We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT”

The Stamford Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stamford Guest House
Ranked #22 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the stamford in november last year for the weekend and are returning on the 14th february for another weekend. Mark and Eileen made you feel like one of the family very welcoming, rooms were spotlessly clean and very modern, the breakfast was lovely made from local produce and plenty of it. I would recommend the lovely bay windowed room at the front, perfect to sit and have a drink while getting ready for a night out and just watch the world go by. Can't fault anything! Look forward to seeing you both soon. xx

Room Tip: The lovely bay windowed at the front! Perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stopped here for only one night but what wonderful accommodation it is. Both Mark & Eileen were very welcoming and both very friendly people. The rooms were very stylish and modern but probably more importantly, very clean and the bed was very comfy! The following morning we had the breakfast which was lovely and lots of choice with cereals, fruit etc on offer before a full English and as much toast, tea or coffee as you like. (the local sausages were beautiful). Overall, a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely stay again in the future. A massive thank you to Mark & Eileen for making our stay so pleasant.
Kind regards
Dave & Rowena

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

3 of us stayed for our golfing weekend, Friday to Sunday. Excellent base for golfing around Southport and for a couple of nights out. We had a twin and double room, facilities were just right for 3 lads, although the full English breakfast could do with some black pudding :)
Owners were great, even arranging for us to have a later breakfast on the Sunday after our Saturday night in the town.
Highly recommended and would return for further golfing trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A lovely modern B&B with excellent location very close to the pier and just off of the high street. Wonderful family run place and very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts was just right and very tasty. Ticked all of our boxes for a great stay. Would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for 4 nights with our 17 month old girl and it was perfect for us. We arrived quite late on the Monday but we were greeted by the owner's son who gave us our key and showed us to our room. The room was a good size for the 3 of us and they'd set up a travel cot in the room for the wee one. The room was very tastefully decorated (as was the whole place) and the bed was comfortable. There was a large TV on the wall, which came in handy for relaxing with a glass of wine at night. My only slight grumble was that there wasn't a bath in the room, which made bathing our wee one tricky (she hates the shower!!) but I was kind of expecting there only to be a shower anyway so it wasn't a big deal. I have to give a special mention to the cooked breakfasts as they were superb! I ended up having one every morning, which I wouldn't normally do. But they were cooked to perfection every time. They also cooked eggs specially for our wee one. The family of staff were very nice and helpful while being respectful of our privacy. They did everything they could to allow us to make sure our daughter had everything she needed. The location of the B&B was perfect, within walking distance of Pleasureland, Lord Street, the train station, the promenade and the pier. I'd highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Southport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueborndjross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went to southport for an overnight stay, booked two rooms at the Stamford, a double for my husband and myself and a twin for my mum and my daughter, rooms were really modern, spotlessly clean and ensuite bathrooms really nice too. Freshly cooked breakfast, cereal juice, tea, coffee all included in the price, really delicious.
The location is great just a short stroll onto lord street for all the shops, and nice eating places and also in the other direction really close to the prom and amusements. All in all a really nice friendly place, will defiantly return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank claire_78_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Due to a family emergency we could only stay one night here. During our stay we were asked to meet and greet other guests and give out keys and we had to ask another guest for info re wifi. Which didnt work in out room anyway. The house was empty most of the time with no contact number given for emergencies. As we had to leave early and due to being inconvenienced we offered a half payment for the second night. After threatening to take the difference out of staff wages this was agreed with the owner. My husband called to make the half payment and in good faith gave his card details over the phone. A few days later his bank statement arrives showing a full payment for the room. I called the owner to dispute and was shouted at and told we were thieves! I was absolutely disgusted and very angry. They confirmed one amount over the phone and fraudulently took double. Very dishonest and utterly unacceptable. The attitude of the owner leaves a lot to be desired. Shame as the location is good, so good there are plenty of other options that I am sure operate a far superior service, it cannot be hard to beat these!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmarie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#9 of 41 in Southport
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#17 of 41 in Southport
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Braemar Hotel
The Braemar Hotel
#6 of 41 in Southport
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
The Heidi Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 41 in Southport
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Guest House

Address: 17 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $79 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stamford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Stamford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Guest House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing