We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Southport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Metro
Ranked #9 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunny Southport”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Helpful, comfortable and relaxed. A great stay at a hotel that wants to assist it customers to have a perfect and enjoyable break. What I really liked was the teams response to satisfy the odd request to help with the little things.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    58
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
54
145
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan...UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Will start by saying we had booked in to the Dukes Folly but on arrival we were informed building work had ran over so they had booked us into the Metro. We were a little apprehensive at first as we like the Folly and didn't know the Metro, however our fears where soon allayed. The Metro is lovely clean fresh and well finished off. Staff all fantastic with a special mention to the young girl who served the fantastic breakfast. Will be returning and it looks like the Folly may have lost us for good...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel which was included in our Spa weekend at the nearby Portland Hall.
Very warm and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Had a great nights sleep. Couldn't fault it.
Cooked breakfast was yummy,plus they went out of their way to cook it as we came down after breakfast was officially finished.
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 3 and 4 both lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on January 3rd. Very nice, modern, clean and friendly. Breakfast very good, although the person serving didn't seemed to be happy to serve. Overall a very nice hotel and would recommend anyone to stay their

Room Tip: Parking could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have been to The Metro twice now and on both occasions have been met with a warmth and friendliness from the staff. In particular Alan and Emily who made us feel very welcome from the start. We have a young daughter and they couldn't do enough for us with high chair etc. They weren't over the top or forceful, just very down to earth and hospitable.

The place itself is very clean and modern with a lovely open fire. Apparently it is undergoing a bit of redecorating as I write this review.

Anyway, if you want a friendly, warm atmosphere, pop in here for a bite to eat and a drink - the food is really good and well worth the money.

Great experience and would definitely return .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boofbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Metro Hotel in Southport is an excellent small hotel with friendly and helpful staff who make guests feel immediately at ease. My partner and I stayed after a visit to nearby Portland Hall Spa - an indulgent but inexpensive New Year package, and we had all the comfort we needed to chill out after our spa treatments.
Accommodation is great - clean, well presented and exceedingly comfortable.
The breakfast was particularly good - fresh produce cooked to order. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisegirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A warm friendly atmosphere, welcoming with great food, fabulous staff, a great all rounder. Definitely recommend a visit to anyone for a meal, drink or a night over. The owners are so welcoming. The staff are above the norm. A fantastic experience. They are different as the clearly care about their customers and what they want

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro

Property: The Metro
Address: 3 Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away at the trendy corner of King Street and Portland Street, just a stone’s throw from Lord Street, is Southport’s newest and most stylish place to eat, drink and sleep. Our Staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. First class service in superb surroundings, combined with outstanding food, is of the upmost importance to us. Whether you visit us for a drink, for dinner or to stay in the hotel, our aim is to WOW you. Visit The Metro to experience it for yourself, we promise you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metro Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing