We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Metro

The Metro
Ranked #68 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very good lunch menu, well presented in pleasant surroundings.Good value and pleasantly served. Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch and plan to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAM13972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESLEY H, Owner at The Metro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your lunch - I hope you will come back and try our meals in the evening too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    46
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic food and service! Would recommend this to anyone who are looking for a restaurant with class, staff are extremely attentive and polite. Will certainly be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESLEY H, Manager at The Metro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow - thank you so much. We do try our hardest to ensure that everything is perfect for our customers. We very much look forward to you return visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The metro = lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been for something to eat there early this evening and just had to post a positive review. What a lovely place, the staff are friendly and seem to really care about their customers. I had the tiger prawn linguine whilst my husband had the metro burger. Both meals were plentiful, cooked to perfection and quite simply delicious. To finish we had the strawberry and amaretto Eton mess oh my word that was to die for. We will most definitely be going back the next time we are in Southport and will also be looking out for other Metro's on our travels. Well done to the staff and owners you surpassed yourselves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netwiddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESLEY H, Manager at The Metro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Fantastic review - thank you so much. We really do appreciate your comments and we're so glad you love the food. We look forward to your return visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bon appetit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have already highly recommended and reviewed this place under the hotel section how ever the same applies for the restaurant, lovely food, service with a smile, owners are lovely and always approaching us asking how we are, would definitely recommend and most certainly will be going back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESLEY H, Manager at The Metro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments - it's always so encouraging for the staff to see these lovely reviews - it makes it all worthwhile. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous outside area and modern inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely to sit outside listening to fountain.Great coffee. Beautiful inside. A cut above the rest. Very new and tastefully done. Service was a bit slow at first but I expect it has improved. Will certainly go again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LESLEY H, Owner at The Metro, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we'll take your comments on board and try to get our skates on. We hope you'll come back and we can show you how much we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metro also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing