We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something not the same”
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
Ranked #95 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant serving Italian food in addition to Burgers, Steaks, Fish etc. Our restaurant has been on Ocean Plaza for over twelve years, and we pride ourselves on being able to compete with the 'big boys' on this Branded-Commercial Leisure Site. Obviously sometimes this can bring it's issues - such as customers expecting fast food - we can never compete with the brands on speed as our food is not pre-packaged and frozen! Ocean Plaza offers free parking for customers and is home to an impressive multi-screen Vue Cinema, a 20 Lane Bowling Alley with Laser experience, a DW state of the art Fitness Club and a 95 bedroom Premier Travel Inn - which faces our restaurant.
wigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something not the same”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Im afraid to say that my favourite italian restaurant has fallen down on its previously high standards. The pasta sauces used to be delicious and tasty now it seems watery and tastless. Not sure if they have cut back on ingrediants or perhaps change of kitchen staff. I see that at the moment they are also slipping down the top restaurants in Southport list. This would indicate that a lot of people are in agreement with me. So for now sorry Roberto but we will be trying the many other establishment s available out there. Good luck with the future.

Helpful?
5 Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your visit - especially when previous visits surpassed all expectations.
We pride ourselves on consistency, of both food and service, we are very disappointed to learn that something went wrong here.
As you already know, all our sauces are made fresh to order, we really wish so much we had been given the opportunity to put your sauce right on the night :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    67
    28
    48
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'd forgotten why I stopped eating at Roberto's in Southport”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Firstly, I have to say that both the food and service were lovely. However the experience was completely spoiled by Roberto himself who stormed around banging and clattering rearranging chairs seemingly completely ignorant to my trying to enjoy a quiet meal. Though it was 2 in the afternoon it felt like it was 2 in the morning and he was doing his best to get rid of his only customer by making them feel as uncomfortable as possible. It worked and I had neither dessert nor coffee. Roberto certainly made a lie of the image of a friendly Italian restaurateur who is attentive and sensitive to the needs of his customers, even a smile might have gone a long way to improve the visit.
We all have off days so I won't necessarily avoid the place in future, but I certainly won't frequent it as much as I'd like to, and if Roberto is front of house and displaying the same attitude he did today, I shan't stay very long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Pete,
I'm so sorry for the disturbance and that you didn't enjoy the atmosphere at Roberto's when you visited.
Our timing for moving furniture was unfortunate. That morning we were lucky enough to get hold of some new furniture and in the early afternoon we were asked to remove the old furniture from the side of our restaurant within a short amount of time for health and safety reasons.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and really hope this one off incident doesn't keep you from the restaurant in the future.
Thank you,
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the awful reviews, this is a lovely friendly restaurant and all the staff work very hard.
I visited with my mum and we where greeted with a friendly reception and promptly shown to our table.
Our food choices where cooked to perfection, and the pasta sauce was the best i have had in a long while .
Keep up the good work, i will most defiantly be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank carrieohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank You so very much for that. We do try very, very hard to make our business work. It's lovely of you to be so supportive, thank you ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much better!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

After our last experience at Robertos we decided to give it another go for the last time.
I'm so glad we did. Service was great - we both ordered the Blue Cheese Burgers which were not so great last time, however they great - nice and juicy.
The starter of the cheese and tomato garlic bread was also very very good!

We'll definitely be back - Thanks Lesley!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobFrain1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank You so much, l was delighted to see you both back and look forward to serving you again. Thank you also for taking the time to post a review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good all round experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Four adults; four starters four mains two sides bottle wine a pint and a tonic, two liqueur coffees,two White coffees £86 and worth every penny, very pleasant staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelformby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank You so much for reviewing and reporting, very much appreciated :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing