We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What can I say? My third visit, spread over the last 4 years, as one of a party of 4 golfers, with a room each. Simply as good as ever. Paula and Trina do everything just right - immaculately clean rooms, fresh linen, small things like good toiletries and chocolate bars with the tea and coffee tray, topped off with beautifully presented breakfasts (a wide choice) with unlimited cafetieres of fresh coffee. Very handy for walking to a good real ale pub ("The Guest House") and many restaurants.
Deservedly number one.

Room Tip: As far as I know they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BVMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
96
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just completed a 3-night stay at the end of an 8-day golf trip. Paul and Trina were warm and gracious hosts during our visit. They assisted with helpful restaurant recommendations, and Trina was ready with a perfect suggestion when she learened that one member of our group wanted to shop in Southport for a unique gift for his wife's birthday. The hotel is beautifully decorated and conveniently located within walking distance of several nice restaurants on or near Lord Street. My room on the third floor was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and elegantly presented. I felt as if I were staying with good friends who were attentive to my relaxation and enjoyment, and I could not imagine considering staying anywhere else in Southport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DougG1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first time to Waterford, we booked and paid extra for lake view with bay window,which was worth the extra IMO. Room 2
Place lovely and clean other reviews have said it all really.
Free bottles of water in the fridge and replenished when needed plenty of Tea/Coffee and biscuits mini chedders etc, nothing more to say really because it's all been said.
If we go to Southport again then it will be the Waterford for us to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finney19903008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely location. Comfortable beds. Kind, thoughtful, and efficient service. As a travel agent I would endorse this property and its owners for my family and clients. Paul and Trina are terrific.

5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the Waterford Hotel and we would definitely book again if and when we return to Southport. The service provided by Trina and Paul was excellent throughout our stay. Our rooms were very clean, with everything you need to hand. The breakfasts were just wonderful and I have never seen anybody take so much care over the presentation of a grapefruit! My brother and sister are seasoned travellers from abroad and they were both very pleased with the hotel and the service. Trina and Paul make you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive and they find time to talk with you and help you with any queries. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location near to the Southport amenities. Very clean and nicely presented throughout. There is a nice bar and the breakfast is super. The host is very hospitable and its on my list of top B & B's.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor to save extra stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really lovely place. The owner was really nice and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is from
8 and because he knew we were going up to the lakes after asked if we needed an earlier breakfast. The breakfast was really good and presented very well. We would definately go back if we visited Southport again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Property: Waterford Hotel
Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing