We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Southport”

The Office Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Office is a new superb restaurant in the heart of the town centre. With sumptuous decor and classy lighting, incorporating booths for your dining pleasure.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Southport”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You won't be disappoint with this bar / restaurant. Fronting it is Chris. Nothing is to much trouble for them. You get first class service from all the staff. The meals are something to die for, whether it be a lunch time snack to a 2 / 3 course evening meal that won't break the bank. Lee the main chef and part owner is one of the best chefs anyone to wish to meet. If it's not on the menu he will do his upmost to prepare for you what you want. This is a 5 star plus restaurant that gives you first class fresh food at prices you can afford.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    81
    22
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went in a party of 12 for a work Christmas night out. 3 course meal was £24 and there was 5 or 6 choices for each course. Usually when going on a Christmas 'Party Night' I don't expect much more than mass catered luke warm food and harrassed staff but I have to say our night at The Office was nothing like that. The food was clearly freshly prepared and piping hot and each course was beautifully presented. The staff were very efficient, cheerful and attentive despite being very busy and helped to make the night very enjoyable.
Only downside was bar prices - a bit on the high side - £4.50 for a bottle of water :(
Based on this experience I will certainly eat at The Office again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really like it here,good food,service,and nice choice,came here with a group of ladies they all liked it and said we would go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 464Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a lovely meal on sunday night with friend's who had booked the table as it get's very busy, we all had the special 2 course for £10.00 and a bottle of the rose' house wine, 3 of us had the lamb shank with mash, veg and new potatoe's and 1 had the pork loin, everyone said there meal was delicious, I thought it was excellent value and the restaurant's atmosphere is perfect with low playing music in the background, the staff were very attentive without being intrusive, hope to go again when we are in Southport.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancashiresupergran8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap meal out”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very busy restaurant, people are presumably attracted by the really cheap fixed menu which includes wine. The choice for non meat eaters is poor, and the cooking is not of great quality. My pasta was undercooked, obviously a rush job as by the time I got the waiter back to the table the chef had left. :-(. Strange texture to the pannacotta, think it may have cornflour in it , not pleasant. It's cheap, but I'd rather have a M&S meal deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Office Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to The Office Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing