We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRINCE OF WALES ,SOUTHPORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PRINCE OF WALES ,SOUTHPORT”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we stayed on the 7th feb 2014 ,room 405 was clean ,the staff great, worked very hard always seem happy , we stayed for 2 nights the food was good ,and the hotel was kept very clean ,excellent value for money we hope to return again in the future we cant fault the hotel or the staff , by miss cooper and mr page mature couple

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    394
    352
    238
    329
See reviews for
285
691
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at the Prince of Wales. Really enjoyed our stay. Was quite worried what we had let ourselves in for after reading some of the previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Firstly all the staff we encountered could not have been more helpful & friendly. Secondly the food was of good quality, well cooked & plenty for everyone. The rooms although a tad tired were clean & spacious. An additional charge of £2 per night is made for secure parking which is very reasonable for Southport & hassle free. We booked the weekend through Uk breakaways - used to be Travelstyle for a great price which included a 99p bar 6-9pm. Would recommend this as great little break.

Room Tip: Room 322 has walk in shower & double & single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryanneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just returned from this hotel. Good position in centre of town. Hotel very old and needs updating but room was warm and clean.
Food however was absolutely disgusting. Cold soggy no choice and totally inedible. We had a piece of bread each for our meal.
Would never return. Totally spoiled our weekend. .
Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldiecumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

although dated & faded granduer,comes to mind we enjoyed our two night stay with kgb,our room was spacious,& cold at first ,until we turned on the radiator then all was warm,we had a modern bathroom,with nice fluffy towels & the bedlinnen was nice & crisp,all very clean,we were welcomed with abottle of wine in our room,the evening meals were a bit works canteen style but there was a choice,the dining room was nice,& spacious,but the following morning we were pleasantly suprised by the breakfast,,it was excellent,there are coach partys but for the price we paid who can complain!!& the hotel is in a central location, a short stroll to all the bars,shops,eateries etc ,and the staff were helpful & friendly,we will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: request a room facing lord street,the main shopping area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

our 5 day break got of to a slow start,left Sunderland 30 min,s late on a private feeder coach. our coach was involved in a crash in the depot, we where taken to weatherby services and transferred to the teeside coach. our pre booked seats not taken had to sit at the back?.the hotel is an old building but with some charm. our room on the 1st floor was small but decorated to a good standard,an old free view tv,tea making,bed side lights etc.bath with overhead shower but no heating in the bathroom. buffet breakfast was a good choice of fruit and fruit juice.corn flakes wheetabix porridge etc.a full range of cooked bacon eggs beans tined toms.sausage, black pudding, boiled eggs etc etc a thermal jug of hot water on the table to make your tea coffee .evening meal was a choice of soup with crusty bread, a small selection of salad with cold meat and salmon.again a good choice of buffet meats, curry and rice and pasta.etc with a choice veg,2 cold sweets and 1 hot pud available .night time entertainment low key held in the lounge that had 2 large fires and comfy but old chairs, a male and female singer, and a quiz. took place at 9 o,clock. On Tuesday a trip to Chester, Wednesday a trip Liverpool some people are over the moon to be able to complain about the food but first in line waiting for the doors to open, complain about the cost of drinks but sit in the bar drinking all night.complain about the lounge but reserve the best seats,to end if you want 5 star hotel and rooms etc,pay 5 star price. this 5 day break cost £100 pp.{£20per day} transport,day trips,room breakfast evening meal,entertainment. it did what it said on the tin.if you do not pay a lot do not expect allot. Collin and Sandra.Co Durham.

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had the unfortunate dis pleasure of staying here. We where put in the basement (luxury jacuzzi,lower ground if you listen to the hotel) it stunk of stale dampness and had a dehumidifier on constantly. And was like a dark box with a pretend window and a light behind it. Moved to another room which was on the first floor, also this smelled and was a dark box due to no window and was between the lift and stair case. By this time we where ready to leave. Asked if we could at least get a room with a window. We where moved again to another floor. This room to our suprsurprise had two widows. But was still having a few problems. We did have damp all underneath one with the wall paper coming off. The spy hole in the door was blocked up with tissue paper as the spy hole was not in it. We noticed in the morning that the valance on the bed was filthy also. Now I'm all for cheap and cheerful but got up in morning went to the toilet and as it was raining outside was a pretty miserable morning, made all the worse for the rainwater that was leaking through the window and splashing dirty brown water all over my head and back. Very cold and not at all fun.

Now the food!!!! We had booked the evening meal, which turned out to be a big mistake. I tried the chicken pie? Which was more of a crust over soup. So went for fish which to be fair was nice, but then most shop bought frozen fish is. Pate was on the menu but only two slices left to go on rock hard bread. The rest of the food was so bad my wife ate two roast spuds and then we opted for a couple of profiteroles which were ok.
Good job there are restaurants a plenty around the hotel or we would have been hungry.
Breakfast fared much better full English as a buffet style. I did enjoy that.
The hotel in general is a sad gloomy place to walk through with the hall ways full of badly repaired holes and we counted two conveniently placed buckets/bowls that where constantly filling up when it rained. Not a good look. The main staircase looks like it could have once been glorious but is now drab and in desperate need of upgrading. The hotel in general is really really looking old and tired and is very dreary. The car park was full and we had to park a good ten min walk away.
Also this is the first hotel I have stayed in that has hospital style hand sanitiser station doted around d the place to help you not spread germs!! I would rather think they where so you didn't get any.
So to sum up. If you want a nice place to stay I would suggest you find some other place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nedk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Was supposed to stay at the scarisbrook but got transferred to here, found ourselves amongst a national coach party who I have to say were the worst. Mealtimes turned into a free for all with everyone trying to crowd around a really poorly placed food buffet, in a county that has the best homegrown veg everything was frozen, basically they took it out of the freezer heated it up and served it.The room we had was ok but was so hot we had to open the windows, in January !!!Never will I stay here agin and would urge anyone to check how many coach holidays are staying before ypu do !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Property: Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport
Britannia Prince Of Wales - Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing