We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvellous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed here is was the most relaxing experience the staff were fantastic, the room had twin double beds they were excellent we ate in the restaurant 2 courses for 19.95 really nice food. will be going back again really soon. well done

Room Tip: go for the twin double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi Linda,

Many thanks for such a great review. I'm delighted you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us and it's pleasing to hear that our team made such a difference to your visit.

I have passed your comments onto them all and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,509 - 2,515 of 3,093 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday night as we had a family do to attend the next day. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and pleasant. The room had two double beds which would make it even more good value for a family. We ate in the dining room on Sunday evening and although it was not Michelin style food it was very pleasant and good for choice. For £75 per night I thought it was amazing value. Others in the family stayed in the Premier Inn for £68 and it was not a patch on the Ramada.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review about your experience with us.

We aim to exceed the expectations of each induvidual guest and I'm delighted that we achieved our aim during your stay. It's great that you found The Ramada to be of exceptional value compared with other local hotels.

I have passed your comments onto the team and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

On returning from an evening out 8.30pm. the shutters were down at the car park entrance. We were told by the attendant we could park the car out in the street overnight for £3.We spoke to reception who's whole attitude was "Couldn't care less" it was a first come first served basis to park the car. We paid £123 for our room for the Saturday, breakfast not included, reception told me it wouldn't matter what we paid, it was still first come first served basis. What a dreadful way to treat customer's.
If you are disabled or have young children and are going out for the evening, please be aware that on your return, it is highly likely there will be no parking spaces and you will have to pay for overnight parking outside the hotel. Limited parking now due to casino opening.

Room Tip: the rooms are fine the problem is now the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GORDONHOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent visit to Southport. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad that your guest bedroom was to your satisfaction and thank you for bringing to my attention the issues you encountered regarding our car park.

As discussed during your departure, our car park arrangement is a complimentary service and we do our utmost to ensure we advertise, as clear as possible, that spaces are of limited availibility and are on a first come first serve basis. We feel that our free car parking facilities are still an excellent addition to our hotel in relation to other hotels in and around the local area.

Please accept my apologies that you left disappointed with the attitude of one of our team members. We aim to exceed the expectations of each induvidual guest and I am sorry that we failed to achieve our aim during your stay.

I hope you have not been deterred from staying with us again in future.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I have visited the Ramada Plaza twice in the last 6 months and it has been an excellent stay each time. Modern stylish spotless rooms, great views on either side of the hotel, with super comfortable beds and blackout curtains and it is also in a excellent location for the shops, bars and restaurants - It really was worth paying extra to KNOW you will have a great stay - Takes a lot of strain off. Thank you, we'll be back again soon! x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hi Claire,

Thanks for the great review.

I'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and I have passed your comments onto our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a fairly soulless hotel which is probably fine for the one-off business trip, but rather uninspiring for the leisure traveller looking for something a bit more special. The location is okay. The parking is good. The service we received from all members of staff was good. The room was clean and pleasant enough. No problems there then, (though you'd expect all that from a "luxury" hotel) But...... the restaurant and bar areas lack any charm, the quality of the breakfast was poor, (cold fried eggs, greasy bacon, watery orange juice, stale pain au chocolat), and the two small slow lifts are very inadequate for a hotel of this size. Overall then, we were rather underwhelmed by the Ramada Plaza and couldn't help feeling that we could have found a better hotel in Southport for much less than we paid here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank poldhupabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ramada Plaza Southport experience with us.

I'm glad that the many aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction although please accept my apologies that our buffet breakfast was not up to our usual high standards of quality.

I have discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage team and we will continue to invest in staff training to ensure we are able to exceed expectations and deliver the highest possible standards at all times.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy free parking. The check in was speedy and really welcoming the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious and spotless with excellent ensuite and a lovely view. The food and service was first class. As I said in the title - Unbeatable hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for you recent visit to Southport.

Thank you also for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcoming you back again soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We paid full price for our double room which was nearly two hundred pound a night and although the hotel was clean and we had a decent view it was not worth the money. I expected a much better room for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hi Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

I'm glad you left satisfied with our high standards of cleanliness and that you enjoyed our fantastic views overlooking the Marine Lake and across to Blackpool.

We conduct regular reviews to ensure are prices are competitive with similar hotels in and around the area. During peak times, such as Easter & Christmas, our bedroom rates are of course slightly higher than usual. However we do post great value special offers onto our website, so should you wish to stay again in future, don't forget to check our website first or call us direct and we will be happy to look for the best possible deals.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range: $97 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing