We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just about perfect..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just about perfect..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great value. Great location. Great surroundings. Ramada Plaza was just great. I have paid double the room rate for far inferior hotel's. Attentive staff, good food, very clean and up to date interior. Parking secure and included in your room rate. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Ramada you have excelled here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
A perfect review, many thanks for taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    793
    180
    57
    26
See reviews for
523
1,415
79
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I styed at the Ramada Plaza Southport for 6 nights this week for business and then attending a conference.
First the positives. The room was very good, the bed very comfortable, and clean, clean, clean! Housekeeping staff were wonderful, right down to giving me a few extra cookies. The second great thing is the breakfast in the morning. The full English or continental breakfast available every morning is terrific, a great way to start the day. I was appreciative of the extended hours, travelling for me results in jet lag, and nothing is more disappointing that having breakfast wrap up at 9 am so 1000 weekdays and 1100 on weekends was most appreciated. I found the staff extremely pleasant, accommodating, and they definitely know the meaning of service. I was able to meet with a client in the lounge area, so good for meetings. Also, there is a door from the ground floor that leads directly to the conference centre, so I didn't even have to go outside which was a good thing with the rain and windstorm in the area.

Unfortunately, there is a negative. I have no other way to say it than the internet was terrible. I was hardly able to open an email, in some cases it took 1-2 minutes to open and email or load a file. Trying to send a return email was a joke, you would be lucky to have a keystroke go through every 15 - 30 seconds. When it can take 20 minutes to open a file or 10 minutes to write an email, this is unacceptable for business purposes. Fortunately, I had my phone so was able to use that to send and receive urgent emails. The wifi was supposed to work throughout the hotel, but I was not able to connect in the lounge area. I did speak with the staff a couple of times, and they indicated that they kept rebooting the servier, but clearly that was not the answer as the internet service did not improve the six days I was there. I spoke with other hotel guests and they indicated the same. This is all that is preventing this from being a great place to stay for business, and that is the internet. I was happy to attend the conference, the wifi there was at lightning speed and free, so I could do my work from there easily.
So on the whole, great place to stay as long as you don't need the internet!

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor, quiet....bathtubs have very high sides! You may need a stepladder to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for this great review, I am sorry about the internet issues which you experienced, I am please to say that we are currently upgrading our system and will soon have a fibre connection offering unrivalled connectivity.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

spent one night here on a business trip ,booked late and got a fantastic deal on bed and breakfast for the two of us,after two nights at the hilton blackpool last week i can honestly say the ramada is far superior,the room was spacious, clean, quiet, fantastically equipped, staff are helpful.the business area we used was smart and functional and what fantastic views.only downsides were the roadworks outside(not the ramadas fault)and walking through the bar to see a table with 2 men sat with a lot of empty stella glasse on it,being picky it gives the impression that staff are not bothering to clear tables . .

Room Tip: take a chance and book late ,higher floors the view gets better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review, we appreciate your comments.

Hope to see you again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada Hotel on a b/b basis at the weekend. Perfectly located for the Southport Airshow. We arrived early to avoid the Airshow traffic. When we walked up to reception we received a very abrupt response ' we can not check you in now, it's too early!' He was very rude. We didn't expect our room to be ready at 9:30am but we wanted to let them know that we had arrived, that was all. Our bags were stored away until we could check in at 3pm.

We had lunch in the hotel which was ok, but the service was apauling. They forgot the sauce which was in the description of the meal my partner had ordered, the table we sat at had not been cleared from the previous people. Following our meal, I timed it, they took over an hour to remove our empty plates. I would like to say they were busy, they were not that busy - they just didn't seem to have enough staff.

The rooms were lovely, apart from the sink in the bathroom was a challenge! I am 5'7" and I struggled to wash my face in the sink, it was that high up!

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and well cooked.

We would stay again, but at £189.00 for the night, it did not meet my expectations by any means. I would not pay that again, it would have to be on a very special offer basis next time.

Room Tip: 5th floor over looking the lake was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon1lomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to review the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly look to address those areas of concern.

We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have a compaint with there refund policy and a complaint about our recent stay. feel this would be good to share with the community on trip advisor and how this is dealt with. Overall hotel is Ramada standard which is what the product says. Which is A*. great location, great staff, great food. my complaints are not everyday issues. I would recommend any day.

Room Tip: swimming pool and spa poor as not in hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehind48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. I am happy that I have been able to answer your queries regarding our cancellation policy.

Regards
Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights staff very attentive rooms very clean contemporary décor, breakfast buffet style plus specials made to order included. The best I have been to in it's price star, bracket. Parking £3 in hotel basement convenient and worth it.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms available not really worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for the excellent review, I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us here at the Ramada Plaza Southport. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my husband last night after the southport air show. Overall the hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and professional. I wanted to give it a perfect rating based on this but I had a couple of niggles. One bieng the room main door has quite a bit of damage to it and looked like it had been forced from the inside and not repaired properly. Another was the seal on the shower door was coming away causing water to leak all over the floor. I know these are minor but when you pay the amount we were charged its not a lot to expect these things be repaired.
The main niggle I have and which my husband has contacted the hotel to complain about, was the noise from the wedding that was directly underneath our room. We stayed in room 315 and we were not advised that a wedding was going on and some noise was inevitable which is probably not policy but a bit of courtesy would have been nice. We returned to the hotel at 11pm and I went to bed while my husband had a drink at the bar. The noise level in the room was loud! And as I can be a light sleeper I had brought my earplugs along. I could still here the music through those and I rang my hubby to ask reception when the music would stop. He was told it was 12:30, I wasn't happy but not in a position to ask to move room and knew it would be impossible as the hotel fully booked. The music stopped at 12;45 and I could not sleep until it had finished. I would recommend anyone reading this who is also a light sleeper to not accept a room on the 3rd floor when an event is taking place!
Apart from this the hotel is lovely and perfect location for the sights of southport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay, I am sorry for any inconvienience caused by the entertainment on Saturday evening, it is unusual for rooms to be affected in this way.

I do hope that the rest of the hotel lived up to expectations and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing