We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra & Victoria
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with family, old and young. Allocated 2 rooms one family room on top floor. Very big with kitchenette area , microwave etc VERY handy.
Bathroom very big, everything clean, bright white big towels. Second room a four poster with a jacuzzi bath again all clean.
Overlooking seafront/pier etc.

Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble.Told us to ask if needed anything and they were right.
Breakfast lovely, good options, could not fault it AT ALL.

Would stay here again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    115
    102
    78
    107
See reviews for
61
246
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Definately not 4 star, room ground floor over car park,7am someone left engine running for 5 minutes . Outside our window , people stood smoking not very private at all .En suite very small could hardly turn round . Had to get own toast that's ok but it was cold before scrambled egg arrived to go with it . Someone please reassess this hotel not right that people should think it 4 star .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not a 4 star very shabby room, needs updating, but lovely staff, good breakfast, but overpriced rooms, good location right by the shops, pier etc, tired looking but okfor the one night, wouldn't like to stay longer though

Room Tip: Not a 4 star very shabby room, needs updating, but lovely staff, good breakfast, but overpriced room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from staying in what we paid for as a standard double room (Room No. 2). We arrived early and knew the room should of only been available at 2 , however the very pleasant ladies on reception checked and our room was ready and were shown to it immediately. I was very impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room. Our room was on the ground floor and we could see out to the promenade. The bed was a king size with very crisp white sheets ! and very comfortable. We had enough clean towels for the length of our stay the bathroom was small but adequate and very clean. The kitchenette was a bonus and didn't look out of place at all. Complete with kettle , crockery , cutlery, sink , microwave and fridge ! The soft furnishing all matched. I cannot fault this hotel at all and would definately book again should we find the need to stay over in Southport again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cksthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with 4 grandchildren ages 11,9,7 and 3. We were shown to a suite on the top floor. It had 3 beds in one room for the boys and they had plenty of room. The large bathroom was in the middle and then the third room was a lounge/bedroom with a large flat screen TV where my granddaughter and I slept. They loved it............
The breakfast was really nice with a choice and catered for different appetites.
Free parking and as we were very central for everything didn't move the car till going home.
Why people have complained I will never know.......what do they want??I will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our room was a very shabby double room. We may sound it but we are open minded people and not overlly fussy but this is our worst Hotel experience. The double bed was two twin beds pushed together ok but the mattresses very very cheap & basic, furnishings very dated shame the money spent on IKEA kitchenette wasn't spent on upgrading the room. Our room connected the hotel laundry room by thin wooden door!! as you can imagine a lot of laundry in a hotel, when the commercial dryers were still running past midnight (you can imagine the thudding noise of heavy laundry going round the machines), my Husband eventually by 1am after we tried to find a member of staff but to no avail went into the laundry room and switched them all off so that we could sleep. The bathroom was the smallest we have ever seen all very dated the plastic shower was virtually unusable it was so very narrow we could not face using it! and we are both slim people, this also very much spoilt our stay. The food great but room dreadful and would deffinately not stay again. Went home to get a shower :-(

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the four poster bedroom the one shown on the website much better (the window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Never a 4 star hotel, barely a B&B. Room minute and boiling hot with nil ventilation. Shower uncontrollable, toilet seat loose, TV a joke. Woken up repeatedly by pipes vibrating loudly whenever someone ran a tap or flushed a toilet. Breakfast greasy and waitress got our order wrong but apparently our fault. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra & Victoria

Property: Alexandra & Victoria
Address: 38 Promenade, Southport PR8 1QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra & Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Southport’s promenade and just 0.5 miles from the beach, this Victorian hotel is surrounded by bars, shops and night life. It provides free parking, and the on-site restaurant offers a creative menu. Lord Street’s shops and gardens are just 5 minutes’ walk from the Albert & Victoria Hotel. Southport’s Pleasureland is a 10-minute walk, whilst the hotel is within a 5-minute drive of 4 golf clubs. Boasting free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a DVD player, each individually styled room also has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Some rooms also include basic kitchen facilities for self-catering. Set in a modern conservatory, the Dining Rooms restaurant serves British dishes, a full English breakfast and a wide selection of drinks. Southport Rail Station is less than a 10-minute walk away and provides 45-minute rail connections to Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra & Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra And Victoria
Alexandra Victoria Hotel Southport
Alexandra & Victoria Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing