We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem”
Review of The Braemar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Braemar Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Jackie and Eric are fantastic hosts and their hospitality was a key ingredient to our wonderful stay in Southport. The rooms were lovely and incredibly comfortable, and Jackie's Full English Breakfast is the perhaps the best in England. The location could not be more perfect. Thank you for an amazing stay, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KELoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for The Braemar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Jackie and Eric were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The accomodation was lovely and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was superb, lots of choice and served on hot plates! Jackie even gave us a free ticket to watch a show at the towns theatre which was amazing! It is also a stones throw from the main shopping area We will definately be staying there again, thankyou Jackie and Eric, we will be back! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have been to the Braemar hotel recently and Jackie and Eric are wonderful host's.
I had a week in Southport and they made you so welcome as soon as you turned up and never in my life going on holiday's have I met two people so helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was delicious with a wide range of cereal's and fruit,complemented with a full English breakfast and it was so nice to have host's who would do anything to make your stay so enjoyable.
They would assist in anyway they could from helping you with directions to assisting you in planning your day with things going on in this lovely seaside resort.
The rooms were spotlessly clean,with tea coffee,and light snacks and central to town,pier,promenade,station.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visit's this resort,who like's a friendly guest house and I am booked for the future and will alway's stay at the Braemar.

Keep up the brilliant work Jackie and Eric and see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a great three day stay at thr Braemar. A very comfortable and spotlessly clean room and superb breakfasts (on hot plates !) both mornings. I cannot speak too highly of this delightful guest house and can heartly recommend it to others visiting Southport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 110richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After swiftly leaving the accomodation that we had booked, myself and my young family went in search of somewhere better to stay.

considering it was nearly 5pm, Jackie took us in at extremely short notice, to which we were very grateful.

Jackie could not have been more accomodatiing and did evertyhing she could to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was amazing, even my youngest who is nearly 3 commented that it was delicious!

Both jackie and Eric were brilliant with my children, and this put us all at ease.
when we return to southport for another weekend break, we will definately re-book with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Jackie & Eric are a lovely couple who run an absolutely superb bed and breakfast. The rooms are spacious, modern, clean and relaxing. We received a really warm and friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was absolutely superb with a generous choice of full english and alternatives if required, all deliciously cooked. We had a two night mid-week break for our wedding anniversary and we had a fantastic stay. We would very highly recommend a stay at the Braemar. We have stayed in other guest houses and hotels in Southport in the past, but the Braemar far outshines any of these. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now. It is also in a perfect location, close to the promenade and the famous Lord Street boulevard.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a superb standard.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hednesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Eric and Jackie were the perfect hosts for our long weekend. Both double rooms were lovely and comfortable. Red room could do with the TV mounted above the mirror!!! Jackie contacted us prior to our visit to check that all we had asked for was in place in order to celebrate our daughter's 18th Birthday. My daughter was over whelmed and did not want to leave ( net curtains needed for that room).

we would recommend the Braemar to anyone who needs a little pampering and love of Jesus demonstrated. Thank you Eric and Jackie, we may see you again, if not Southport....in Glory.

Micky, Chantal and Annie

Room Tip: double room facing the street has a nice large bathroom!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braemar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braemar Hotel

Address: 4 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Braemar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braemar Hotel is set in the centre of the seaside resort of Southport and provides top quality accommodation. Guests return time and time again knowing that this well-run guesthouse offers four star standards with home comforts and a welcoming smile. There is a no smoking policy throughout and Free 5G WiFi. The Braemar truly is Southport's Little Gem. Located as close to the centre of town and the promenade as is possible, yet once inside, you find yourself in peace and quiet. A fully equipped guest lounge gives guests a separate space away from the room to catch up on work, TV or the local free newspapers. The lounge also has a round table and four chairs for card games or other table activities. Your hosts Michael and Trish will assist you in making your stay at the Braemar a great one. We are also licensed to sell alcohol. We now have a secure storage room for golf equipment or bicycles, so The Braemar is a great starting point for your adventure. Give us a call today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Braemar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braemar Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing