We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chose this for its great location on the sea front at southport. Good parking. Good restaurant attached but also plenty of eating places, bowling alley, cinema right on the doorstep. A very warm welcome after a long journey from Cornwall. Room nicely presented and on the second night, well stocked again with tea, coffee etc. Well made beds and turned back, towels nicely presented. Complimented housekeeping how nice and welcoming they had made the room.
Would recommend for any visit to Southport and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedqueen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    402
    106
    26
    7
See reviews for
444
529
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Everything you need is here and like all premier inns the key is consistency. Situated on the Marina and opposite a host of chain restaurants and a cinema its great for kids too, There is also a nice bar and Brewers Fayre restaurant on site. All this is fine but if you want decent restaurants there are plenty just a 10 minute stroll into town.The hotel staff could not be more pleasant and they let us check in early. Check out time is not until 12.00 noon so no need to rush when leaving. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are a little bit quieter but noise is not really a problem wherever you are situated.Another added bonus is the free car parking which not all hotels offer and can be a real money saver.

Room Tip: Sea view or town view both are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrlamGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at the PremierInn in Southport and it was a great location - at the retail park on the coast, so it was easy to find and well sign-posted. Parking was also free. As usual, a friendly welcome by the receptionist, though I did think she was a bit overly friendly and asked too many questions. While I appreciated the fundraising efforts for the Great Ormond hospital, perhaps there should be a sign and board with some information at the reception rather than every guest having to listen to the receptionist go through it. The room was a standard PremierInn room and as it was in the retail park, was in close proximity to some food outlets - though there are probably better value options in the town centre. It was another good stay at a PremierInn establishment - I like the curved shower rail in the bathroom so it means the shower curtain doesn't cling to you when you're in the shower. The bath is a bit high, so I have to take care when getting into/ from the bath. Some improvements that can be made: would be god if there was a towel rail in the bathroom so there is somewhere to place handtowels, and also would be good if decaf coffee can be provided! We were able to enjoy a walk on the coast and in town early in the morning before check-out - great location! Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again should the opportunity present itself!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Southport Central Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear that you found us an ideal location for your needs and that you were greeted by a friendly receptionist. It's great to hear that you wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the opportunity presents itself, and then we will look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Regards

Nicola Hodgkinson
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For a weekend away this would be a good choice of hotel, the hotel itself is about 10 mins walk from the city centre/train station situated in a retail park with lots of food options about. Once I turned up I was greeted by 2 very chirpy ladies at reception who were very helpful. The room its self was perfect for my needs my only small issue was the corridor seemed to be a bit... creaky underfoot and typically someone would walk done just as you were nodding off.
The Pub buffet breakfast next door was perfect for a long day ahead also.

Overall a perfect hotel for a couple days away.

Room Tip: Be careful is using Google Maps as it sends you the wrong way...once you cross the bridge you will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Southport Central Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear that we were situated in a good location for your needs, and that you were greeted by two "chirpy" ladies. However I am sorry to hear that there was some noise from floorboards when people passed by, I will address this problem to see what can be done to resolve it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and I will pass your feedback on to the Restaurant manager. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Nicola Hodgkinson
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have stayed at this Premier Inn several times before, staff always friendly, clean rooms and ample parking. Had the breakfast which was' serve yourself ' and as usual was very nice. We had our evening meal next door at Ocean Plaza but on this occasion the meal was poor, we had to return the soup as it was cold, and the main meal wasn't much better ,and slow service. Would definitely stay again , but would look to eat evening meal elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAKEDISTRICTTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A brief stay in Southport to enable my husband to visit his early childhood..school & former home in Ryder Crescent...many years ago!! Also had delightful time catching up with friend who is a Southport resident of some years.
Good cinema too and shopping good.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room facing the Marine lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Can't fault this one. Highlight was receptionist who greeted me on arrival. Good sized rooms, clean, quiet and excellent location right next to the shore, shops, cinema, restaurants and Casino!
If you've never visited Southport then you should. This super little Victorian resort has everything you'd want for a week away....also has great potential to become the UK's Las Vegas. Lots of vacant land next the sands....Atlantic City? Only downside was price of the breakfast at £8.25 each it's a bit of a rip off.

Room Tip: Book early using Premier Inn website for really cheap prices...£29 per night and you can now cancel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoundMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Marine Drive, Southport PR8 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Business Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the sea, close to Marine Lake and the renowned Royal Birkdale Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel Southport
Travel Lodge Southport
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing