We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Quality Establishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Edendale House

Edendale House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edendale House
Ranked #16 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good Quality Establishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here recently whilst attending a conference. The hotel is very clean and the room I had the small non en suite single was extremely comfortable and very good value for the price paid. Everything in the room was modern and very clean. A quite and comfortable hotel in a very pleasant area of Southport just to the North of the town. It is a very short walk into the town, or if you prefer there is a local bus which runs from very nearby, so no car is needed.
Breakfast was delightful, very well cooked and nothing was too much trouble. I particularly liked the honesty fridge on the landing along with the jug of milk for those who dislike the milk packages which pop up in most hotels. I was very happy to stay on another night after my conference to attend to business in Liverpool, easily reached by a high frequency train service, which has very good value fares.
Definitely somewhere I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherN979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
40
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by relatives who had previously stayed there. It was just as they said - clean, comfortable and very welcoming. Breakfast was really good - you could have as little or as much as you wanted to eat and the home made lemon yoghurt is definitely worth a try. Our room was at the front, but it was very quiet and no noise, considering it is very close to the centre of Southport. We were there 3 nights and walked into the centre - not worth paying the parking charges and the car was safe left back at the hotel. Will definitely use again if staying in Southport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller04028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a ten minute walk from the centre in a large house which could almost belong in North Oxford.
I had only booked the cheapest single room and had made my hotel decision based on price. I didn't have high expectations, but they were all exceeded. The room was not big (7 x 10 perhaps) but has pleasant modern furniture in good shape, and a very comfortable single bed. it and the en suite shower room were extremely clean, the towels were soft and nicely folded, and there were generous toiletries. A lovely shower. Tea and coffee tray in the room and an honesty fridge with fresh milk for hot drinks and in expensively priced beer and chocolate on the landing. Fast wifi. There is plenary of parking. I enjoyed the small but beautifully kept garden in front with a small pond full of enormous carp! The house is beautifully quiet. I had a good night's sleep.
John was really welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was tremendous. Quickly produced and really high quality full English breakfast (and kipper etc as options). Nice fresh fruit salad and home made lemon yoghurt etc. Plenty of real coffee in a cafetiere. Colleagues stopped at one of the big hotels in town at twice the price and reported an open tin of basic supermarket coffee provided to serve themselves at the breakfast bar, so I was very impressed.
I was in Southport for a conference. It is a strange place: the beach is huge and desolate (at least with the tide out). There are wide boulevards and substantial brick houses and some pretty parks and well kept public areas. The Victorian pillars and glass awnings of Lord Street are beautiful, but it is sad there are so many charity shops and cheap retailers, and a large concrete retail park between the town and the sea.. I'm not sure I'd come again except for a conference, but I'll certainly make a beeline for the Edendale if I do. If you don't mind being a short walk out of town you'll be really pleased if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: The single en suite I stayed in (room 4) is about ten by seven feet, but has pleasant modern furnitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbenmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is really efficiently run by the owner.
Only there for 1 night. Greeting was friendly and all necessary information provided...maybe too much just as you arrive??
The information available in the room was better than most place, including suggestions by previous residents. The breakfast was good, tasty, plentiful and didn't have to wait ages for it. The honesty fridge is well stocked and good value (I may suggest that they should put their prices up a bit, the prices are on a par with the supermarket prices and you don't have to travel to get them)

A number of people have mentioned the stairs on this website....I found them really useful to get to my room. Seriously guys. a hotel will have stairs in it. It isn't the Ritz, so you ain't getting a lift.

Our room was at the top of the building, may be a bit small if staying for more than a couple of nights. If being picky, the pipework could do with being hidden or disguised.

Room Tip: Staying a while, get a larger room. Our room on the top floor was quite small, fine for a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is one of the cleanest places I have stayed in and excellent value for money. The breakfast was better than I expected, especially the home made yoghurt and fresh fruit salad. Dont let the single bedroom without en-suite put you off as there is a private shaower room opposite. Would return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The breakfast is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

In a very quiet part of town, but still only 10 minutes walk from everything you could need in Southport. A nice clean house with all the facilities you could need. No hassle or mither, was greeted by John, and said goodbye to John when leaving, this was what I came for.

My room was exceptionally clean, and nicely decorated.

Would be happy to go back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Edendale House is a nice B&B just a 10 minute walk to the middle of town. Located in a quiet neighborhood. The triple bedroom is adequate in size with nice furnishings and wall decorations. The bathroom is small and the shower is like a telephone booth but it works. The proprieter serves a wonderful made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bowden Lodge
Bowden Lodge
#4 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edendale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edendale House

Property: Edendale House
Address: 83 Avondale Road North, Southport PR9 0NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edendale House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resident owners, Shirley and John Rose, would like to welcome you to Edendale House which is situated at the northern end of Southport, in a leafy residential area of wide streets, offering peace and tranquillity; where all the houses were built in the Victorian era. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom; there is a large car park and attractive gardens. Shirley and John were thrilled to be awarded a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain for seven years in a row. We offer an Over 60's discount, and for children sharing with two full paying adults.All rooms have a comfortable seating area to relax after a day out, we have an honesty bar for drinks and snacks to enjoy in your room. For our guests comfort and safety this is a no smoking hotel.The dining room is delightfully decorated. Breakfast is served at separate tables. The breakfast menu is quite extensive offering healthy, vegetarian and fish dishes. We have an arrangement with an excellent local restaurant for evening meals.There are eight bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a colour TV, direct dial telephone, free wifi internet connection, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Each room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport's main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. Therefore, business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm welcome at Edendale House where we are proud to offer you warm friendly service in a relaxed comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edendale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edendale House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing