We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of The Braemar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Braemar Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
drighlington west yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Really lovely b & b, friendly hosts Jackie & Eric. Great breaKfast, nice room & sitting room.
Enjoyed the whole experience. It is conveniently located to local attractions, Lord Street etc
with loads of shops & bars etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendynicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at The Braemar Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Thanks for your excellent review.

The Braemar Southport is now under the new management of Carrie-Anne and Michael and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Same high standards and the same home comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
61
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Braemar a few times now. The Accommodation is very clean and comfortable and situated with easy access to local attractions. The Breakfast is one of the Best we have had and served with a smile. Our stay was made complete by the welcome our hosts Jackie and Eric gave us. We would recommend the Braemar to anyone thinking of staying in Southport.

Bryan & Lorraine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at The Braemar Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Thanks for your excellent review.

The Braemar Southport is now under the new management of Carrie-Anne and Michael and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Same high standards and the same home comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My stay at the Braemar again was excellent.
The Room was spacious and cleaned everyday and the owners,Jackie and Eric as ever were welcoming and so nice to stay at their hotel with a family feel and such a pleasant stay.
I would reccomend anyone who is staying in Southport,to see it for yourself and you will be pleasantly surprised.
Jackie and Eric are brilliant host's and have never or will never meet a couple who are dedicated in their work.
It is a convenient hotel close to all that you may need,the shops,station,promenade,theatre,pier,Liverpool being only a 30 min train ride or Manchester,just over an hour and the lovely villages and small towns,located by train within 5-20 mins away,
I look forward to my stay at The Braemar everytime I book and will be there in 2013.
Well done Eric and Jackie on running a superb hotel and see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at The Braemar Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Thanks for your excellent review.

The Braemar Southport is now under the new management of Carrie-Anne and Michael and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Same high standards and the same home comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a lovely couple of days in Southport, and were very impressed by the warmth of Jackie and Eric's hospitality. Also the efforts they made to help us get to know Southport.

The room was spotless, well provided, and well maintained each day.

Room Tip: If you are disabled, the ground floor room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCM861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have been coming to the Braemar several times a year for a number of years now and hope to be doing so for many more years to come as this is a fabulous little place.
Jackie and Eric are great hosts and the Braemar offers very clean,comfortable accommodation that is just a short walk to Lord Street and the seafront and the breakfast at the Braemar is the best I have ever had anywhere.
Tea,coffee and biscuits are provided in the rooms along with satellite t.v.there is also a very comfortable guests lounge with a small honesty bar should you want an alcoholic drink.All in all,a real gem of a place.

Room Tip: Sorry my mistake,there is no fitness centre and I think all the rooms offer great value but I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Jackie and Eric are fantastic hosts and their hospitality was a key ingredient to our wonderful stay in Southport. The rooms were lovely and incredibly comfortable, and Jackie's Full English Breakfast is the perhaps the best in England. The location could not be more perfect. Thank you for an amazing stay, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KELoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Jackie and Eric were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The accomodation was lovely and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb, lots of choice and served on hot plates! Jackie even gave us a free ticket to watch a show at the towns theatre which was amazing! It is also a stones throw from the main shopping area We will definately be staying there again, thankyou Jackie and Eric, we will be back! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#6 of 39 in Southport
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braemar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braemar Hotel

Property: The Braemar Hotel
Address: 4 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of the wonderful seaside resort of Southport, The Braemar Hotel has built its reputation on providing top quality accommodation. Guests return time and time again knowing that this well-run guesthouse offers superb value for money. The rooms are individually designed and beautifully kept and there is a no smoking policy throughout. Eight championship golf courses are practically on the doorstop and you will find shopping galore and a great nightlife in Southport's famous Lord Street just round the corner. Alternatively Manchester or Liverpool are only 75 and 45 minutes away by direct train. The Braemar truly is Southport's Little Gem. Located as close to the centre of town and the promenade as is possible, yet once inside, you find yourself in peace and quiet. A fully equipped guest lounge gives guests a separate space away from the room to catch up on work, TV or the local free newspapers and the lounge also has a round table and four chairs for card games or other table activities. Your hosts Michael and Trish will assist you in making your stay at the Braemar a great one. We are also licensed to sell alcohol. We now have a secure storage room for golf equipment or bicycles, so The Braemar is a great starting point for your adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Braemar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braemar Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing