We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here new years eve. Checked in early after a friendly welcome. Room was large clean and nice decor. Been southport numerous occasions and paid a lot more for rooms of no better quality. The breakfast was buffet but plentiful and good variety .We paid £45 for the night with breakfast which is an amazing price and feel we defiantly got our moneys worth. Will defiantly be booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemarkwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Propriétaire at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your very good review, we appreciate your nice comments and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    140
    69
    36
    28
See reviews for
62
212
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and the wife enjoyed are stay what a lovely weekend enjoyed every minuet warm reception room number 9 clean and tidy good parking it was nice to wake up to a hearty breakfast great location plenty of shop would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrybednob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Propriétaire at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much to have taken the time to write a very good review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel pleasant and good value. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Balmoral on the 12th October for one nights we were attending our great nephew' christening, we were warmly welcomed overall the place was clean but tired and plenty to eat for breakfast .Will recommend them to friends who pass through and looking
for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MY4KGMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are happy that you found the hotel value for money and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were warmly welcomed here which gave a good impression straight away. Our room was clean and bigger than we expected, the patio doors opened onto a terrace which had steps leading down to a nice garden, this was great for our two dogs. The twin beds were comfortable and the bedding clean, room was warm and tv worked just fine. I do think that the bathroom needs a bit of TLC but there was plenty of hot water for the lovely bath I had and I didn't spend much time in the bathroom so it wasn't an issue! We thought that this hotel offers value for money, we only paid £48 for the night, this included the small cost for our dogs and the breakfast - which we enjoyed. My only complaint about which was that the plates were cold therefore the food wasn't hot enough but then I could have asked for this to be rectified and I'm sure it would have been. I would add that this particular complaint is just something that I have a 'thing' about! We feel that for a 2 star hotel, we got more than we expected so would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, go for the twin rooms on ground floor, easy access to garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much to have taken the time to write a review. We are very happy that you like the hotel and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I shall first of all say that we stayed here with a voucher from one of the companies ( can't remember which ) and it cost £35 each per night including evening meal and breakfast.
Would I stay again? Too right!
The hospitality of the owners was excellent. It was so welcoming and personal and they couldn't do enough to help.
Room was lovely with a garden, that had it not been persistently raining we could have used, but it was still nice to look out on.
Rooms were clean, warm and contained all the necessaries, nice modern tv, ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, shower gels, nice white towels.
Evening meal was great, bottle of wine reasonably priced and there is a separate bar if you wanted to carry on drinking.
The dining room is rather elegant in a faded genteel way and the breakfast buffet well supplied.
But here is where this hotel succeeds.
If you want clean, clinical and a microwaved breakfast then Travelodge or Premier Inn it.
If you want an impersonal room then do the same.
But if you want to stay somewhere where you actually feel as if it is a pleasure for the managers to have you there then come here.
This is a place where they will look after your luggage, even after checkout time until you are ready to actually depart ( if you arrive by train this is a godsend because Southport station has no left luggage facility )
On this note, I ask you! A holiday resort, a tourist centre, with a station that has nowhere to leave luggage. This could only happen in the ( why don't more people holiday at home? ) flippin' UK!
Anyway I digress.
Great stay, great owners, worth every penny. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was such a pleasure to have you here and we are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself in Southport and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading the reviews of the balmoral lodge i was expecting a half decent room,even if i was on a groupon at 89 for 2 nights with a 3 course meal,what did we get was a room in the attic that was last decorated thirty years ago,If you think this is harsh, ask to see the room,the bathroom well lets not go there,our 3 course meal was a joke but the highlight was a iceland fish and twelve home made chips.We want be going back to the balmoral lodge in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic room you deserve better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to elaborate such a objective review after so many months thinking about it.
If as you said in another review, most hotels doing Groupon are very poor, I still wonder why you still buy vouchers from them.
As you also said you expected a decent room because of my reviews and fortunately for us most people like our product. The "attic" room as you described it (has in fact 2 large windows and is not in the attic but second floor) is the same that the one from the previous review and was scored 5 out of 5. What a difference of expectation and conclusion about the same room ! You have your opinion about merchants going with Groupon (we offer very poor product ) to make money but we do it to have a full hotel even in quiet time as we love our job and want customers around (otherwise I would be working in an office) and when we offer £89 2 nights, breakfasts and meals we make a very minimal profit but life is not always about money! Unfortunately the few bad reviews that I had since 5 years and 25 years in the industry are most of the time when people had paid very low price! Do not get me wrong not all people paying cheap (I considerate myself as a budget hotel) complain but the few that complained about us have most of the time paid low price and won't even take into consideration that we make nearly no profit but still involve a lot of work! I cannot even considered being that nasty with my worst enemy.
I hope you will find next time an appropriate hotel in Southport and enjoy our fabulous and welcoming town. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly managers they made us feel at home. Very lovely and very clean rooms. The breckfast we had was lovely there was lots to choose from. The staff made us feel very welcome and made every effort to talk to us and our 5yr old daughter. We have already said we would love to go back next year xxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank louseasidelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you to have taken the time to write such a nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your beautiful daughter and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Balmoral Lodge Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing