We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice Cafe overlooking Lord street”

Nostalgia Tea Rooms
Ranked #5 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice Cafe overlooking Lord street”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a table in the corner window which had a view onto Lord Street. The café had quaint tables and a staff in very smart uniforms to match, the staff were very pleasant and efficient. and our order was with us very quickly. We had a cuppa and a fruit flan which was well presented and it had been made that day.

The Café is very pleasant and well situated but not suitable for either a Wheelchair or a person who has difficulty with steps

This was our first visit to Nostalgia Tea rooms and we would recommend it to both friends and family. It is the best café in Southport and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Australs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    60
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well worth a visit. Good value for money. try a cream tea excellent. very friendly, clean & welcoming

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank debgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tea rooms was nice, a bit tired in decor but food was so lovely, and the waitresses were quite quick and attentive... well worth avisit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Could do better.....”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Joined the growing throng of having afternoon tea. After climbing an Everest of stairs we were presented with a clean and tidy room. Service was brisk and efficient. We ordered cream teas. It came with Pot of tea for two, 2 Scones, butter, jam and cream.

Disappointing to note that the scones were turning stale. That could have been because we were at the end of the day but still no excuse. They also disappointed in using "squirty" cream and not fresh whipped cream..

The toilets could be better.

This is NOT the place to visit if you are disabled or have walking issues due to the stairs issue to gain entry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LachieMhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tea for two”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My parner and I were visiting Southport, we had seen The nostalgia tearooms on trip advisor and as it had good reviews we decided to pay it a visit. The positive reviews were well earned. We were greeted by a friendly waitress who told us to sit where we wished, so we chose a table by the window overlooking Lord Street. We decided to have a sandwhich each and cream scone. The sandwiches were very fresh and the fillings both lovely and full. The scones were warm and delicious. If you are looking for a traditional tea which is quality and value for money I would highly recommend this resteraunt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgia Tea Rooms also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Nostalgia Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing