We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Review of Marine Brasserie

Marine Brasserie
Ranked #249 of 357 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $11 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This year we have welcomed a new Head Chef, and with him he has brought some fresh and new ideas to hit the ground running with a fresh new approach to our food offering. Concentrating on locally sourced produce from Peets Plaice for our fish, Kev Peet lives locally and goes out each morning to catch his fish. One of our dishes "Southport's Potted Shrimps" is created using his freshly caught shrimps. Forshaws supply our vegetables, we always have a "Soup of the day" usually using fresh seasonal vegetables. The new chef has designed his menu with an emphasis on freshly homemade, seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. As you would expect we cater for all dietary requirements and special requests. Don't fancy anything on our menu? Tell us what you do fancy, if the chef has the ingredients, he will cook them up for you. The Food & Beverage as a team recognised afternoon tea as being one of the most popular reasons our customers visit our lounge. With this in mind our Chef has introduced some new exciting and unique variations, "Kids Afternoon Tea" for our little guest's, smaller portions of the classic afternoon tea, served with cordials instead of tea. Or there's even a "Gentleman's Afternoon Tea" A macho treat comprising of pork pies, black pudding roll, mini cheeseburgers, monkey nuts, pork crackling, pickles salad and bottle of locally brewed Southport Beer.
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch using a tastecard, it was an excellent choice. We each had 3 courses all of us choosing roast beef for our main course. Generous portion of meat and nice veggies , extra gravy was brought on request. Service good and professional but not stuffy . Was an excellent bargain with the tastecard and would use it again without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We walked out.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I rarely leave negative reviews but this place deserved one more than any other that I have written.
We arrived on Sunday evening about 6.30pm on 05/08/12. When we arrived nobody else was seated in the restaurant. There were a few people on the balcony having drinks because it was a lovely sunny evening.
After about five minutes waiting at the 'please wait to be seated' sign, a young man came up and asked us if we would like a seat. We infomed him that we would like a table for two, and that we would like to sit outside on the balcony given the lovely weather.
He appeared reluctant to accommodate this request, initially asking us to take seats by the door to the balcony, on the inside. We again gently expressed a preference for outside seating, indicating that it was a lovelty evening. He again appeared reluctant but asked us to sit by the balcony door on the outside.
We asked why we had to sit in these specific seats given that the balcony only had a few guests and 85% of the tables were free. He replied, that if we sit further down (away from the door) then "the staff would have to carry the food further and that it was a bit of a hassle". A bit shocked by the response we took the menus handed to us and sat just outside the balcony door.
We sat outside for about 10 minutes and noticed more guests had arrived inside and their orders were being taken. At this point I went inside to find a member of staff to take our order - menu in hand. I had to go again to the 'wait to be seated' sign, and wait to be approached. After an additional 5 minutes a female member of staff asked if she could help. I indicated that we were sitting outside by the door and wanted to place an order.
Unbelievably she told me that they do not serve food outside, that I could not order from the menu we had been given (it finished 4 hours earlier), BUT that she would make an exception this time and take our order from the newly presented menu.
I walked outside, new menu in hand, and left it on the table for the next soon-to-be-disappointed guest. We ate next door at Fino's where the service was superb. Don't waste your time with the Marine Brasserie.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyp162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we booked our wedding!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! The staff are fab - professional but fab - the meal was perfect and the hotel is modern but welcoming - we loved it so much we booked to hold our wedding here - and the food for that really was amazing - we made a good choice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cement Brownie”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I attended a Mowtown Evening last Saturday and whilst the live music was okay the food was poor. The worst was the pudding which was supposed to be a cherry chocolate brownie but was more like brown cement! It was rock hard and many people left their fork sticking upright to show the chef its solid consistency! When I complained to the manager he told me me he'd eaten it and it was okay. Clearly, he has little regard for customer views. Well, I hope he reads this and takes notice now!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We are regular visitors to this hotel and restaurant. On this visit the food was exceptionally good, the starter of potted shrimps on brioche with lemon dressed mizuna was absolutely delicious. The service was attentive and good too.
Breakfast the morning after our stay was as always excellent, lots of choice, everything well cooked and fresh.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn-Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Brasserie also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Marine Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing