We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently had a weekend stay with our Linedancing group, Lovely welcoming hotel, staff were all very happy and polite. The food was really very good value and the overall general service was great. rooms very nice, Would definitley stay again if in that area and would recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room as one of us is disabled and this is what we had and were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on your compliments to the team and we do hope you have the opportunity of visiting us again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for two days for a friday and saturday night. We were part of a large group and were on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis. Our room (140) was comfortable and with an on suite. But on both nights a continual "boom, boom" of music could be heard from other premises until approx 3 am. Nothing that the hotel could do about it they said. The meals were very good and plenty of it. Our group was in total 70+ in numbers and the way the meals were served was just fantastic, a lot can be learned from the system that is used here. I have a solution for the noise. If Best Western were to "Secondary Double Glaze" ALL of the windows to the rear of the property then the sound would be greatly reduced if not totally cut out. Come on Best Western invest in this "gem" and keep your reputation intact!!!

Room Tip: Right now choose a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEFF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant, I was sorry to read that your sleep was disturbed from outside noise, the hotel is ideally located for the town centre and unfortunately the occasional noise is inevitable however I have made a note of your comments regarding double glazing and we will certainly consider this for future projects.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night on our tour of the UK. Parking was easy right on site. Check-in was prompt and courteous. There was a small elevator for use to get upstairs. The hotel is a large old Victorian hotel with high ceilings and delightful old charm. There was a wedding going on as we checked in so it was certainly very busy but we were handled with efficiency nevertheless. There was a fitness centre in the hotel that was certainly very clean and had a wide variety of equipment. We had supper in the attached pub which was only mediocre. Breakfast the next morning was very hectic with not enough staff and far too many clients at small tables all pushed too closely together. The food was hot but unfortunately with that amount of clients was picked over and rather messy. I think the staff really did the best that they could but they need more help. I would return here to stay would chose to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Clifton, I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding the food and the busy breakfast. Weekends can be very busy with guests choosing to dine a little later, we do have quieter times for breakfast and I am sorry this was not communicated to you. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel it is indeed a delightful building and we are very proud of the Victorian history. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked in to the Clifton and got an upgrade which was well worth it for the view.We went for the last night of the firework festival and weren't disappointed and It was only a walk across the road.The second night we had the set meal in the restaurant and it was so good we decided to book the next night.The staff could not be anymore helpful.The hotel was in a great setting for Formby national trust to see the red squirrels and Crosby beach,plus Martin Mere.Also Southport itself.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the musical fireworks. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and that you chose to dine a second time I will pass your compliments to the chef and the staff, I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arranged to meet general manager through Best Western after having a problem with hotel parking agents, only to be left waiting for THREE HOURS and she still didnt see us... Best Western were embarrassed,reception were embarrassed,I was fumming and she didnt care less.
Never been treated so badly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, as the lady from Best Western explained to you I was in a meeting that day and was unable to see you regarding the issues that you encountered with a parking charge, unfortunately due to the hotel’s town centre location parking is very limited and complimentary parking is only available to our overnight guests and for our non -residents there is a pay and display machine for a small fee you can park your car in the hotel car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful. I met up with friends in the Conservatory Bar for lunch which was superb. Two of my friends had a baguette and two of us had a panini. The contents were of an excellent standard and they were stuffed to the brim! The barman was extremely helpful and the sun was shinning - what more can you ask for! Give it a try you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch in the Conservatory Bar and you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Firstly we got married at the Royal Clifton and all staff involved with the wedding were absolutely perfect. The day was incredible and we would like to thank every single person who made our day as special as it was. I can highly recommend them for weddings to anyone.
Unfortunately there were a couple of niggles which put a dark cloud on everything. Firstly i checked in and registered my vehicle for free parking, I later received a letter demanding payment for £100 for a parking violation by Parkingeye, After looking this up online it is a private company who have no authority to fine people but try and force people to pay "Fines"! Considering i did everything correctly at the time of check in it kind of put an ugly dark cloud on the experience.
Secondly television reception is poor! unwatchable poor! I reported the problem, a gentleman came up to the room, switched a few channels, said it was the "box upstairs" and that he would "have it fixed tomorrow" (hardly any use to us when we are checking out in the morning). Now i see other reviewers have also commented on poor television reception leads me to believe that they are avoiding fixing it.
Also the Jacuzzi in the Bridal suite doesn't work! Was a let down
So, if the small niggles hadn't happened i would be here writing the best review i have ever given. Our wedding was the most amazing day of our lives and we are eternally grateful to the attentive service of all involved. Just a shame the hotel side of things let it down. I have still rated this Excellent because the wedding staff were just that good it is unfair that the other parts should take away from their amazing efforts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ltlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, General Manager at Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Royal Clifton I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your wedding day and I will certainly pass on your thanks to all of those who helped to make your day so special. I was sorry to read the issue that you encountered with parking I do hope that is now resolved. I have made a note of your comments regarding the poor TV reception and can assure you that it is now being dealt with, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this caused you. I am so sorry that you were not given a room with a Jacuzzi I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on 01704 533771 as this should not have happened. Thank you once again for your review.

Andrea Burton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England (Formerly Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $52 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa England
Southport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing