We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“southport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifton Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“southport”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Another lovely and pleasant stay with Jimmy and Collette for four nights. Well suited with the food and room as usual. Looking forward to next year and will booking very early. I would recommend the Clifton Villa to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    42
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
49
154
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My 81 year old mum stayed here by herself for two nights never having stayed here before and thought it was convenient for all the shops and local amenities and excellent value for money. She was made very welcome by Jimmy and told me the breakfast each morning was superb. She was able to park easily in front of the hotel. Comfy twin bedded en-suite room, mum couldn't fault a thing and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to Southport for three days,( two nights,) recently, not having been before we didnt know where to stay but we were very fortunate to stumble on to this fantastic B&B, It was first class, ran by two lovely freindly people Collette and Jimmy who made us feel very welcome !!
The room we had on the ground floor was spotless, the bed was sooooo comfy, a good nights sleep was guaranteed!!
The location is ideal for the town centre and seafront, if we are ever around the area again we would have no hesitation in staying at this Real Value for money B&B, must be the best breakfast you will find anywhere in Southport !! we would have no hesitation to recommend this place to anyone, thanks Colette and Jimmy (great hosts!!!!)

Room Tip: Could not imagine there being a bad room in the place if ours was anything to go by !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are looking for a fabulous B&B then look no further! Excellent value for money. The accommodation is tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean. Jimmy Campbell is a man born to be a host, a truly delightful entertainer with a very witty repartee. No request was too much effort (and we had many) and the hospitality we were shown was better than any 5 star hotel. Breakfast is a feast of true fresh home cooking, which is cooked to order and our waitress Remmie was a pure delight. This is a real gem and I can't wait to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask Jimmy for a sea view in the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went for the weekend with my sister and her husband . The room was excellent very bright and roomy with en suite , comfy beds always a bonus and spotless. Jimmy and Colette were very welcoming nothing to much trouble and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is in a great position close to the shops and surrounding bars.Would stay again and certainly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room at the front spacious and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Me & my partner stayed for one night ..The hotel is right in the heart of southport excellent for food choices & bars.. The management was friendly & helpful "Jimmy" ..Rooms were spotless ...& breakfast was delish .Defo recommend it !!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippadebmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After slight confusion at another establishment left us without a bed for the night Jimmy & Colette (Colette is the quiet one!) came to our rescue with a lovely little last minute en suite! The room was small, but it was warm, very clean and comfy with everything you could want. Clifton Villas feels very welcoming, and Jimmy is friendly and full of useful tips about where to go and esp. where to eat. The location is fantastic - just of the main promenade - close enough to roll home and far enough away to be very quiet. This was our first visit to Southport, but it won't be the last.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katehSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 24 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Villa Hotel

Property: Clifton Villa Hotel
Address: 6 Bath Street | Merseyside, Southport PR9 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clifton Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Villa Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing