We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nybody who lives within walking distance of this beautiful park are so lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nybody who lives within walking distance of this beautiful park are so lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Botanical gardens in Churchtown Southport is a lovely place for families and couples alike. I lived within 2 minutes walk years ago. Nothing close to me compares to this place. The gardens are well kept. There is a history of Southport, animals for children, a little lake. There was a school close by so I went everyday. My husband is a Londoner and even he was charmed by this little gem.

It is disappointing that some people don't rate it but each to there own. I think it is wonderful. I heard Sefteon Council tried to spoil it but since Southport came under theirt jurisdiction I am not surprised. Lol I lived in the same street as one of them and hope this person stuck up for the gardens as he used to go there too.

As an adult I still enjoy my visits there. The local people are lucky to have it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gilly_carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    151
    53
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Since we have moved literally down the road from here I find myself walking here regularly. What makes it so special is the amount on offer here. I particularly like the bird and small pets section. Oh try and visit the inside building with the tropical plants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimSouthportUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Use it before you lose it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Botanic (not Botanical) Gardens is an absolute gem, and is still just about managing despite Sefton Council's attempts to butcher it, thanks largely to a volunteer group who have been sorting out the water flow from/to the lake, and repairing benches. It would be great if boats could re-appear on the lake in the summer, but it will need to be organised privately because there's no chance of any local authority input

The cafe is open all year round now, so the gardens are great to have a walk round at any time of year.

Get yourselves down there and soak up some history!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2 hours free bucollic escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a treasure - a local authority park essentially with loads of
extras to enjoy for adults and children. Lake, flower displays, hot house, aviary, victorian landscaped park and a quaint cafe/tea room. Free Parking nearby and adjacent to bus routes.

!0 mins travel by car from centre of Southport

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank centralheatking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Love a walk here - in the summer nice range of ice-creams and in the winter a cosy conservatory for a hot drink. Food isn't at all bad and all in all would recommend a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing