We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not changed in the past 10 years... But okay I suppose...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Garden - CLOSED

Oriental Garden
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Fine Dining Chinese Restaurant in Southport. Buffet available on Sundays. Our restaurant is child friendly, and is located between the Monument on Lord Street and the Marine Lake Promenade. Our friendly and efficient staff will be pleased to make your visit to Oriental Garden an experience to remember.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not changed in the past 10 years... But okay I suppose...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been coming here since I was a kid and they still literally use the same glasses, same plates, even exactly the same tacky table cloths....

The room itself is quite nice, very chineese styled, but there is still so much that can be done, especially with the tables....

They often get drink orders incorrect and rarely speak, it's just not the most welcoming vibe, compared to other restauraunts I would definitely say below average.

But if you are on a budget and looking for some average food this is the place.... Very basic and good value for money....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davida50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    12
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been visiting this Chinese restaurant for over 20 years, usually for lunch which is now £5.90 for a three course lunch still as good as it has always been
Sunday is a buffet lunch(you probably are best booking)which is on all afternoon around £8.00 we have been to this and you get to try lots of different dishes which is great.
I would highly recommend this venue which is situated behind Waterstones on the road to the lake
Give it a go 12 till 2 you will enjoy the fine food and return many times as we have

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ghastly - but there is no zero star option here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overpriced evening "unlimited" buffet for fried junk. We arrived on a Friday night at 9:30 (the restaurant closes its doors to new diners at 10:30). We were rushed - they even turned half the lights out in the middle of our meal. The food was not even worthy of a low rent Chinese take-away joint on the street corner. The fried mushrooms tasted of cheap eau de cologne. Everything else was fried with more oil and batter than whatever was lurking inside. The fact that this sells itself as an unlimited menu where you can order as much as your like with the staff making you feel guilty for ordering more of anything ends up as a bonus. Do yourself a favour and go to McDonald's for a better meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont go near!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a meal here at the end of the day (sunday). Last ones in, wish they had told us they were shutting soon! Service unfriendly, cleaning tables, moving them around, put on some noisy machine (like a washing machine) all whilst we were having our meal. When I complained they were extremly ignorant and turned away from us to carry on cleaning!!!! Dont go here if you like friendly staff and a quiet atmosphere, cos you wont get it!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenise192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smudger72
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dont waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Poor food, really rude service, all these people want is your money. Stay well away. Its cheap and nasty with a capital n. Previously done for hygene problems.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Garden also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing