We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mirror offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Lodge
Ranked #26 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
lancs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“mirror offer”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed here with the daily mirror offer of £20 prpn & thought it was a great deal . Room 4 was a family room which was clean and tidy & Christine our host made us feel welcome. The deal was a continental breakfast but Christine said we were welcome to have any sort of eggs with toast so we were given perfectly poached eggs a few mins later.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of Southport with parking available

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
42
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
w.yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

stayed one night here. great central location
free parking, room clean & tidy, very good breakfast
nice welcome from christine

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Visited Southport over the bank holiday weekend for a short break away with my girlfriend. The b&b was welcoming, clean and quiet. They also provided a superb breakfast the next morning, all cooked fresh. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoStuUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Just returned from Carlton Lodge and enjoyed the stay very much. We were told the room would be available around 2 but we arrived at 11 to drop our things off and the room was already ready so were allowed in it.
Christine welcomed us and she is lovely. We were made welcome from the very start.The Hotel is situated 200 yards from Lord Street and 200 Yards from the promenade. However it is so quiet we never heard any noise and were able to have a good nights sleep every night.
We stayed in room 1 which is at the rear of the property. It was small but very adequate. The en suite looked almost new. There was also a flat screen tv in the room with dvd player integrated in it, Hairdryer, tea,coffee, hot chocolate, Milk and biscuits which was replenished every day. So often they are only in your room on your first day of arrival.
The room was cleaned every day. The breakfast I can honestly say is the best breakfast I have had at any guest house. It is cooked to order and there is so much to choose from. There is a menu so you can choose whatever you wish, and there is so much of it. As much toast, tea or coffee, cereal and juice as you like. NOTHING was too much trouble for Christine. You didn`t have to wait for anything. We had The full english and like I said, haven`t tasted better anywhere.The dining room is a little small for the amount of tables in there but it didnt worry us as there wasn`t many people staying when we were there.
There is a lounge downstairs with a comfortable suite and large television in. Perfect to relax.
Although it is a little old fashioned it added to the enjoyment of the stay.
We got a very good deal of 3 nights for the price of two and although it is out of season, NO-ONE else was offering it. So fair play to Christine for doing it.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carlton Lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AXLNUNEATON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton Lodge for the second time over Christmas and New Year - we weren't disapointed. We had a good time last year ; nice room , clean with lots of personal touches and the breakfasts are second to none, with an excellent choice. Christine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and what a good location...minutes from Lord Street and in the same street and as a lovely Indian Restaurant (Taj Mahal). If we go to Southport again we would definately check availability here first.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stay at the Carton for two nights and have no complaints just compliments. A lovely clean warm and homely place to stay. My room was clean with all those little extras that makes it home away from home. The weather was below minus outside but there was no skimping on the heating. The breakfast menu is A****. Everything is close at hand. The beach,,,shopping,,,quite nature centre for those who love birdwatching and plenty of places to eat. Will certainly be returning to the Carlton Lodge later in the year,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, united kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

stayed at the Carlton Lodge for one night in February while visiting southport theatre. Christine was very welcoming and friendly. The room was warm and clean with little extras that make your stay easier, tv,hair dryer, tea/coffee facilities, shampoo and shower gel etc.
Breakfast was cooked to order with various options available on the menu, it came with a very large pot of tea or coffee and proper napkins not the paper type you sometimes get.
This is a traditional guest house with a good location and did not dissapoint.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank one_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#13 of 40 in Southport
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House Southport
0.0 mi away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#17 of 40 in Southport
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ambassador Townhouse
The Ambassador Townhouse
#1 of 40 in Southport
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Lodge

Property: Carlton Lodge
Address: 43 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Townhouse providing comfortable en suite bedrooms and offering an extensive breakfast menu ,using only quality ingredients,probably the best breakfast( according to my guests) in Southport.Free WI FI and a comfortable lounge to relax in. Free car parking. PLEASE TELEPHONE OR E MAIL FOR BEST RATES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Lodge Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing