We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vale House
Ranked #3 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well what can we say! The Vale house is a must! The hosts are very welcoming and the room looks exactly as it does on line, very clean and well appointed. Vale house really is five star accommodation and very reasonably priced. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many Thanks for your review - look forward to you returning , now you've found us !
Glad you enjoyed Vale House and appreciate the 5 star reference - we are doing our best to provide quality accomodation at a competitive price
Cheers
Jayne & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
140
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed at Vale House, as we had a wedding close by to attend. We chose this B&B due to it's location, pretty much in the center of town. Also the fact that there was free onsite parking which is rare in Southport.
From the moment we were greeted by the owner Vale House did not disappoint. The Burton Suite was huge with a large bedroom, separate sleeping area and extremely spacious bathroom.
There was everything you could ask for, comfortable bed, powerful shower, complimentary water and lovely chocolate biscuits waiting for us.
I had forgotten to bring cotton wool and there was some in the bathroom which was great. The stand alone bath in the bathroom looked so inviting and it's just a shame I didn't get chance to try it out.
Breakfast was great too. There was white and brown bread, danish, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, juice and a hot menu. We had a full cooked breakfast, cooked fresh and it was excellent.
The owners chatted to us over breakfast which was really nice and gave it a more personal touch.
This place is a real gem. So much thought, love and hard work has gone into every detail of Vale House and I would urge anyone to stay here over a soulless chain any day.
My only negative is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the Burton Suite, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Around the world in 80 days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your lovely detailed review.You describe our facilities better than we can ourselves.Hopefully we will see you again and you have time to use the bath !
As you say we have tried to offer quality accomodation , without the boutique price tag.
Your comments make all the effort wortwhile
Many Thanks again
Jayne & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very friendly and warm welcome from the host. The room/suite I had was spotless and very well decorated and furnished. I didn't think it could be improved but as I was leaving the decorator was visiting to 'improve' the decor! Not really needed I think.

Breakfast was flexible and good quality and lovely breakfast room.

very well recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your review-much appreciated.The decorator has been and put up some lovely wallpaper ! Although not needed - I'm trying to improve the quality of Vale House all the time.
I don't want to rest on my laurels and want to try to make improvements all the time.
Cheers
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent two very enjoyable nights at this Bed and Breakfast. The personal touch of the owners have made this 3 bedroom accommodation comparable to a 5 Starr hotel. Every care has been taken to provide quality from decoration to furniture and breakfast. We will have no hesitation to re visit here. Location is perfect with the property situated on a quiet side road with on site parking for guests but within 5 min walk to Lord Street and the front.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks ever so much for you great review.Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Jayne & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found Vale House on trip advisor and booked due to the good reviews and our usual Hotel was closed for the winter. Lovely room and Steve very friendly.... fantastic value as well only £65 on sat night would certainly return and will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamggm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Manager at Vale House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind review.Glad you enjoyed your stay - a change is as good as a rest !
Hopefully we will get a chance to see you again.
Cheers
Jayne & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was previous reviews for Vale House which made us want to stay, and once we had seen the photos of the Burton Suite we were really excited, although a little worried that it wouldn't live up to our expectations.
I am delighted to say that it was all we hoped and more. The room was beautifully dressed and spacious, the lounge area was handy for relaxing and pre dinner drinks! The bathroom was absolute luxury and I am so disappointed I didn't get time to have a dip in the tub.
The location is excellent, near to many shops, bars and restaurants.
We will be back!

Room Tip: The Burton Suite is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks ever so much for taking the time to do your lovely review.We like your boutique description ! We haven't applied for a star rating etc but have tried to make everything of a high quality but at a reasonable price - our aim is to get reviews like yours rather than a few stars ! !
Thanks again
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Burton Suite in February and were amazed at how gorgeous it was. It was every thing we wanted... quiet, clean and very friendly. We didn't end up going out, it was that nice!

Jayne & Steve are the perfect hosts. Thank you both for a lovely experience. The breakfast and chat this morning just topped it off for us. We will be back and will highly recommend to anyone... Who will listen!!! :)

Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachNSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne_SteveL, Owner at Vale House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks Rachel & Steph - we enjoyed our chat too !
Really appreciate you taking the time to do a review - especially your kind comments on the Burton suite - you are the first to stay in because you loved it so much !!!
Hope to see you both really soon
Cheers
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Metro
The Metro
#9 of 40 in Southport
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale House

Property: Vale House
Address: 16 Talbot Street, Southport PR8 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 3 bedroom Bed & Breakfast in the centre of Southport.Opened July 2012 - a refurbished Victorian residence to a high standard.Our signature room is the Burton Suite - a double room with the added bonus of a seperate seating lounge and a private full-sized family bathroom (with a bath and seperate shower plus his & her's sinks ).There are also 2 twin rooms with shower ensuites.We offer a traditional English breakfast plus a selection of cereals / fresh fruit / yoghurts / pastries - plus tea / coffee /fruit juice.We look forward to meeting you at Vale House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing