We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of coach holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Was supposed to stay at the scarisbrook but got transferred to here, found ourselves amongst a national coach party who I have to say were the worst. Mealtimes turned into a free for all with everyone trying to crowd around a really poorly placed food buffet, in a county that has the best homegrown veg everything was frozen, basically they took it out of the freezer heated it up and served it.The room we had was ok but was so hot we had to open the windows, in January !!!Never will I stay here agin and would urge anyone to check how many coach holidays are staying before ypu do !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

A bit dated and in need of refurbishment but very pleasant staff, nice bar and good food. The rooms are big old and a bit cold but overall I would stay again as the location is the best right in the town centre. surrounded by Good restaurants and Bars with excellent shopping facilities

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewineking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We came with Caledonian, nice hotel in a good location.only issues we had we're having to wait on the lift, the staff were very helpful, good amount and selection of food. It's more a buffet style, but be prepared to wait whilst they refresh . It was our second time hear with Caledonian, we are happy to come back, it's good value.

Room Tip: We got lucky.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenkeen1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Booked a night at this hotel and upgraded to the penthouse suite...absolutely fantastic value!!. Room has its own lounge corridor bathroom and bedroom...massive!! Breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal...nice open fire as you enter the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

as i am wheelchair bound i booked disabled room and on arrival found a freezing cold room, i rang reception and asked for help and was told she had a list of problems and i was at the bottom and the heating only came on at 6pm so i asked for manager who found heating in my room was switched off so put heater in room and said heating would come on at 4.30 pm, i also told reception and housekeeping not to use any perfumed sprays or cleaners in room as i had lung desease, the following morning after breakfast i went back to room to find it had been sprayed and had to evacuate room immediately, manager had to put blowers in my room and it took all day so i was unable to use my room untill dinner time, also i was not told when i booked that the buffet was 3 steps down from the dinning room and waitress was unable to understand much english and as no menu was displayed i had to take pot luck,altogether a total disaster, this hotel should be renamed FAULTY TOWERS

Room Tip: not recommended
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with Caledonian Travel 20th Jan 2014...Hotel lovely and cosy and food very good...Coal fires x 2 in the lounge areas...Lovely old fashioned staircase ...Very friendly staff...Don't accept room 335 as the floor was so creaky (and I mean creaky) I almost felt I should apologise to the occupants directly below....If there is entertainment on in an adjacent room and you are wanting drinks, buy them in the public lounge bar next to the dining room and take them through as the drinks bought in the room where entertainment is more expensive as they class it as a function room at prices to suit so be warned........G.Nixon.

Room Tip: See "My Review" section
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We paid £99 for coach travel from The Boro, 4 nights superb breakfast and 3 course evening meal, plus daytrips to Liverpool and Chester. What on earth do people want or expect??? Many reviews on here are awful. Yes it needs a bit of tlc. Yes its a tired old building. But its superb value, lovely staff, nice grub and over the road from a cracking Wetherspoons!!!!

Room Tip: Get a Lord Street view on floor 3 or 4, if not ask for a high floor providing you are ok with stairs...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport

Address: Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $49 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport is a beautiful reminder of our Victorian Heritage, an elegant building with landscaped gardens. Throughout the reception, lounge area and bedrooms, the decoration has been kept in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 154 en-suite bedrooms of the Prince of Wales hotel have been tastefully designed to preserve the Victorian style of this Southport hotel. Many of the rooms overlook Lord Street, the main shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Prince Of Wales-Southport Hotel Southport
Hotel Prince Southport Wales
Southport Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Southport
Britannia Prince Of Wales - Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing