We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy walk”
Review of Edendale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edendale House
Ranked #15 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Edendale House is a nice B&B just a 10 minute walk to the middle of town. Located in a quiet neighborhood. The triple bedroom is adequate in size with nice furnishings and wall decorations. The bathroom is small and the shower is like a telephone booth but it works. The proprieter serves a wonderful made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The spacious rooms are very clean and comfortable. There are all the usual facilities (TV, tea making, etc.) and the chocolates on the bed were a nice touch.

The en suite bathroom had a large bath. My one quibble is about the plumbing. The hot water is VERY hot (John did warn us about this) but it took some time to come. Getting the temperature of the the water from the mixer tap right was a bit of an art. Also you had to turn the basin taps quite a long way before you got any water at all. (Possibly a new washer is required?)

The full English breakfast was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient.

I would definitely stay again if I were visiting Southport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkemdlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was welcomed slightly past the check in time and couldnt have felt more at home. A brief guide around the building to show me where breakfast was served, my room was etc and then I wass away.

The room was clean, comfortable, double glazed, very clean and well stocked with coffee/tea/biscuits/towels a dressing gown, chair and a television. What more could you need!

I'm already trying to think of a reason to visit Southport so I can stay again.

I'd definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

what a fantastic place to stay beds are comfortable warm and clean. you are left alone but if you needed them they were there.the best cup of coffee i have had, breakfasts were lovely but the scrambled eggs were to die for.everything you could need was there

Room Tip: double room 1st floor sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I spent one night at the Edendale. the host was very friendly, easy distance to both the promenade & the shops in lord street.
the breakfast was excellant really good value for money.

Room Tip: front bedroom nice & big & bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from our holiday after having spent two weeks in this house and enjoyed ourselves very much. The House is excellent and the owners are very friendly and eager to please. The breakfasts are excellent with a vast choice of food from cereals to fish to yoghurt to full english breakfast and many others. The service is great and the rooms are clean with fresh towels when needed. Can 't fault it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to stay in a nice cosy atmosphere. Thank you John and Shirley.

Room Tip: There are lot of stairs so if going ask for a room lower down if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClasgowMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you both and would like to say that you were the quietest guests we have ever had.
I know what you are saying about the stairs, but that is the price you pay for the lovely high ceilings.
We hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and we received a warm friendly welcome from John the host. We had a comfortable bed in a nice bright clean room. In the mornings we had a substantial breakfast that was cooked to perfection. The hotel is ideally situated for the town and as a base for touring the local area. A very pleasant, quiet and comfortable hotel where a lot of thought has been given to detail in order to make guests feel completely at home.

Room Tip: Our experience of the double room at the front was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edendale, Owner at Edendale House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edendale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edendale House

Address: 83 Avondale Road North, Southport PR9 0NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edendale House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New resident owners Josie and Ian, would like to welcome you to Edendale House a family run guesthouse. Peace & tranquillity with friendly service. Set in a residential area of wide streets and Victorian houses. One of the very few hotels that can offer an off road parking space for each bedroom. The dining room is delightfully decorated with breakfast served at separate tables. There are six bedrooms situated on the first and second floors. Every room has a TV, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and en-suite facilities. Every room is individually decorated and has its own thermostatically controlled central heating radiator. Edendale House is only a short walk from most of Southport's main visitor attractions, but less than an hour away from Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Preston, Lancaster and the Lakes, prefect for a touring base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edendale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edendale House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing