We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The luxuries of a 5 star hotel with the warmth of a family run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I had read all the reviews so I was expecting something special, but my experience exceeded even those expectations. The personal welcome from Alan and Sam the dog, the room sizes, the realistically priced mini-bar and the personal little extras in the rooms, (such as DVDs and sweets for my kids) all contributed to a fantastic weekend in Southport. The 'piece de resistance' had to be the breakfast, which was presented so beautifully it was a shame to tuck in! But we did, and it certainly deserved the awards it has received - one of the best breakfasts ever seen and tasted! My children have not yet stopped talking about their stay at the Bay Tree House! Fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksharon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 339 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

This is my fourth stay at the Bay Tree. As myself and my partner are working over the valentines weekend we wanted to get away be treated well where we stayed within our budget.
What you get at the Bay Tree is 5 star treatment at a totally reasonable rate. You are met with a welcome. The rooms as ever was well kitted out with nice touches that makes you feel welcome. We were able to relax and enoy our stay with the usual lovely breakfast.
We will be visiting again for a longer stay when the weather is warmer.
Thanks as ever for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIDERSWakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay Tree in early January despite appalling weather.
The room (No3) was large, very comfortable, with a really comfortable king size bed and a fabulous shower. The breakfasts were delicious - and huge.
Innkeeper Allan, was extraordinarily helpful, even getting rid of the ice on the rental car each morning.
It‘s everything you could want from a B&B; and you would be doing yourself a disservice if you didn’t have at least one evening meal there. Allan is a superb cook.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginiamusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

A lovely place and super service !! from the moment we arrived,the breakfast was eleven on ten !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We chose Bay Tree House because it is close to the seafront and shopping, Allan and Tom were warmly welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, perfect hosts. Rooms beautifully decorated, with every extra you'll ever need and quiet, comfortable beds too. Breakfasts and evening meals (to order) were superb, a real gourmet experience, wines were excellent and all this at very reasonable cost. We'll be back!

David & Lizzie, mid-Wales

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarmerDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Well, what can we say? We have never stayed in a B & B like this before. What attentive hosts - the room was perfect and the facilities amazing. We were spoilt for choice for breakfast - I had eggs florentine and it was fresh and yummy. We would definitely return - it was a shame we were only there for 1 night! We will definitely return next time we are in Southport.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Every once in a while you find a place which just hits the spot. The Bay Tree House was that place for us. The room was very comfortable and all the extra touches such as bath robes, slippers, sweeties etc etc etc make it special. The breakfasts are excellent with a very wide choice. I wouldn't like to single anything out but if forced the potted shrimp kedgeree was particularly good. The location is also ideal with it being in a quiet street within easy walking distance of Lord Street with all the shops and restaurants. We ate out at Casa Italia and The Cloisters and found them both excellent. We also tried Roberto's and although tasty enough I would suggest that there are better. Real Ales are to be found in the Guesthouse which was very good although had a more mature clientele on the evening of our visit. The Bay Tree is very easy to find and once you know the quieter coastal road passes close by its even easier to get about. Our main attraction to visiting this area was Martin Mere and we were not disappointed as this is a very worthwhile place to visit particularly at this time of year with the Pink Footed geese in residence. I also recommend visiting Rufford Hall and going to see the 'The Gormleys' - these are life size sculptures of Andrew Gormley (actual casts of his body). There are 100 of them and are set into the sea bed at Crosby - its quite a site. We stayed 3 nights at the Bay Tree and were well looked after by our hosts and can definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turrysagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Address: No 1 Irving Street, Southport PR9 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $87 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree House is a 4-Star Gold award winning guest house (This Star Gold are only awarded to the top 10% of establishments in the country.)All our rooms are individually furnished with en-suiteWireless broadband in all rooms Our AA “Eggcup Award Winning” breakfast includes a lavish buffet with variety of Fruits, Muesli and cereals, Juices and Greek-style Yoghurt followed by a choice of not only a Traditional Grilled Lancashire Breakfast but also other options including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Haddock served with poached eggs with Fresh Spinach, or our own special Kedgeree with Southport Shrimps. Vegetarian dishes include Scrambled Egg and Chargrilled Pepper Piperade on a Lancashire/homemade Potato Cake, Canadian-style Pancakes with Blueberries, Bananas and Maple Syrup, and the ever-popular Eggs Florentine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel Southport
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing