We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed June 12, 2013

stayed here on tues 11th june without realising that a local nightclub has a late licience on tuesdays till 3 a.m. blasting music out , and i mean loud. didnt get to sleep till 3.30 when all had died down. phoned reception who said they would log the complaint but could not do anything .thought they would have given us a room on other side of hotel as they clearly knew of this problem..rooms are very hot as there is no air-con.carpets dirty and dated. hotel would look ok in 1970,s but not now. also shower area was not clean ,had a black mould along it. avoid at all costs..

Room Tip: need a room on lord st side to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Its possibly the worst hotel in the country AVOID.
We stayed at this hotel on Friday and Saturday night,
We arrived to a reception desk unmanned and some rude lady on a computer asking us what we were doing... a bad start got worse, a photocopied key card didn't shout out national hotel chain but family b&b, the corridors were grubby and smelt of the consumed alcohol the night before, our room... the main bed was awful and needs condemning. It looked 50 years old and was coloured fag ash yellow. The bedding was dirty, covered in various stains. The wardrobe was hanging of the wall and had a handle missing, the TV didn't work properly, the kettle boiled automaticly every 10 mins the carpet was a multitude of stains, the bathroom was dirty, the basin was cracked several times and there was hair and on and on and on save your money go somewhere else

Room Tip: Don't bother choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iisneddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Am in room 223 right know like a sauna and loud if u open windo to try and breath spoken to reception this morning still waiting for relpy food average like service hotel needs a facelift staff busy talking to each other service what's that

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chef33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

after reading the reviews i was very doubtful about our one night stay . Yes the hotel is dated and could do with a refurbishment and the food was not brilliant but it was ok the room was clean not as bad as people have said here. You get what you pay for

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We used to stay here a few years ago bus'boy to park the cars reception at least 3people behind the desk we always upgraded to a suite as it was our treat to be pampered as it was a Friday night the deal with the upgrade was £110.00 for the both of us 3 course meal to a very hi standard a least a choice of 4 for each course salmon steak pork with rich sauces and a brilliant choice of sweets but remember the food was fresh and cooked to order then the following morning a full english cooked breakfast from juices cerals prunes etc egg bacon sausage etc tea coffee toast forbreakfast served at the table and remember all of these meals are always cooked by a chef and not a cook the evening go into maloneys cocktail bar as the guests from the hotel and locals from outside we're having a good time it appears to me since the Britannia have taken over it is more of a fast food quick turnover hotel we heard it had been taken over so our last trip we stayed at the premier inn at the sea front. and across the way you had all eateries Nandos belle vista the pub attached to the hotel and much more most enjoyable but whilst we were there we had a look at the scarisbrick from the outside across the road and it looked bad as to what it was and yesterday I had an offer sent to me for the scarisbrick
And this lead me to you trip adviser to see what comments have been written because some occasion when we tried to book you couldn't get in. When it was the scarisbrick think the Brittannia need some lessons how to look after that was a fantastic place to stay not a dive or drop in centre

Room Tip: This is a comment that had to be made the previous staff management and owner new how to keep a sm...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank willie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago, it was great value , close to shops & good service. However it is now terrible couldn't quite believe it. It was dirty , service very very slow. Literally had to beg for a glass of water at dinner table. Then it was slammed down , after waiting 20 mins !!! Food shocking , liver ! liver ! Liver ! . Room so old in need of much repair. Photos posted . £4 to go swimming ' if u go back later in the day it's another £4 !! The heating wouldn't switch off in our room , I reappeared asked for someone to look at it. Some 1 came 24 hours later , to say they would fix it. Never came back , it was like an oven. This place is a dump would never ever go back. Be aware if you would like a nice family break don't go HERE.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After reading the reviews, which thankfully I didn't till after our stay, I agreed with some comments but not all.
Yes parking was difficult and it was a bank holiday which didn't help!!
And yes the receptionist didn't get out of her chair when i asked for advice where to park!!
She suggested their sister hotel The Prince of Wales but was too far for me to walk with luggage!!
On street parking was free after 6 pm so we put money in so we didn't have to move the car till 9 am next day!!
As we were given a spacious room on the 3rd floor, we were away from the noise that others complained about and also could see when a space became available in the car park. And NO you don't pay just enter your car reg at reception!!
House keeping left a bit to be desired very few tea bags, a hunt turned up 2 more towels, and the telephone didn't work when we tried to complain!!
But when the maintenance man arrived to fix the shower, he also found the phone lead was in the wring socket!!
We had plenty of Hot water very hot in fact, and when I could turn the shower on there was plenty for that too. In fact the hotel was quite warm heating on in late May, and myself and others had to open the bedroom windows!!
Breakfast was a bit luke warm the first morning and quality of coffee was poor!! Granules and a burco!!
However for the purpose of our trip, to visit places like Crosby and Formby and try some of Southport's real ale pubs, it did what it says on the tin!!
And Barons bar was quite cheap for beer and wine, we don't drink shorts!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor at the back!! Ours was very spacious and quiet!! And a huge comfy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarisbrick Hotel Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarisbrick Hotel Southport

Address: 239 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $43 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarisbrick Hotel Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarisbrick Hotel in Southport is ideally situated right in the heart of the town, on the main boulevard Lord Street, in the midst of Southport's busy nightlife. This traditional characteristic building is in a prime location to enjoy all that Southport has to offer, combining elegant and stylish decor with modern luxury. This hotel is perfect for business meetings, or for those simply looking for an enjoyable seaside stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Scarisbrick Hotel Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarisbrick Southport
Hotel Scarisbrick Southport
Scarisbrick Hotel Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing