We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A hotel with a lovely atmosphere and character. Extremely friendly, not too big not too small. A pleasant and comfortable bar area with evening meals available. What makes this hotel stand out from the others in Southport ( I have stopped at at least 20 b and bs, and hotels eg.Prince of Wales, Royal Clifton amongst others in southport) is the friendliness of the owners, nothing is too much trouble, they go out of their way to chat, to ensure you are ok, to ensure everything is to your satisfaction and to be there for you. This puts the hotel at one of the best in the area that I have been too. There would be no hesitation to go back and stay here. The room was spacious clean and had plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. The shower was powerful an there was plenty of hot water. Again, if you stay here and need anything above what you have in your room JUST ASK it will not be a problem. (merci beaucoup!)

Room Tip: Book at garden room (twin) for plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we really appreciate that you were happy with our service and hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    129
    63
    33
    25
See reviews for
56
199
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights b/b for two with kgb. £ 59.00 total ! Stayed in room 12 .Decor not brilliant but so what? Bed clean, very comfy, and 2 singles together seemed like a King.Yes tea bags did look yellow but think in was the norm colour. Still made a good cup of tea. Do they have to be individually wrapped ? Room very warm, extra heater there if needed.Yes did have trouble with pressure on shower first morning, so ran the bath .Second morning no problems. Breakfast good, everything you could want .Staff very good, anything we needed we just had to ask for.If looking for cheap week end hotel great at this price. The proprieters are obviously trying to make your stay a good one. GIVE THIS HOTEL A CHANCE Please note, our reason for being there was that our son is in Uni at Ormskirk, which is a bit sparse on accommodation!!
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 810angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice and honest comments and would be very happy to see you again when you visit your son at University. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is a must stay if your visiting Southport, the hospitality was second to none, nothing was to much trouble, the room was spacious and spotless, the evening meal was top notch and the breakfast was the same, with everything you could ask for, this establishment is more than good value for money, we have just booked again.

Room Tip: We found all round the hotel to be quiet, so were not disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we are looking forward to seeing you soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent location walkable to station and town centre. I had a single room which had television, tea and coffee making facilities and a bathroom. Breakfast was fully satisfactory, with plenty of options, mostly buffet, but they offer to fry your egg if you want. Cannot fault staff in any way. All this for just £30 per night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demelza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location and helpful people. As has been said elsewhere it is good value. I believe it's a 2star AA and on that basis I would say it's notably good for a 2star. The hot breakfast was not cooked to order and I would recommned asking for something that has to be cooked to order - the staff are really heplful. However, had a nice selection of cold stuff for breakfast.
I could use again.

(handy that it has a bus stop just over the road - although it's anly a 5 minute walk into centre of town).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BENGOUGOU, Manager at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUDAPEST
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

it was simply excellent for the price. Great value for money, warm and nice clean rooms, very good choice at breakfast and the best was the hospitality of the owners and staff who were very helpful and professional. I have to go back several times in Southport and would certainly stay there again each time.

Room Tip: if you need anything do not hesitate to ask nothing is too much trouble
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUFIANE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I enjoyed my weekend stay,I've used this hotel on several occasions and will use in many more times. Its always an enjoyable stay can't fault one thing. ,Lovely Hotel, friendly staff and excellent food, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Property: Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Balmoral Lodge Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing