We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but disappointed by rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but disappointed by rip off”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have stayed three times in last 18 months for at least five nights a time. Very pleased with hotel and staff. However this stay was spoilt by the rise in the cost of the break by car parking charges. Only £3 a night but for us it amounted to another £18 cost. Would have been happy to keep going back to Ramada for our breaks but will shop around next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation in Southport.

Thank you also for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

I'm delighted that you enjoy our hotel and facilities although please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused by our recent changes in our car park.

The car park barrier was installed to ensure only bona fide guests are parking in the hotel car park. After completing extensive research into many of the local competitors car parking policies, we believe The Ramada still offers the cheapest and most convenient parking facilities for a four star hotel in the town.

I hope you will re-consider your decision to look elsewhere and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    821
    183
    58
    28
See reviews for
535
1,461
81
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love the Ramada and have stayed here a number if times over the last 3/4 years and the quality has never diminished.
The team, whether it be reception, events, restaurant or domestic, work as one and do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
The food quality is excellent...breakfast and dinner.
Love this hotel so much have planned our very low-key wedding around an evening at the Ramada and booked our guests in some we can have a party night to remember...can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyT200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Cathy,

Thanks for such a great review!!

Your loyal and regular custom is very much appreciated and I'm delighted that we manage to exceed your expectations time and time again.

It's great to hear that you have chosen our hotel as your preferred venue for your special day and we are all looking forward to serving you both on your Wedding Day.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a short break. We chose the Ramada Southport as we wanted a modern hotel of a 3/4 star standard near the sea. We looked at many hotels around the English coast and thought that the majority were both outdated and overpriced. The Ramada Southport offered exactly what we were looking for.

Overall we had a really nice stay. We thought the hotel was very modern and clean, both the communal areas and also the bedrooms. We liked the bar and restaurant and also the outside patio although unfortunately it was too cold to spend much time out there.The breakfast was excellent apart from the orange juice which was undrinkable. We found the staff to be friendly.

There are a couple of bar and restaurant options next door and the town centre is also only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Declan,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us.

I'm delighted you chose our hotel above many others and I'm glad you enjoyed many aspects of your experience, although my apologies that our orange juice was not to your liking.

It's great you found our location and ameneties perfect for your trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we were in town to see Jimmy Carr. The hotel was right next door to the theatre and in a good location for access to the town, the pier and for the shopping & entertainment at the Ocean Plaza -all within 3 or 4 walk minutes from the hotel. Check in went smoothly. Room was spacious with all amenities that you would need and had really nice decor in both bedroom and bathroom. Bar & food prices were standard 4 star 'chain' hotel prices. There was a lovely outside terrace overlooking the lake which was a nice area to sit & have a drink in the sun (if you're as lucky as we were with the weather). Breakfast was hot and of good standard, but if I were to be really picky there were no mushrooms which I would have expected to be on the buffet. The bonus on a Sunday morning is breakfast is served until 11am, so if you've had a night on the tiles you can have a lie in and still not miss brekky. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the lake and although the hotels website intimates all rooms have a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent trip to see Jimmy Carr live at the next door Theatre & Convention Centre.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and I have passed your kind comments onto the team.

We hope to welcome you back here soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A christning I attended with my partner for his nephews baby was held in one of the rooms at the hotel. The room and tables was decorated beautifully. The entertainment was brilliant and the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJONESY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your familiy event and I hope you may consider using our hotel for any future events that you may hold.

See you soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here the end of May for a relaxing two night break and that's what we got. Lovley rooms and very clean. The Hotel seemed a little quiet and but so did Southport. This hotel is within walking distance to every where and if I went back I would choose here again. Added bonus like been said that you can use the gym/pool/saunas/steamrooms for no extra charge over the road. We went and had a lovley two hours in there.

Room Tip: Nice views the hirer you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLACKSAPPHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review!

I'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. It's great that you enjoyed the view from our guest bedrooms and had a good time at the complimentary Victoria & Leisure Club opposite the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolves
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good hotel, lovely room. Bar staff a little over stretched though so long wait at bar because 1 member of staff talking! Only 1lift working so a bit off a pain when arriving and departing with luggage, we were there 4days and would not expect it to be out of order for that long, especially as its a 4star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Maria,

Many thanks for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent visit to Southprot.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay although please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused at our bar and also due to one of our lifts being out of order.

I hope these issues did not dampen your stay with us too much and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing