We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A letdown!”
Review of Roberto's

Roberto's
Ranked #93 of 373 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant serving Italian food in addition to Burgers, Steaks, Fish etc. Our restaurant has been on Ocean Plaza for over twelve years, and we pride ourselves on being able to compete with the 'big boys' on this Branded-Commercial Leisure Site. Obviously sometimes this can bring it's issues - such as customers expecting fast food - we can never compete with the brands on speed as our food is not pre-packaged and frozen! Ocean Plaza offers free parking for customers and is home to an impressive multi-screen Vue Cinema, a 20 Lane Bowling Alley with Laser experience, a DW state of the art Fitness Club and a 95 bedroom Premier Travel Inn - which faces our restaurant.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went here to celebrate my Husbands birthday with family and was abit wary after reading some of the reviews but thought best to try for ourselves. Should have listened to the reviews. Told staff twice we were celebrating a Birthday and was told they would bring the sparklers out etc, never happened but tbh not surprised. The staff just were so unfriendly especially an Italian guy, maybe it was Roberto. Took your orders, no smiles, no thank yous, and just no atmosphere in the place. The food was so, so, had much better Italian elsewhere in Southport. The customer service was non existent. sorry will definitely not be coming back here.. would rather spend my money else where and enjoy my meal and go somewhere where there's atmosphere and you are made to feel like a valued customer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank sofieNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for letting us know. Shame because we always make it a priority to make a fuss, Roberto and l were not around when you came, but we are looking into who exactley served you.
All we can say is we usually try our very best. It is a very busy, busy restaurant at weekends, we can often do 230-250 covers, l know there are poor reviews on most weekend days. Any complaints are never good, but they do represent about 2% of the covers we do. However, our staff are normally very happy, warm and friendly, and l am sincerely very sorry that you appear to have caught a waiter on a bad day. L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 411 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

A party of 15 of us arrived at 8pm. Drinks orders taken at 8.30, wrong drink order arrived at 9.00, ordered our food at 8.45, at 10PM still NO FOOD. We we where told by a waitress with the worst attitude that the our food order has just gone in the oven, AT 10PM!!!!! This restaurant''manager' frankly couldn't care less and didn't even bat an eyelid when we upped and left. We left at 10pm, still no food or top up on drinks. SHOCKING to say the least. Will never be returning. Disgusting service and incredibly rude staff. Save your money and custom as it will not be appreciated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

And customers who are rude to staff and drink their own alcohol are not worth having!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Came here the other week for the entertainment night and meal. Really nice welcome, great service. The food was really nice, especially the main course of lamb in a honey glaze - it was gorgeous. After the meal had finished and the entertainment was on we ordered 2 coffees, they never came so had to order them again, when the bill came we had been charged for 3. We went to get the bill rectified and there seemed to be a argument between staff, they did come over and apologise, we did explain there could have been a mix up due to ordering them twice. Anyway, had a great night, really enjoyed the food, would go again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AJM605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so very much for that! We always smile when we read that our hard work and the hours that we both put in pays off, thank you again :) L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We really enjoyed the food here, was a bit of a wait with food but we didn't mind as the service and food was brillant. We had a starter and main course and would recommend it to other couples for a romantic evening out.

1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so very much for your feedback, It always gives our moral a boost to read that customers enjoy their experience :) L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to day for lunch thought great idea Kids eat free on Sundays ace. But food taken ages 1 starter burned 1 main burned. Really really long wait on a Sunday. A table that came in half and hour after us revived there main 20 mins before us! Won't be going again soon. Avoid Sundays at all cost!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SamuelP1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley Y, Owner at Roberto's, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Yes thank you for your feedback, we have taken action. We had a two course offer Sundays and Wednesdays for £10 that was very popular as well as the Children Eat Free, so a family of four on Sundays were able to eat for just £20. We became unable to cope - reflecting on this site. We therefore decided to withdraw the 2 course offer. However the Children Eat Free on Sundays remains to be very popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Roberto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing