review of Pontins Southport.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment of our Apartments and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness or maintenance are not met.
Your comments have been directed to our housekeeping team for action so this does not happen again.
We offer great value for money holidays and have been at full capacity over the summer months and have provided thousands of families with enjoyable holidays at our new look Park. We have loads of new facilities to keep everyone entertained and the vast majority of our guests have a great time.
Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy yourselves but thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not impressed at all with room 46! The lock was tricky when we checked in on the Friday night, The lock had been vandalized. On the Sunday morning as there are no phones in the room, normally you press 0 for reception in any accommodation my 9 yr old daughter had to climb out of the window to unlock the door from the outside or we would have been stuck! Mold in the bathroom. Shower head's stuck to the wall you have to stand with your back against the wall and constantly press a button for the shower to work like a public swimming pool! Cutlery was filthy, all different shapes and sizes.There was poo on the floor in the changing rooms of the pool and still there 2hrs later. Check out I said we paid for the best accommodation, I was told that's what we had! The beer's like water the food's Fitness Centre? Where was that? Room service? What room service?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonoversby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Pontins and we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy our product but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We have sold thousands of rooms this year and entertained over 100,000 guests on Park and it has been great to receive many compliments and our highest recorded number of re-books on Park.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfill your needs or expectations. We have looked at your operational issues and passed the comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary.
Once again thanks for taking the time to review your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went here on the last week of the season 2012 ,be prepared to get to checkin earlier than you should ,as the queue is out of the door ,this is a great activity packed place for families with small children ,get in the main show bar early to get a seat to play bingo ,then there is a show by the staff and then a disco ,drinks reasonably priced in bars as was the food in the restaurants and takeaway ,the chalets are equipped with all you need to cater for yourself there are no double beds
And tv channels are limited ,the bathroom was ok but you have to jam the shower button with something to keep it on ,
The location is great for days out into Liverpool ,and the surrounding areas ,the parking is limited and hard to find a space near to where you are staying ,also not clearly signposted enough and had to ask staff for directions on more than one occasion .
On the whole you get what you pay for ,and was a nice short break .

Room Tip: Choose the slightly more expensive one as these appear more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southportpontins, Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your review of Pontins in Southport; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your time here.
We are pleased that you had a good holiday. The new Pontins was born in February 2011 and since then we have made many improvements. We have invested heavily in refurbishing and refurnishing all apartments and feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices.
We provide fantastic entertainment from our world famous bluecoats and this is complemented by many fabulous visiting cabarets.
We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. We have also opened a state of the art computer game zone which is proving very popular this year and provides hi-tech gaming at reasonable prices.
Our food and drink is good value and we offer an excellent choice for half board. Prices in the restaurant range from £3.95 for our eat all you want breakfast through to £5 for a 3 course set dinner. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar and we are glad that these prices contributed to you having a great time here.
Once again thanks for your review, it is easy to write a negative review and it is most welcome when a guest takes the time to write a positive review. We entertain over 20,000 guests a week during busy periods and the overwhelming majority have a good holiday with no issues and we would encourage anyone who has had a fantastic Pontins holiday to take some time to write a review.
Once again thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,093 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
12.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
527 reviews
3.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Southport Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Address: Shore Road | Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $42 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Southport Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pontins Southport was Re-born in 2011 following the purchase by Britannia Hotels. All our Managers & Staff are proud to work here at Pontins Southport & proud of our recent & ongoing improvements. Our Pontins is situated on the edge of the Sand dunes & only three minutes’ walk away from one of the longest & most beautiful stretches of beach/coastline in the EU. We have a lovely village just up the road at Ainsdale. And also boast Southport on our doorstep. Not forgetting the Home of the Beatles! Just a 20 minutes train journey from Ainsdale to the amazing City of Liverpool. Or just stay here and let us entertain you. We have our World Famous Bluecoats, the Croc Crew & We also book the very best cabarets around. Including finalists from the X Factor and Britain’s Got Talent. Let us entertain you & our thousands of other returning guests this season. We have a variety of different room types available for you to choose from. We have Club rooms, Classic rooms & Popular room types for you to pick from. Or why don’t you see if out little home from home The Bungalow is available? We feel that we offer comfortable accommodation at great prices. We also offer excellent facilities and have greatly increased the number of activities on Park and this has been noticed by a great number of our guests. And our food and drink is very good value indeed, especially our eat all you want breakfast for £4.95 & our three course evening meals for £7. We have recently received a Five Star Award for Food Hygiene from the Foods Standards Agency, so you know you are receiving excellent service and also fantastic value for money. These great prices are complemented by our happy hours at the bar! So come on over to see us at Pontins Southport the party for the kids and the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pontins Southport Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Southport Holiday Park Hotel Southport
Pontins Hotel Southport
Pontins Resort Southport
Pontins Southport Holiday Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing