We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned elegance”

Westminster Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Old fashioned elegance”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we visit Southport we always have a meal here. I love the old fashioned atmosphere and service. The food is great too and reasonably priced. I have amen friends here from Canada and Australia and all loved it. Al Bowley singing in the background "proper tea" and tea services. Lovely.

Helpful?
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    84
    27
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best tea room in the north west.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the best tea room we have found in the north west and beleive me we have tried most.
We have been visiting this great tea room for a number of years now. We try to go every week if we can. Every time we visit is just as special as the last. We have tried most things on the menu and I can honestly say we have never had a meal snack or cream tea that was not fantastic. The tea room itself is not very large but this makes it feel more welcoming and cosy. The place is always clean and the staff always friendly not at all snooty or uppity. They always go out of their way to make each visit special for everyone. The food is always good quality and presentation is always outstanding. Some people have said it is expensive but you get what you pay for. If you want quality then this place is for you and if you want cheep there is plenty average places you could go to instead. We hope to be making a visit at the end of this week, mmmmm I can almost taste the garlic mushrooms.

Jane and Brian from Appley Bridge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expensive and snooty atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked in, then walked out. We planned to go here for some tea and cakes etc. but the items on the menu were so expensive and the waiting staff were so uppity, we decided to leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilsbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Westminster Tea Room Southport”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I thought I would treat my mum to an afternoon tea as a pre-Christmas surprise.

Where do I start....the first table we were offered had not been cleared and when we moved to another table we found that the table cloths were badly stained and worn. We moved again to another table which was marginally better. Although the staff were pleasant enough to customers they were constantly complaining about the owner, which actually made me feel sorry for them but didn't make for a relaxing experience. When the afternoon tea arrived it wasn't of good quality, the scones were shop bought and the tea wasn't loose leaf. Worst of all the sandwiches didn't feel as fresh as they should have.

The Westminster is probably no worse than the average Southport Cafe but charges far more for the privilage.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tizwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first trip to the Westminster and was so pleased that we visited during December as the tearoom was decorated for Christmas. We chose the full English with tea (loose leaf, no tea bags here!). All the ingredients were of a good quality, we particularly liked the sausage and bacon. Staff were friendly and attentive. Total cost of £21.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank _zeenaandme_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westminster Tea Rooms also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Westminster Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing