We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A proper Bistrot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot Verite

Bistrot Verite
Ranked #2 of 356 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Michaela and I opened Bistrot Verite in 2009, after working and travelling around France we loved the Ambiance of the Small, Cosy, Rustic Bistrots that you find tucked away in Provincial towns. With this in mind we have tried to create this in our home town of Southport in Birkdale Village. We serve Rustic French food but with a few dishes thrown in from around the world when I get bit Cheffy!!! Our Restaurant may not be to everybody's taste as it is small and can get noisy but to us this is what the hustle and bustle of what a Bistrot should be. We have a Great team of Professionals who look forward to Welcoming and Serving you. Bon Vivant xxxx Marc & Michaela Verite xx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A proper Bistrot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A proper French Bistrot! Decor, Food and Service just as it is in France. This restaurant is second to none, definitely worth paying a visit! The whole of the Bistrot team should be proud of themselves. Perfection!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    72
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest meal imaginable for my 40th...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I must congratulate the whole bistrot verite team for making my birthday meal the most memorable food and atmosphere I have ever had. The ambience, service, quality of food was second to none...have already recommended it to everyone I have spoken to and would urge all to pay them a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damokebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This proved him wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The last time I had been this this area to play golf, my business colleague spent most of the journey from London trying to convince me that the further north you travel in England, the worse the food gets. Based on the restaurant we visited that night, 12 years ago, it was difficult to prove him wrong.

He should have been with me this time for a magnificent meal at Bistro Verite. Good ingredients, perfectly combined (I had duck, peach and hazelnuts for my main course) and warm friendly service.

This restaurant really proved him wrong !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookhamVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfect anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I booked for our wedding anniversary, and we weren't disappointed! The service was professional and faultless. The menu was tempting and mouth watering but not too vast either. I chose 2 fish courses and my husband had a pate and charcuterie starter with Spring lamb for his main. My dressed crab was amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and I would chose to dine at Bristrot Verite again and again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobberti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

After a lovely day wandering around Southport, we were looking for something a bit different to the normal offer on Lord St. There are some reasonably good local Italian restaurants in Southport together with the standard chains (Ask, Prezzo, etc.) but this place in Birkdale, five minutes away, is certainly worth a visit. The smallish, narrow unit lends the bistro a sense of style and friendliness. We were welcomed and the staff immediately helped my wife (who uses a wheelchair) to a suitable table. We had telephoned ahead to check they could accommodate the chair. Note there is no disabled loo so sort yourself out beforehand - we did. The front of house staff were friendly, efficient, organised and knowledgable. This is a refreshing change from the many independent restaurants who set up by concentrating on the chef/kitchen without any thought as to how guests are treated out front. The menu was extensive and clearly changed daily. It was set out on blackboards around the walls and, despite the clear French theme, thankfully avoided the usual pretentious language behind which many lesser talented chefs hide. We had two beautifully cooked starters of black pudding and scallops with duck flowed by mains of hake and York ham. Sadly there was no room for deserts which was a pity when we saw the elaborate offerings brought to our neighbouring table. Next time it will be mains and pud! Everything was cooked perfectly despite this being a busy Saturday evening with a second sitting to come. Staff were efficient and friendly. For a change It was nice to be asked just once about my food rather than 3 times by everyone on the floor. Overall this was excellent. We will certainly return. As to value for money, well it was not cheap but we are prepared to pay for quality. I suppose when you see the number of staff in the busy kitchen together with the standard and variety of the food on offer, that has to come with a price. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Howzat1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Verite also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistrot Verite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing