We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Metro
Ranked #11 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Been visiting this bar for about a year now,lovely outside terrace for a hot sunny day,food is extremely nice and they serve a nice pint of San Miguel.All in all a very pleasant experience and a great place to take a group of friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    57
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
53
144
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in jan with the portland spa day the next day. Our room had been upgraded by the manager amanda after she had remembered me from my last stay, thank you. We had a fantastic 3 course meal in the evening and again the food was excellent as was the service. I cannot fault this little gem in southport we will be visiting again, soon I hope.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Helpful, comfortable and relaxed. A great stay at a hotel that wants to assist it customers to have a perfect and enjoyable break. What I really liked was the teams response to satisfy the odd request to help with the little things.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan...UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Will start by saying we had booked in to the Dukes Folly but on arrival we were informed building work had ran over so they had booked us into the Metro. We were a little apprehensive at first as we like the Folly and didn't know the Metro, however our fears where soon allayed. The Metro is lovely clean fresh and well finished off. Staff all fantastic with a special mention to the young girl who served the fantastic breakfast. Will be returning and it looks like the Folly may have lost us for good...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel which was included in our Spa weekend at the nearby Portland Hall.
Very warm and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Had a great nights sleep. Couldn't fault it.
Cooked breakfast was yummy,plus they went out of their way to cook it as we came down after breakfast was officially finished.
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 3 and 4 both lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on January 3rd. Very nice, modern, clean and friendly. Breakfast very good, although the person serving didn't seemed to be happy to serve. Overall a very nice hotel and would recommend anyone to stay their

Room Tip: Parking could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have been to The Metro twice now and on both occasions have been met with a warmth and friendliness from the staff. In particular Alan and Emily who made us feel very welcome from the start. We have a young daughter and they couldn't do enough for us with high chair etc. They weren't over the top or forceful, just very down to earth and hospitable.

The place itself is very clean and modern with a lovely open fire. Apparently it is undergoing a bit of redecorating as I write this review.

Anyway, if you want a friendly, warm atmosphere, pop in here for a bite to eat and a drink - the food is really good and well worth the money.

Great experience and would definitely return .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro

Property: The Metro
Address: 3 Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away at the trendy corner of King Street and Portland Street, just a stone’s throw from Lord Street, is Southport’s newest and most stylish place to eat, drink and sleep. Our Staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. First class service in superb surroundings, combined with outstanding food, is of the upmost importance to us. Whether you visit us for a drink, for dinner or to stay in the hotel, our aim is to WOW you. Visit The Metro to experience it for yourself, we promise you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metro Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing