We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly place to stay.”
Review of Waterford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

we agree with all the other reviews, the hospitality in this hotel is excellent,it's close to the station ,bars restaurants and of course the famous Lord St. we were made to feel very welcome and at home, our room was large and so very comfy, We celebrated my husbands "big BIrthday" there which did not go un-noticed we came in at night to find a super cake in the fridge with candles napkins,all for us to enjoy.
Unfortunately we had to cut our break short due to family illness,but hope to visit again to complete our weekend. we will be telling others of this,and of the hospitality we received, well done Trina & Paul we do hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Waterford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

I took a small group of customers to play some of the best courses on the west coast and also have a day at the Open golf championship. The hotel was recommended to me and a very good recommendation it was! Paul and Trina are excellent hosts, all of Paul's recommendations for restaurants, pubs and even directions to and from our excursions were top!
The rooms are finished to a high standard and the choice for breakfast is impressive but you cannot beat the "full english", thanks Trina.
Friendly and professionaly run, I highly recommend it.
Golf Academy Gary Foster.
www.garyfoster.at

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights July10th - 14th inc.We were met by Paul with a warm welcome, a cup of tea and slice of cake too!
The room was a good size, very clean and the bed comfortable.
Paul gave us very useful information regarding local restaurants and directions to the local golf club.
Our breakfasts were brilliant, cooked to perfection and served by Paul with great efficiency.
Nothing was too much trouble - even stored our golf clubs so that we did not have to risk leaving them on show in the back of the car.

Room Tip: Telephone in advance and ask for guidance if you have any mobility problems. Our room was on the fir...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Booked this last minute for 1/6- 3/6, and after reading reviews though we would give it a go,,,thank god we did absolutely surpassed all our expectations! Lovely welcome , easy check in , beautifully spotless room....nothing is too much trouble.
Paul recommended where to go the evening we arrived , and on our return chatted in the bar area (also superb) with Paul and Trina.And an older couple that had visited numerous times.
Excellently located to see all Southport.
And the breakfast really was 1st class and something else, the presentation was beautiful as was the service. Total professionally run top class small hotel. We will have no hesitation in recommending The Waterford to any of our family members and friends , knowing full well there could not be any complaints.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jubby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My partner and myself stayed two nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners were very welcoming and the food very good. The room was spotless and very comfortable with a large bed and plenty of room space and a lovely bathroom. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doteccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It was great to stay at the Waterford Hotel again, my thanks to the owners, Paul and Trina for a lovely couple of days in Southport recently. Definitely the best place to stay. See you again in a couple of weeks time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiziM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My first trip to Southport and lucky enough to pick the Waterford to stay at. The hosts could not be more welcoming and helpful and every aspect of this small private hotel is excellent from the spotless bedroom and en-suite to the breakfast which was as good as I have ever had anywhere. If Southport ever beckons again then I shall certainly try to stay at the Waterford.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Hotel

Address: 37 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Business Hotel in Southport
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian villa. Open aspect with stunning Lake views. Free off road parking. Free fast wifi. Professionally run by chef proprietor. Multiple award winning. Not available to book online. Sorry no children or pets. Please ring us to discuss your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterford Hotel Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing