We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Bar Med

Bistro Bar Med
Ranked #4 of 352 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Awarded Best Restaurant in Southport for the last 5 consecutive years by tripadvisor and 5 star rating on "scores on the doors" by Sefton council for the last 10 consecutive years.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Food was great, couldn't fault the service, couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. Obviously very passionate about the food, great sauces and lovely sangria!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GKnapp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    62
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I must be missing something”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Eaten here on 3 occasions now and had wildly variable experiences. Sadly only one good and two poor. The Bar Med is easy enough to find with its bright frontage and though It does have a med feel to it, for me the interior decor is a little dark.

Maybe we went on the wrong night or something and are not getting the same Chef. as our recent visit will sadly be our last as the quality sadly just wasn't up to scratch. The Tahini sauce was very watery and lacked and taste, the chicken was dry and chewy and the lamb, to be frankt, tasted off.

I'm sure the manager will tell me I've never been there, but unfortunately I have, and only wish my positive previous experience had been repeated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LilBeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroBarMed, Owner at Bistro Bar Med, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Lil Beethoven,
Seems like some unknown forces doesn't like to see us on top, every time we have a good review
some people pretends to been here writing bad reviews and giving poor rating about us.
like yourself sarcastically mentioned that the manager will say you haven't been here, i would like you to respond and reply via email to us that when you have been? what you have ordered so I can check my rota and find out which chef was cooking on that night.
Our tahini is pure we are serve it straight from the original tub comes with and we don't add anything to it .Also our chicken and lamb cooked from fresh maybe you cant describe difference from smoked paprika to off food like your title says I must be missing something! yes you are missing a honesty and the truth!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a small family run restaurant that specializes in tapas. From the outside it looks ordanary, but inside it is a fun place with great food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 63fred2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We ate here on Saturday with family including 3 grandsons, as my daughter and son-in-law had eaten here before and thought the food was wonderful – we were not disappointed. What a delightful little place and lovely owner, Gino, who could not do enough for us. The whole experience was perfect – food, ambience and service. The tapas selection was excellent and good sized portions of high quality. The sangria was the best I have ever tasted, better than I have had anywhere in Spain! The boys absolutely love their food and Gino was fantastic with them. Highly recommend this place and look forward to returning soon. Thank you all x

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food nothing special, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The reviews on tripadvisor for this place are very puzzling because the food here is barely better than acceptable. Everything that could be frozen and reheated is frozen and reheated. This includes fried foods and baked foods which taste stale, although the dips are slightly better.

The waiters are very friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is quite pleasant. However he food really lets the place down. For the prices they charge we would have expected things to be made fresh, so we won't be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanyastories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroBarMed, Owner at Bistro Bar Med, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Tanya,
We are so disappointed with your assuming review like all the food could be frozen etc,.i don't even believe you actually been here to eat otherwise you would a know all our produce is fresh and cooked from fresh that's why takes at least 20 mins.
Since 2010 over 300 customers can't be wrong unless your review has a motive or slander.it will be so interesting to see your reply when you have been and what have you had to eat.
We value all our customers so dearly and appreciate their custom since 2005, which is why been awarded no 1 best restaurant in southport 2011,2012,2013 and top 3 restaurant in 2014.
Nevertheless we are appreciate your critique and hope to see your reply soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bar Med also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro Bar Med? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing