We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night with a group of friends and paid £40 per person for bed and breakfast. The room was pretty nice. No bath, just a big shower, but that suited me fine. The toilet cistern was leaking when the toilet was flushed, but i reported this, so i am sure the staff were probably just unaware. Nice lounge area and the breakfast was good too. Very hot! Which is always a good thing. I would stay here again

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vixen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
34
133
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms are only 40 quid a night for bed and breakfast, not sure what some people expect. I have paid far more than this for supposedly better but it wasn't. Staff were very attentive and helpful and friendly and I did have a bit of a tv issue which was rectified straight away. Lovely outside area, parking and bar and so close to all the amenities. The rooms were clean and comfy - seriously how long do you stay in your room? Thank you Dukes Folly for a lovely weekend at the Southport Flower Show.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks united kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Dukesfolly on our Malta reunion. This is my fourth stay there and all have been a really good experience, have recommended it to friends and again they have all been happy with their stays. Although the building itself is a bit tired and in need of a bit of TLC the hospitality more than makes up for this. Very tasty breakfast, fresh, well cooked, well presented, good choice and plentiful. I was sad to see that John had sold up since our last visit but pleased to know he is still working there the new owners were very friendly and very ready to help out with anything we needed, they bent over backwards to locate a restaurant we were trying to find, even getting a copy of a map from the I telnet for us to follow. We had a brilliant stay and definitely hope to return soon.
The new owners have lots of plans for improvement and lots of new ideas, including possibly a lift and a restaurant. Great position for Lord Street a d lovely big conservatory to enjoy breakfast in. I suggest you give it a try.

Room Tip: They have theme rooms which although a little more expensive are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudieverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

six of us have just had a great time at this hotel although its a little tired the new owner is refurbishing it but we still had a wonderful time breakfast was really good and fresh the staff very good we will all gladly stay here again nice to be just off lord st but close enough to walk anywhere to all the staff thank you allan and liz from stoke on trent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_chef_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and i have just spent 2 days at the Dukes Folly Hotel and had a really good time the hotel had recently been taken over by Agnes and she was one of the most friendly people we have met.The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was 1st class we will definitely be going back sometime soon good luck to Agnes and her staff who work very hard to give you an enjoyable stay from James and Michelle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesnShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived and checked in, but the invoice book was missing, so I could only have the receipt from the card machine to prove I'd paid.
Stairs up, stairs down, just to get to my room.

In the room: nice view of the roof and the back wall of the care home next door.
No door on the toilet room, so you have to make sure the curtains are closed at night. I am used to a light bedroom at home, so this was unideal. The shower was hot.... Then cold... But the dial to adjust the temp was stuck.
The room the toilet and shower is in is very small, and anyone bigger than me (80kg) will struggle to get it. I struggled.

I'm currently watching a blank screen on the tv because it keeps dropping the signal. Half the time it won't even let you change channels!

Tea & coffee facilities: my advice is go to a cafe. The kettle is full of limescale, the lid is full of what look like knife marks and the water that you eventually put in your cup tastes disgusting.

The bed was ok, but the pillows too thin. Woke up with a sore neck.

In the corridor, there is a fire exit. This has been blocked by an iron and an ironing board since yesterday and if the hotel was full of smoke, you wouldn't know it was there.

I noticed a library full of books, I'm presuming you can read them and they're not there for show.

Breakfast was tasty, though I've never seen sausages that thin before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looprevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Travelling on business I decided to pick a hotel rather than the usual chains and pricing for B & B was fine. Has own car park, and in good location to walk to restaurants. Reception can give details of restaurants and book reservation for you.I had large double bed for single occupancy but no chair or desk. Hotel has free wifi which is also a bonus. On the day I was staying I was last down for breakfast, the room full with senior citizens except for one other businessman. Despite full tables my waitress quickly served me and it was an enjoyable breakfast.

Room Tip: My room was number 18 and the view was a fire escape - ask what view your room will have when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Property: Dukes Folly Hotel
Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Folly Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing