We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,232)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveler rating
509
736
471
268
248
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
509
736
471
268
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conservatory bar promenade view spa facilities front facing superior room steam room evening meal large hotel bit dated short break sea front buffet style enjoyable stay my mum self service night break lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we read some of the negative reviews we really had second thoughts about going, BUT having just returned from a two day break we are certain to visit again.
We stayed there with a Buy a Gift voucher and really felt that we had really great value for money.
The hotel does need some refurbishment but, having said that, our room was a really good size with a settee and two arm chairs and the bathroom had a walk in shower with really fluffy white towels and lovely toiletries.
The really positive thing about this hotel is the service,All the staff were friendly and very helpful and I even congratulated the person in charge of the Breakfast room about the attitude of all the staff during a very busy breakfast period.
We did not use the Hotel for our evening meal, but the Breakfast offered choices of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, various pastries and a lovely hot buffet which was replenished continually.
We are certainly looking forward to spending some more time in Southport and will definitely opt to stay in the Royal Clifton which is so conveniently placed on the Promenade.
Thank You Royal Clifton

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank grandmamary2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear grandmamary2016,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel,

We love the title of this review! Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on our next visit to Southport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the 12th September the Wirral Irish Group visited your hotel for a booked lunch in Windsor Suite so that our members could enjoy dancing and activities after our meal. Unfortunately, when we arrived the arranged room was not available. The hotel staff immediately arranged seating for all members and provided tea and coffee until the new room could be arranged. The room location mishap was caused by a misunderstanding during a management change. A review was given by philomena1955? in tripadvisor about the initial situation, but did not reflect the fact that once the new room location had been sorted the members enjoyed their meal and dancing. On departure, the staff opened a side door and assisted older members to the awaiting coach.
My review is called a 'Lovely Return' because following the visit in September 2018 members were asked if they enjoyed the visit.The answer was a definite 'Yes'. This year with a new booking the members of staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived on the 15th May 2019 the Windsor Suite was ready and the meal provided was excellent and the members were once again able to enjoy their dancing. The hotel location also gave an opportunity for some of the members to take a short walk to the marine lake or to the shops. I took a survey on the return journey and with out exception they all said the staff, the meal and the room location was excellent,nobody offered any complaints.
I would highly recommend the hotel for a group day out.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank mmdunn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroyalclifton, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mmdunn2018,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel,

I am delighted you had a 'lovely return' stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and I hope we can welcome yourself and the group back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tired old hotel. Could be great again with a lot of money spent on it. Staff friendly and helpful. Food OK. Overall appearance jaded. No air conditioning and windows won’t open. Well situated on the Promenade near the Pier.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiepaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroyalclifton, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear maggiepaylor,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel,

We are in the process of our refurbishment programme at the hotel having already made a great start to our bedrooms with the plans to then focus on our public areas. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel when the work is complete to show you the improvements we are trying to make to ensure all guests have the best stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Very enjoyable stay, even with a wedding reception underway on the night of the stay, we were not disturbed. The Sunday night entertainment in the side lounge was excellent with traditional Irish and Folk songs of the area.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GrandTour14662761812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroyalclifton, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GrandTour14662761812,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay and you also enjoyed the music in our conservatory bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

this dilapidated hulk of a hotel shld preferably be taken over by new enterprising owners to conserve the past but also to concentrate on providing 21stC modcons if such a combination can hopefully be reached

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank CathalKillester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroyalclifton, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CathalKillester,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel,

I am sorry to hear you found your stay disappointing. As mentioned in other reviews we are currently in the process of our refurbishment programme having already completed 80 out of our 120 bedrooms. Once our bedrooms are completed we then plan to focus on the public areas of the hotel. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future once the refurbishments are complete so we can show you the improvements we are trying to make to ensure all guests have the best stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews