We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house with great energy that feels...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Somerville
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Southport, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ATGrazian...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house with great energy that feels homely yet luxurious.”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great house, relaxed yet luxurious. Big garden - perfect for our dog. Open kitchen diner and snug was so comfy and very well equipped. Bathrooms were splendid with super soft towels. Beds were fantastic - huge, comfy and with silky soft bed linen. Thank you Peter - you are a joy and this is reflected in your home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay.!
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joeroyle
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic house and the owner Peter was lovely.”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was just perfect. The house was immaculate and if you wanted a place to relax it was fabulous. It had a lovely old fashioned lounge which we didn't use as we took our two year old grandson. We used the three main bedrooms which were a delight to sleep in. The beds were very very comfy. The two doubles had plenty of space and the third which had the en suite was just perfect. The main bathroom was used by my two daughters and it was like being in a spa! The bath was huge. Always enough hot water whatever time of day. The kitchen had everything you needed including Sky which proved to be a bonus when the Olympics were on! The garden was lovely and had everything. Lots of room to spread out and relax in the sun. Would defiantly recommend. We had a fantastic time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you ,
I'm delighted you enjoyed the house and your stay was a pleasure .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granners4...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Class Place”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Somerville for 3 nights a few days ago and were extremely happy with the rental.The house is a large extended semi beautifully furnished with a lovely lawnwd area at the side to sit out in.There are 3 double rooms and a single all of which are very comfortable.We dined in 2 out of the 3 nights and the kitchen has everything you may need.The weather was terrific and added to the pleasure but we may well get in touch about another stay next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of the furnishings
Liked least: The nearest restaurants are a 10 minute walk away
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you.
I'm very happy you're stay was enjoyable hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
HK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday home, excellent location”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Somerville for a few days to catch up with family living nearby.
Peter gave us a very warm welcome on arrival including a very welcome cup of tea after a long car journey.
The house is extremely homely, furnished and decorated to a very high standard. The beds are very comfortable. We were able to enjoy sitting out in the well kept garden each afternoon.
The house is very close to Lord Street and a short drive to the lovely beach at Ainsdale.

We thoroughly recommend this property and hope to visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accommodation and location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthHarri...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at this wonderful house. Arriving on Sunday we were met by our host Peter to be shown round the accommodation and ensure we had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble.

The house is extended with plenty of room for everyone. The bedrooms are sumptuous and spacious with high ceilings, the bathrooms immaculate and the kitchen/diner with the tv area is great for relaxing and spending time with family and friends. The pictures do not do the accommodation justice at all! There is also parking for 3 cars on the drive but also plenty of on street parking.

The garden area also has seating if you are lucky enough with the weather to sit out.

This is the perfect base for golfing parties too with the many courses on the doorstep. Also an easy walk to many shops, bars, great restaurants and seaside attractions. There are also 2 great takeaways across the street at very affordable prices.

Thank you Peter for making us welcome in your beautiful home. See you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all lovely but the bedrooms were amazing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you.
I'm so pleased your stay was enjoyable. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valdereeS...
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Seven of us fitted happily into this luxuriously appointed house. The beds were very comfortable and the living area roomy for us all. We did not use the formal sitting room but appreciated its furnishings, as we did the art and artefacts around the house.The bathrooms are excellent and the kitchen has all you could need. It was a short walk to the railway station and the centre of town. There was parking for three cars in the drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joc693
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place for a gathering of old friends”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Somerville for a few days as a group of seven, to celebrate 40 years of friendship. We all met in the autumn of 1974 when four of us were on a post-grad teacher training course at Edge Hill (now Edge Hill University).
The house was perfect for us - three comfortable double rooms and a single, huge kitchen/diner/tv room, two bathrooms plus a downstairs loo and a very elegant (and huge) sitting room, which we didn't even use as we were so comfortable in the kitchen.
Because Peter, the owner, lives here when he's not renting, it was beautifully equipped with absolutely everything we could possibly need - including a Rangemaster cooker.
Peter was a lovely host, with plenty of recommendations for where (and where not) to eat/drink/get fish and chips etc.
We couldn't have been happier with this house - delightful in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing