We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good nosh”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alexandra & Victoria Restaurant
Ranked #248 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
southport merseyside
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good nosh”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

excellent eating house on the promenade michellin star chef to boot staff very friendly well run establishment .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    3
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had black pudding to start (very tasty) and steak in pepper sauce (also very tasty) though would have preferred home made chips rather than frozen. Would return for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea: summary of other reviews”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

If you look through all the reviews you will see mixed messages about this place. The main food/taster reviews seem reasonable. However, the reviews for the afternoon tea are really bad: if you count them up the score is 7 bad vs. 2 good. This backs up my experience.

I bought a Groupon voucher for a Champagne afternoon tea for two. This cost £19.

General comments
The reception/bar area is tatty and tired. If you disregard these reviews and visit this place, as soon as you step into the building you will realise we were telling the truth and you will know what's in store!

The staff are not unpleasant but they are young and untrained. There is no experience or professionalism here.

The dining room is a conservatory. Again, not unpleasant but utilitarian, slightly tatty and lacking in atmosphere. It's not the sort of place you will get comfortable and want to stay, but that will become irrelevant once you get the food anyway.

The afternoon tea
Let's start on a positive. The food and drink was served within 30 seconds of sitting down at the table. The tea and coffee were acceptable. From here it's all down hill.

We were given a small glass of something sweet, slightly sparkling and colourless. I would say it was Pomagne or whatever the modern equivalent is. It most certainly was not (as advertised) Champagne or even a Cava or Prosecco, which would have been acceptable. Whatever it was, it was undrinkable.

We had three quarter sandwiches each. It pains me to even attempt to describe them because I know my literary skills are insufficient to fully express how absolutely dire they were. One was very thin ham. One was cucumber. One was a sprinkling of grated cheese. All were small, tasteless and the dry, curled up bread suggested they had been sitting around for hours. They were certainly not "freshly made", as advertised.

Next, the Victoria sponge. This had an unappealing appearance and a very strange taste. If it was homemade (as advertised) then they should sack the chef. However I think it's more likely to have come out of the skip at the back of Aldi.

Finally, the scone. This was tiny, hard and dense. Again, it was pretty much inedible.

And that's it. The whole thing was over in about 20 minutes. I must say that we did get some entertainment value out of the experience but if you want somewhere decent to get afternoon tea, avoid this place. Their standard price is about twice what we paid, which is unbelievable. It seriously isn't worth more than the price of a cup of coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Travelzoo offer for 'tasting menu'. Pre-starter (soup), starter, main course, dessert, cheese, coffee, one glass wine included = £25 for 2 people.
Excellent value for the money and really tasty, well-presented food. Every course was good. Service was prompt and polite - hard-working waitress.
On our arrival owner advised free parking at front of hotel at that time of day and said we'd be covered by hotel's security cameras.
Already looking for the next deal !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
169 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money & superb meal!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the Alexandra & Victoria restaurant on a Travelzoo deal. We were a little aprehensive after reading some reviews on Tripadvisor but had no need to be at all. The staff were very attentive, and the meal was aboslutley delicious. How they can serve a 5 course meal for £12.50 a head beats me! Give it a try folks its well worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra & Victoria Restaurant also viewed

 
Birkdale, Southport
 
Ainsdale, Southport
Ainsdale, Southport
 

Been to Alexandra & Victoria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing