We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,556)
Filter reviews
3,556 results
Traveler rating
2,224
994
229
74
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,224
994
229
74
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe underground car parkfifth floorblackpool towerexcellent hotelmodern hotelevening mealenjoyable staylovely roomlord streetshort breakreception staffstayed for one nightbuffet styleself servicecomfy bedbreakfast was excellenttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 3,556 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is right next door to the Southport Theatre so was perfect for this visit. Following day, after a lovely breakfast (£12.50 if pre booked) we booked a place at the afternoon buffet which secured a table on the balcony so we could watch the Airshow. Brilliant afternoon with waiter service for our drinks, the buffet was not fantastic but at £12.50 per person we were happy enough because of the spot it secured for us.

The rooms are clean and modern enough with everything you would expect from a 4*.

Having to pay £20 parking (free if you book direct with the hotel!) because we booked with a famous broker site was annoying and something I will watch for in future.

Grab rails in the superhigh bath (I'm only 5'2") were very much appreciated and used... took my life in my hands both days getting out the shower/bath! Luckily I remembered the danger bath and booked a mobility impaired room for my friend, she would have really struggled.

This is our 3rd visit to the hotel ... won't be the last.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLittleDM, Deputy General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for such a great review. Its great to hear that you will be returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you. I would always advise to book direct with hotels, it has many advantages parking being just one of them. Its good to talk, discuss the view you would like, or extra touches you might like to make your stay comfortable for you. Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

The staff were fantastic and couldn't go enough and the rooms were ok just what you would expect.
The restaurant completely lets this hotel down really REALLY over priced the food quality is below average and the service was shocking from the bar and waiting on staff. Once we complained quite a few times the management came over and they couldn't be more accommodating but sadly after waiting 2 hours to complete 2 courses the damage was done. Would stay here if on business but would dine out, if coming for leisure you would be better off staying in a local b & b. Only reason scoring 2* instead of 1* is because of the helpful reception and front of house.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank Julien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLittleDM, Deputy General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sad that it doesn't make for a better read. These are clearly not the memories we would want you to leave with and for that I am sorry. All points have been discussed with the relevant heads of departments. We can do better and we will, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at this lovely hotel. Thank you 'Secret Escapes' for a very reasonable offer. We booked this hotel because of its ideal positioning as we had gone to watch The Southport Air Show. This in itself is a great day out. Back to the Hotel. We arrived 3 hours early for check in and just called at reception to ask re their car parking. Whilst there, Alison on Reception suggested she check to see if any rooms were ready & we could check in early. Fortunately there were so she checked us in early which was an unexpected bonus. Thanks Alison. Service with a Smile!
Rooms were spotlessly clean and bathrooms gorgeous! All you would expect available in a hotel of this class such as tea/coffee facilities/ toiletries/good tv programme choice. Last but not least? Disposable bags in the waste bins! Can't stand throwing stuff in a bin with no liner. Just a small bugbear of mine!
Evening meal included in our deal & we could book our own time for this when we checked in. There was adequate choice available on the fixed Menu we chose from & the Food was Delicious. Also glad to see/ experience that the Drinks with the meal were not of a ' rip off price.' Kirstie and the Staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and thorough. Special mention to John James who served us, mostly. Very amiable/smiley and served us impeccably.
Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel. Great Choice. Food Hot where it should be.
All in all, a most enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 632Kathryn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLittleDM, Deputy General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a brilliant review. Particularly the comments re our staff, the ones you have mentioned personally are all great ambassadors for the hotel. They will be delighted to hear your feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We went to the ramada while we were visiting the southport air show, the bar rooms and reception all looked great. The staff were all very helpful and the hotel had underground parking
I would recommend

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Fioja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLittleDM, Deputy General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent visit. So lovely to hear you were well looked after. Hope to see you again soon. Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel.but unfortunately not good food ..I ordered Haddock on crushed new potatoes. .the Haddock was really overcooked. .very very dry.and the crushed potato had been standing far too long and was also dry..My husband ordered sweet potato Greek style.he got half a potato which had a small amount of feta cheese mixed with potato.and a few green leaves as garnish..at £25 per head It was not good at all . all so even though you are staying at the hotel you have to pay £10 per day parking fee . so check before you pick up the so called midweek mini break bargains .

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bazzaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLittleDM, Deputy General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the food and all your comments will be shared with head chef as it is important we get this right. Shame really your overall score was so low even though you do comment the hotel was nice and don't mention any issues with staff of facilities, and I am confident this is because these were all good elements of your stay. Our car park is completely free of charge for all our guests that book direct with us and not through a third party. Hope to see you again soon. Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews