We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Exactly what we needed for 1 night for 7 people!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Warwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Warwick
Ranked #20 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice and Exactly what we needed for 1 night for 7 people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had 3 rooms, 3 couples and 1 baby - gorgeous baby I mean.....Anyway, John and Sue who run the place are both very nice and friendly. They were happy to accomodate us with our Baby needs, i.e cots, highchairs and even the little details like matching cutlery and plate sets for the little man, very homely and welcoming.
We visit Southport to see family/friends on an annual basis and we will be more than likely staying here again on one condition, that it could be cheaper next time?
Thanks.

Room Tip: From what we have seen, 3 rooms, all of them were good - number 2 had just been done up so it was pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    51
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
74
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Having booked 2 rooms for a family weekend away(3 adults and 1 child) to see the airshow, we were very pleased with the B&B. The both rooms we had were very nice and comfortable, quite spacious with private shower & toilet). There were 4 of us in total and we could have quite easily have fitted all of us in one of the rooms (room 8) altogether if necessary. Sue & John were very friendly and helpful throughout our 2 night stay. The B&B is situated close to the town center and prom and we were very pleased with our stay and will definitely return to The Warwick should we visit Southport again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrexhamEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

A warm welcome from such fine hosts. Lovely clean rooms offering good value for money. Situated in the town centre close to Lord Street and the prom. Breakfast fit for a king. Will definately come back its ten out me ten for me.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I were somewhat alarmed to read two bad reviews before our stay. What a load of collywobble. This small hotel run by Sue and John was an excellent place to stay for our family wedding in a local church. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast second to none. This is a short walk from the main shopping area and an ideal place to stay for both families and couples. There is a large reception room which was a pleasant area to sit in to meet different member of our large clan and Sue and John went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome (even the ones not staying at their hotel). We were flabagasted that tea, coffee and biscuits were served to us in the sitting room whilst our family had a good old chin wag. Please do not let the few negative views on this site put you off booking at this homely, cosy accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The welcome was friendly and breakfast was good. public rooms pleasant.
No instructions were given about how to use the shower.
We were in room 2 and bedroom wall was damaged where it appears that a tv wall bracket (or similar) had pulled away and had not been repaired.
The en-suite hand wash basin was badly cracked and therefore unhygienic.
The en-suite extractor fan was filthy.
Good thing Southport and the good weather took our mind off it all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewarwick, Owner at The Warwick, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Sue and I do take exception to your comments, although you are entitled to your view. You were booked in by your farther who was staying at the Ramarda and i guess you were disappointed at staying at a Guesthouse. You arrived early afternoon so if you were not happy with the room we could have changed your room but you said nothing, you had been in and out several times waiting your son to come visit , at no point did you ask about how to use anything in thing in the room in fact when your son and his wife arrived with your other guests who were not staying with us we provided tea and coffee for you all free of charge, you had the opportunity to make a request for a change of room or addressing the other points and at no time then or over the weekend did mention anything. Yes maintenance has to be done and if things are in a unhygienic or unsafe manner they are corrected asap. You were told that if you needed any information or if we can help in anyway to just ask as we do with all our guests .
But as you can see from the vast majority of comments yours is certainly a minority one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

The outside appearance of being well maintained did not reflect the tatty,unmodernised and unclean condition of our room.The bathroom in particular was well below acceptable standards for the cost of a stay. For example the hand basin was severely cracked, the shower curtain and rail were broken and the door to the bathroom could not open to its full extent as it was blocked by the bed.

We were so dissappointed by the room that we could not wait to get away the next morning. We find it hard to believe that the other reviewers could have been staying in the same place as we did.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JTPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewarwick, Owner at The Warwick, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
I feel disappointed that you felt that you had to write such comments, you are however entitled to your view. At no time did you ever come and us and ask if there was another room as you did not wish to stay in that one, or indeed pass comment on anything that was not to your standard. We admit that the sink did have a crack in it but was still hygienic and clean. The door does in fact open back past the bed to allow you to pass.
We all have expectations when we stay anywhere, if things are not as they should be it is only right that you give the owners the opportunity to correct then if possible, if having done so it is not addressed then such comments may be justified. It is in the owners interest after all to do all that is possible to meet the aspirations of their guests.
On price you did however stay only one night and were not charge the Family or Twin room rate only the cost for a double. `which may i add was only decorated the year before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We rung up a few days previous and they managed to sort us a room out as we were visiting the resort last minute. John and Sue were very friendly and welcoming and are a very pleasant couple.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the rooms were gorgeous, well presented and had everything in it to cater for our needs.
what most impressed us was the Breakfast menu and what was on to offer and the standard of service throughout our stay was exceptional they couldn't do enough for us.
we will definatly be returning without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizz187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick

Property: The Warwick
Address: 39 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John & Sue welcome you to their 4 Star Guest Accommodation located in the center of Southport. Runner up of the Southport Ambassador Awards for 2012 & 2013 & 2014. We are regularly updating rooms,Most bedrooms have been recently decorated with new soft furnishings along with new decor for your comfort. We have electronic proximity door locks throughout. The property has 10 bedrooms on and covers 3 floors.Centrally located and only minutes from Lord Street, the lakeside promenades and Southport Theatre and Conference Centre. As well as a numerous of restaurants, cafes, shops and bars. Sue & and John pride themselves on their customer service and their breakfast that has achieved the Visit Britain Breakfast Award every year since 2010 when it was introduced. Please do give them a ring and see what they can offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Southport
Southport Warwick
The Warwick Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing